We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Leela Kovalam Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Leela Kovalam Beach to your Saves list
The Leela Kovalam Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kovalam Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
The Leela Moments
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Richardson, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth the Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

A visit to this hotel has been on my wishlist from the day I viewed the photos of this property 5 years back.And at last,I was able to stay for a couple of days,this summer at the Leela Kovalam.Received a warm welcome with a garland shell and coconut water.The architecture of the room was traditional as well as elegant and the ocean view was pretty good.It took a good 15-20 minutes to receive power since there was an issue with the key card and the way it was handled was not quite 5 Star.Rooms and the property overall were pretty neat.I had opted for All meal plan.The taste was quite good,but it was not a huge spread.Fish fries served hot tasted great but Biriyani was never on the buffet.The beach inside the hotel boundaries were maintained well and had one of the best views.Overall the experience was worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to know that you had a memorable stay.

We have made a note of your feedback in all seriousness and endeavor to improve on them.
I want to sincerely thank you for affording us the opportunity to learn of this situation and it is sometimes through feedbacks like these, that an organization only grows stronger.

We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.

Warm Regards,

N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    479
    199
    77
    64
See reviews for
439
707
50
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Just got back from one of our most rememberable holiday at The Leela Kovalam. We checkedin on 27th May and Checked out on 31st. Though there were some initial hiccups, the hotel staff and the GM took personal care to ensure we had a pleasant stay at this property going forward. We were upgraded to a 2 story club suite which had a huge lounge on the ground floor connected to a big spacious balcony, room on the 1st floor and both lounge and the room had a breathtaking ocean view right in front. The staff especially the restaurant staff were extremely good at what they did, the service was always prompt and the food was delicious. Head Chef Rakesh took personal care of us and cooked special meals for us which were worth every bite. Thanks to him for cooking such delicious food for us. For anyone looking for a peaceful and a relaxing holiday, i would recommend to stay at The Club side of this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Leela Kovalam and for sharing your appreciation with us.

As an organization the Leela Palaces, Hotels & Resorts aims to delight and dazzle our guests and send them back with wonderful memories and we are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay.

Your comments on the services provided by our Chef Rakesh is most gratifying and have been shared with the whole team.

We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.

N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

What an excellent spa and treatments.Dr shreelekshmi consultation is excellent.My son was treated by her and is perfectly,completely and is healing.thank you for a awesome trip to leela hotel spa food

Room Tip: Club preview
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with The Leela Kovalam and for sharing your appreciation with us particularly about our ‘Divya Spa’

Your comments on the services provided by our Spa staff especially Dr. Shreelakshmi are most gratifying and have been shared with the whole team.
We would like to inform you that the ‘Divya Spa’ at The Leela Kovalam was awarded prestigious Asia Spa Award (first in 2008 and again in 2012) for the category of the Best Ayurvedic Spa & Wellness Center and Best Spa Cuisine in the year 2013.
It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you again soon to the The Leela Kovalam.
Yours sincerely,
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

After a bad start, the hotel management gave us a good upgrade to a Club Suite. The wonderful accommodation more than made up for the trouble we went through. People who listen and are ready to rectify a mistake are worth appreciating. Leela lived up to its expectations!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely comments after your recent stay at The Leela Kovalam.

We were really happy to hear that you have enjoyed staying with us.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Leela Kovalam Beach soon.

Yours sincerely,

N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kovalam, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Although I was not a quest at the Leela, I stay in a house nearby, it is more convenient for me to walk into the beach enterance to visit for happy hour!! Most of the time we just walk through, but on 3 occassions I was stopped in a very aggressive way and told to walk up the hill and through the main enterance, I had just had a hip replacement and was walking with a stick!! A taxi driver intervened on my behalf but the security guard was adamant-no entry!! Perhaps the Leela management would like to comment on this, as I have complained but had no response.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

At the onset, let me simply and foremost say how truly professionally embarrassed we are. I regret that we failed in accomplishing any sense of well-being with you. The matter will be addressed and corrected.

I want to sincerely thank you for affording us the opportunity to learn of this situation and it is sometimes through feedback like these, that an organization only grows stronger.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again and regain your confidence in us.

Kind regards,

N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaipur
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is one of the finest property by any hotel. The hotel has its own beach and beautiful swimming pool just at the entrance. The infinity of pool looks really amazing and it even pecomes better by evening. The rooms are little smaller than compared but it is really an amazing place to live. The landscape is really amazing and it is one of the biggest hotel area wise. The breakfast is also decent. The hospitality is really good. It is one of the finest place for a relaxation trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely comments after your recent stay at The Leela Kovalam.

As an organization the Leela Palaces, Hotels & Resorts aims to delight and dazzle our guests and send them back with wonderful memories and we are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay.

It was a pleasure looking after you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at hotel at end of our tour and booked beach view room. We reached there from Kumarakom and it took around 6 hours to reach there.
On reaching, we were welcomed by hotel staff with welcome drink. We were to wait for 15 minutes in lobby, i think hotel staff at front desk is short of manpower as i found they bit lost.
One of the amazing thing about this property is Infinity pool which gives awesome view, if one knows swimming, for him/her it is blessing.
Positives are... view from hotel, proximity to beaches, sky bar
Negatives are:- Breakfast choice is not vast, buffet is costlier to have, Hotel staff, limited option in North Indian Menu

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on your stay with us.

We were really happy to hear that you had enjoyed staying with us. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused when you had to wait for your room for 15 minutes. Though our endeavour is to ensure that our guests are checked in and escorted immediately on arrival, on rare occasions we are unable to do so due to various reasons.

It was a pleasure looking after you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Leela Kovalam Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Kovalam Beach

Address: Kovalam Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Kovalam Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Leela Kovalam Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Kovalam Beach Hotel Kovalam
The Leela Kempinski Hotel Kovalam
Hotel Leela Trivandrum
The Leela Kovalam Beach Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leela Kovalam Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.