We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Property, untrained staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Leela Kovalam Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Leela Kovalam Beach to your Saves list
The Leela Kovalam Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kovalam Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
The Leela Moments
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Kovalam
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Property, untrained staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

The property is a good one and has a great relaxing feel to it. The rooms are a bit smaller than expected but well appointed and the ocean view rooms offer a great view.

The hotel offers all facilities expected of a five star except for the service bit where they need to train their staff, and when I say train, I mean train a lot.

The issue with the staff:

On a pleasant Morning, I went for the buffet breakfast I had asked for toasted bread which I received promptly after 10 minute wait and eating my egg.
Midway one of my friends, who was also staying at this place joined me, and as luck would have it, he too wanted egg and toast to go with it.

I, out of courtesy ordered on his behalf. After waiting for 15 mins I reminded the waiting staff of the missing order. To my utter shock and surprise, I was answered that "Sir, we have already served you the bread some time back"

I protested on this indignation and rationing of breakfast to which no one in the buffet area paid heed. Thankfully we were any ways checking out else it would have been a bigger mess.

Decision taken: Never Leela again, atleast in Kovalam.

Room Tip: Choose Ocean view rooms in case you decide to stay at this place. Offer a better view, will help you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    428
    183
    69
    62
See reviews for
392
648
45
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Attempted to eat in the restaurant and view the hotel for a return trip to Kovalam and was aggressively informed by the guard at the gate that it was guests only, which I know not to be the case.

When I tried to discuss this with him, he ignored me, despite my group all being smartly dressed and polite.

I had very nearly booked to stay at the Leela but the room I wanted was fully booked. I'm glad I didn't part with what would have been nearly £2000 for two rooms for 4 nights if that is how is how they treat people.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location & property is amazing...however the service is nowhere near Five Star standards...the restaurant Terraces has only one proper infant chair...surprising...they have a lot to learn in terms of service levels from the TAJ...the private beach is sad & black from diesel fumes from the boats....the Taj Sky bar has an amazing sunset view....

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Location wise Leela is better, however, activity wise taj vivanta is much better. Taj has private beach, golf area, artificial lake setup which is missing in leela. Ambience was nice. Rooms were decent. Bathtub was missing. service was not that great. Food was decent. WIFI WAS MISSING. Priced high with less amenities, I would rather choose taj vivanta.
Pros and cons as compared to taj vivanta:
Pros: Awesome location, Good view, Good rooms, better swimming pool
Cons: No private beach, Less activities, less no. of veg food, NO FREE WIFI, average service

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We'd just had 3 days in the Kumarakom Lake Resort so anything afterwards was going to struggle to compete.
Having said that, the Leela is generally a good hotel but it's looking a little tired in places. The pool was good and the main restaurant was fine. Service could be a bit haphazard as some of the waiters were excellent but they were let down by one or two who were less than efficient.
Most of the rooms have a sea view and they're quite spacious, although a little gloomy with all of the dark wood. I think the garden view rooms are at ground level and much further from the hotel and down near the beach. I'm glad we didn't book one of those as my wife said she wouldn't have felt as safe in one.

Room Tip: We had a standard beach/ocean view room which was fine. Unless you're bothered about having butl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a privilege to have you at The Leela Kovalam. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay with us.

We have noted your comments regarding waiters . We have already instructed our Training Manager to conduct extensive training classes to develop skills so that service staff can respond to all guest requests. Your suggestions are the road to our success and we value them indeed.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again and regain your confidence in us.

Warm regards,

N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having spent two weeks exploring Rajahsthan which was tiring it was delightful to come for peace and quiet in Kovalam. Wonderful welcome by the staff (including Duty Manager Sam) and easy check in to lovely room (2309). The room overlooks the Arabian Sea and is wonderfully peaceful, well-appointed and spacious. The beach is attractive with attentive staff, Krishnan was excellent. A lovely hotel and we spent an excellent week in comfort - Reshma the front desk manager always wanted to ensure we were happy. My wife loved the Spa too

Room Tip: Most rooms overlook the ocean. Although 2309 was near the elevators there were no problems with noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words.

It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our service and facilities as it is what we strive for every day. Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team and your compliments will be passed on to Sam, Reshma and Krishnan.

We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.

Warm Regards,

N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am quite surprised at the no 7 position of this property in the Kovalam tripadvisor rankings. The club room we were given had a stunning view with all basic amenities and contrary to most hotels today it was comfortable. The food was great and we had the best breakfast in the pool side overlooking the sea. My baby got a comfy highchair and full attention of the staff. The views from the hotel are unmatchable, what an awesome sunset.
The best thing about the hotel hands down was the service. They gave us a room for 2 hours because we had a late flight back. And everything I wanted was provided with a smile. The bag with the laptop had a note put on it mentioning the same. The housekeeping came early in the day without being called (this is quite irregular in most hotels today), all in all a grand stay.

Room Tip: Club rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Leela Kovalam.

I'm glad that we succeeded in creating a memorable stay experience for you and am delighted by your kind acknowledgement of the same. Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team and I am sure that a lot of travelers will benefit from your review.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Leela Kovalam Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Kovalam Beach

Address: Kovalam Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#5 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Kovalam Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Leela Kovalam Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Kovalam Beach Hotel Kovalam
The Leela Kempinski Hotel Kovalam
Hotel Leela Trivandrum
The Leela Kovalam Beach Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leela Kovalam Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.