We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Niraamaya Retreats

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Niraamaya Retreats to your Saves list
Niraamaya Retreats
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   Pulinkudi | Mullur, South of Kovalam, Kovalam 695 521, India (Formerly Surya Samudra Private Retreats)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Kovalam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We adored our stay here. We found the staff welcoming, delightful, helpful and professional. Our room was gorgeous and spotless with lovely bathroom and outdoor shower.

The food was out of this world and the pool and private beach are just magical. We did a wee beginners 3 day yoga class at sunrise on the pavilion with the waves crashing. Just memories we will treasure forever.

I would thoroughly recommend this delightful and luxurious hotel. We had the time of our lives.

Room Tip: The separate lodges as opposed to the rooms are to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rejeeshkumar, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, Kovalam!!!

We thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that several aspects of the hotel which includes our rooms, bath gardens, service and staff have created a great impression with you and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We gratefully acknowledge your recommendation of our property.

Your feedback is really an inspiration for us and has been shared with our entire team, who were happy to receive the same. Your detailed feedback is a great source of motivation for us as we strive to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Niraamaya for another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    85
    23
    14
    15
See reviews for
89
219
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We recently stayed at Niraamaya Retreats on a trip to Kerala. Our biggest regret is that we didn't have more time at this stunning venue. From the reception area and restaurants to the lodging, this place was designed to be in harmony with nature and with beauty in mind at every step. The service was impeccable and the cottage was gorgeous with views of the ocean and it's own access to a private beach. The cottages were actually Keralan cottages that were re-purposed for this retreat center and it felt almost castle like! The bathroom was partially outdoors so you're showering at night under the stars. The bath products they provided were also amazing. We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant, which was amazing. We wanted to do yoga on the designated platform but they were all booked the next morning. Sensing our disappointment, they provided yoga mats so we could do it ourselves on the porch in front of our cottage which was just as good. The infinti pool was spectacular and definitely worth the dip. I could go on and on about this stunning venue but no words or pictures could do it justice. Go now and stay for more than a day!

Room Tip: Definitely go for the seaview cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rejeeshkumar, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, Kovalam!!!

We thank you for your excellent feedback about our property. We appreciate the way in which you described our facilities and services and delighted to know that you were so impressed with those aspects.

Your detailed feedback is a great source of motivation for us as we strive to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Niraamaya for another memorable experience for more than one day!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This is one of our favourite resorts ever! Stunning is the only word. From the moment we checked in to the moment we left we loved every minute. The staff were brilliant, helpful and well trained. Our room was beautiful. We had a sea view, gorgeous comfy bed and lovely outdoor bathroom. There was lovely smellies to use and chocolates on our bed at nighttime and a small pot if biscuits which was a lovely touch. The four poster was covered with very effective mosquito net. The resort is placed in between two private beaches which gives fantastic views and makes for a very relaxing sleep hearing the waves hitting the shore. We got up one morning to see the local fisherman bringing in their nets. The current is too strong to swim in the sea-so prob not ideal resort for beach lovers but there is a lovely infinity pool to use to cool off from the sun. We ate in the restaurant and the food was amazing-some of the best curries we had had in India. One evening they had traditional dancers on while we were eating our meals and even this was of high standard and added to the ambiance of the evening.
My husband made use of the gym which he said was v well equipped and I went to the spa which is equally as well done as the rest of the resort and I enjoyed a v relaxing treatment there. If you are into yoga there is a yoga platform right on the rocks just above the sea which I imagine would give you a truly relaxing and memorable yoga experience.
This place isn't cheap but we really felt it was worth the money.
People have posted issues around being served alcohol but we had no issue with this and found they were always serving alcohol in the restaurant if you asked for it
Overall totally amazing experience and we would love to go back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, Kovalam!!!

We are overwhelmed by your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that several aspects of the hotel which includes our facilities, service and staff have created a stunning feeling for you and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your feedback is really an inspiration for us and has been shared with our entire team, who were happy to receive the same. Your detailed feedback is a great source of motivation for us as we strive to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Niraamaya for another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

After 5 days travelling around Kerala, stayed at Niraamaya for three nights, exceptional food with the fresh sea food out of this world with the wonderful flavours from the area. All staff we extremely friendly and kind with service to match. The hotel was full while staying but plenty of space to relax in your own world. We had a stunning villa with stunning views - great place, highly recommend :)

Room Tip: worth paying for the sea view, made it that little bit special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, Kovalam!!!

We would like to thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that several aspects of the hotel which includes our facilities, service and staff have left you with a favorable impression and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We really appreciate the highly positive feedback you shared about our cuisine. This would motivate us to maintain high standards on our cuisine. We are happy to note that you enjoyed our hospitality and appreciate your gesture of highly recommending our property.

