We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Leela Kovalam Beach

Save Saved
You added The Leela Kovalam Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Leela Kovalam Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kovalam Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
The Leela Moments
Ranked #7 of 47 hotels in Kovalam
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We spent 2 days relaxing after a busy 2 weeks in India. Everything about it was excellent, the staff and service, the restaurants and meals (the chef would come out to discuss his menu!), the public areas and pool, the beach - I could go on.....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    734
    383
    169
    63
    51
See reviews for
358
608
41
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed last year, but only for one night, and promised ourselves we'd get back here. Hurray: this time we stayed for four (Feb11/14)! Upgraded to a Club room, we could not have been happier. Tarun Sharma manages a very attentive staff. There was a large wedding taking place while we were there; while I know this can be a turn-off, I thought the hotel made a very good effort to ensure we were looked after and didn't feel like add-ons. The food at The Club is outstanding. From the breakfast buffet,lunch,snacks through to dinner, we found all the food, the cooks and waiters to be exceptional. The Spa is a real highlight (detox massage with the oil). Right out on the edge of the cliff, there is no other hotel like this. We went to Kanyakamari: a long eight hour experience which we enjoyed, but if you're tired you might want to miss.

Room Tip: Club for couples. We stayed in 1510 which I believe is three floors above the dining and pool,close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

A beautiful beautiful property, at a spectacular location, friendly and courteous staff to top it all made our visit an unforgettable experience.

We were upgraded to Club room by Leela, and it was truly worth it. Compared to beach view, or garden view rooms, Club rooms offer an uninterrupted view to the Arabian Sea, have their own private Infinity pool, and provide you a good deal of privacy. We tried out both the restaurants, "The Terrace" & "The Cafe" (exclusive for Club guests). The quality of food & service at "The Cafe" were top notch, while The Terrace was quite crowded.

Special mention for the Club Receptionist, "Atira", she made my wive's birthday special by pro-actively ordering a cake, and getting the room decorated. We ate at the beach restaurant "Tides", and the band playing there sang couple of songs especially for her. What better way of celebrating the special occasion, right at the beach, royal treatment & with great Thai Food!!

Thank you Leela, for giving us memories worth a lifetime...

Room Tip: Club rooms offer lot of privacy, and are really close to the main reception. However, the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had only one night at this hotel, it was the beginning of our itinerary in Southern India by car with a driver organised by our travel agent, Exotic Destinations, Melbourne. They made an excellent choice of a Club Room facing the Arabian Sea, large, very well appointed & with a verandah. The staff were also efficient & helpful & the food excellent, particularly the seafood which was exceptional.

If another occasion arose , we would have no hesitation choosing The Leela, Kovalam Beach.

Room Tip: Club Room on an upper level, if the sound of the surf is disturbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We visited Leela again in February - it really is a lovely hotel in a beautiful venue and setting. The staff were all very helpful and attentive and the food was well presented and very enjoyable, as others have said.
Our only complaint was the really awful "music" played at the dining area in the evening. not at all an Indian experience (though thankfully it was interrupted by some very good local entertainers and turned off for the duration).
Last Wednesday there was a continual loop of 'the carpenters' which was truly excruciating - even after three separate tables complained. The poor waiters turned it down and they explained, apologetically, that the "the management" insisted that they keep it on (!). Next time, we will go to Taj.

Room Tip: bring ear plugs to block out the awful taped music at dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We spent a few days in Kovalam's Leela hotel and more than enjoyed it, wonderful service and an absolute oasis with perfect service and location. There are for sure better beaches in the world but the location and setting of Leela is great. Professional staff: from yoga teacher having the luxury of a wonderful yoga place, service in restaurants to the rooms - all fits together.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We went to Kovalam to attend a wedding during 13 -15 Feb 2014. All the functions were at this hotel only. The beach experience was really Good. They have rooms on two parts. You have to cross a public road to get to the other part which was a bit inconvenient but they had Golf Carts to take you around the property which is required in this case. All the facilities were absolutely upto mark.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Leela Kovalam Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Kovalam Beach

Address: Kovalam Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#5 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Kovalam Beach 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Leela Kovalam Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Kovalam Beach Hotel Kovalam
The Leela Kempinski Hotel Kovalam
Hotel Leela Trivandrum
The Leela Kovalam Beach Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leela Kovalam Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.