Your positive feedback is a great source of motivation for us as we strive to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Niraamaya for another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We found this resort online and booked it for five days - after our long trip from Sweden with a long layover at Dubai airport we were quite tired. We were met up by a prebooked pick-up arranged by the resort. At the reception we were given cold wet towels, an excellent gesture for guests, while waiting for the check-in procedure to be handled. Everybody at the resort did their utmost to be friendly and give outstanding service. Our rock garden room was facing the palm tree forest, such a beautiful sight every morning when opening up the double doors. We had our morning coffee on the veranda before heading for breakfast. The food at the Cafe Samsara was delicious! We had heard stories in advance about having stomach problems resulting in weight loss. We gained weight, on the contrary! We booked Ayurveda treatments and yoga classes. Having yoga classes at the pavillion with an ocean view at 7am was excellent. I've been to Thailand and had thai massage several times but I really can recommend the various Ayurveda treatments. At the resort in a very relaxing and beautiful area. If I have to say anything less good about this location it would be the Arabic Sea, which of course cannot be blamed on the resort. The sea is very current. The resort has alert life guards on duty but still ... We stayed therefore at the infinity pool, which is perfectly ok.

Room Tip: We stayed in a rock garden room furthest away from the beach. We could hear a rooster in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra Kovalam !!!

We would like to thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that several aspects of the hotel which includes our facilities, service and staff have left you with a favorable impression and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We really appreciate your special mention of our Ayurveda Spa and the rating you assigned to it.

We are so overwhelmed by your feedback and it is really an inspiration for our team. Your feedback would enhance our confidence and motivate us to strive for even higher standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Niraamaya for another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Great location on a rock overlooking the sea. The different cottages make for a very beautiful and varied look of the property. The grounds are kept meticulously clean, as are the cottages.
Everywhere on the property you can hear the waves crashing, which is a very peaceful sound.
The spa is as beautiful as the rest if the resort, and the staff is very professional and great at their job.
When I accidentally hurt my hand on one of the ceiling fans, the on-site doctor was told about it and informed if I needed any assistance, without me even asking for help. Such a thing shows how involved these people are in their work.

Food also was excellent, though they do cater to western palates when it comes to the spicyness of the dishes. This can be easily altered if you require some more locally oriented taste.

The only negative thing I can say is that the handling of the orders at breakfast often went wrong, so that we had to send back the food that we received as it was nit what we had ordered. Other than that, I have no remarks.

Be informed that the license to sell alcoholic beverages should be arranged by mid December, so the dry days are over.

We would definitively come back here!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, Kovalam!!!

We would like to thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that several aspects of the hotel which includes our facilities, service and staff have left you with a favorable impression and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your feedback is really an inspiration for us and has been shared with our entire team, who were happy to receive the same. Your positive feedback is a great source of motivation for us as we strive to achieve even higher standards of service.

We also appreciate your constructive feedback on improving the services during breakfast. We assure that we have taken adequate steps and briefed the team on how to avoid miscommunication of orders during breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Niraamaya for another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

So happy I switched my hotel in Kerala India for Niraamaya retreat. It was pure heaven. Solo yoga classes in the am by the ocean with a fantastic teacher. Great Ayurvedic spa treatments daily. Anju was a great therapist. All the restaurant staff was wonderful, especially including the chef and waiter Deepak. The staff was very attentive but not in a pressing way, they seemed to know the right touches to make your stay more enjoyable.
I highly recommend this place for solo or romantic retreat, a time to relax, breathe and revive! One of the best luxury hotels and spa I have ever been to

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, Kovalam!!!

We would like to thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that several aspects of the hotel, service and staff have left you with a favorable impression and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback has been shared with the entire team at the hotel who were happy to receive the same. Your positive feedback is a great source of motivation for us as we strive to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Niraamaya for another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Niraamaya Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niraamaya Retreats

Address: Pulinkudi | Mullur, South of Kovalam, Kovalam 695 521, India (Formerly Surya Samudra Private Retreats)
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#1 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#2 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Business Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Niraamaya Retreats 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now re-opened under a new management as Surya Samudra Private Retreats. Luxury heritage beach resort. Adjoining two pristine, unspoilt beaches and completely secluded from the busy tourist areas of Kovalam. Enjoy complete privacy and serenity. Stay in a carefully restored traditional Kerala tharavadu dwelling. At our Spa Niraamaya, highly trained therapists pamper you with herbs, oils, and concoctions that relax your body, revitalise your mind, and renew your spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Niraamaya Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Samudra Private Retreats Hotel Kovalam
Surya Samudra Beach Garden Hotel
Surya Samudra Beach Garden Spa
Niraamaya Retreats Kovalam, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Niraamaya Retreats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.