We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE LEELA is EXCELLENT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Leela Kovalam Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Leela Kovalam Beach to your Saves list
The Leela Kovalam Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kovalam Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
The Leela Moments
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Kovalam
Kolkata
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“THE LEELA is EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Its a very nice property by location and service also its too good.
I had very good time at the property i have also experienced LEELA GURGAON.
The Restaurant was also excellent and had good time at SKY BAR.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    428
    183
    69
    62
See reviews for
393
648
45
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
u k
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

the leela hotel has a great location overlooking the sea with its own private beach with beach restaurant .the service was excellent in the hotel and rooms very good clean and reasonably spacious.all meals are served in the main outside dining area overlooking the sea,except if you want to eat on the beach.the food was very good especially the evening buffet.drinks and food are rather expensive after they add 22% govt. taxes on but happy hour runs from 4 p m to 7 pm with buy 1 get one free.within a 10 minutes walk from hotel there is kovalam beach with lots of very cheap restaurants and cheap drinks with fresh fish on display caught that day.you can get a tuk tuk from hotel gate to the beach for 75 rupees one way(about 90 pence)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel itself is in a good location and very impressive in the public areas, including the pool. Our room was very clean but in possible need of refurbishment sooner rather than later although the view from the balcony was lovely.
The food was good but the staff seemed a little disorganised and overall leadership was lacking in all departments. Food and drinks were expensive by Indian standards but on a par with any 5 star hotel in any other country. However taxis and tuk-tuks were available to take you into Kovalam for cheaper alternatives.
Overall we were a little dissappointed and consider the hotel to be over-rated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,

It is clear that we have not been able to exceed your expectations

We have noted your feedback in all sincerity and necessary corrective steps will be taken.

We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again and provide the true Leela experience, the way it should be.

Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a must see for any cnnoiseure of good food and confortable stay. Situated right on the scenic Kvalam beach this offers probably the best dining places in Kovalam. Well-spread out menu, courteous service and divine ambience. I will keep visiting this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Recently stayed two nights with family. The welcome was wonderful from the shell garlands to the fresh coconut milk and the personal check in service. The food and drinks were expensive for India but we were expecting that to be the case. We had dinners at the terrace restaurant and the beachside Tides restaurant and the food and service at both were excellent. There was even entertainment both nights which was excellent but at the same time unintrusive. The visiting elephant one evening was a bonus! If I have one small gripe it was that the air conditioning in our room was very loud and there was no way of controlling the fan speed, it was just on or off. Otherwise a beautiful end to our trip to Kerala and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We last stayed at the Leela in 2009 and enjoyed it very much.This time we returned for fourteen days and requested the same room type which they managed to give us.Waking up to the wonderful view every day was a real bonus. The staff were friendly, extremely polite and helpful. The breakfasts excellent.A great place to visit in January.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

What can I say about The Leela that hasn't already been written here by hundreds of other people already. The resort is superb, the staff are superb, the rooms are superb, the location and views are superb and the food is extraordinary.

We stayed in some chalets at the bottom of the cliff, we thought it might be inconvenient, but it's close to the beach, has plenty of security and it is a lovely gentle walk up to the bars and restaurants. And if you really can't be bothered walking, they offer regular golf buggy rides up and down.

Sitting in the Skybar, watching the sun go down with chill out music on the sound system, took me back to my holidays in Ibiza. At dinner time, the Leela lays on cultural events so you'll see dancing, singing and martial arts displays.

The staff were all very friendly and polite, from the housekeeping and security guards to the front reception, they all wore smiles and acknowledged the guests as they walked past. A great experience.

Some people here have said that the Leela is expensive. Yes, it's a little expensive for India, but compared to similar hotels around the world, it's an absolute bargain. My only regret is that we only stayed for two nights and didn't get to use all the facilities of the hotel and explore the local history and culture more. Definitely want to go back and stay for longer in the near future.

Room Tip: Note that if you stay in the chalets then you are at the bottom of the cliff, next to the beach. Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Leela Kovalam Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Kovalam Beach

Address: Kovalam Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Kovalam Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Leela Kovalam Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Kovalam Beach Hotel Kovalam
The Leela Kempinski Hotel Kovalam
Hotel Leela Trivandrum
The Leela Kovalam Beach Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leela Kovalam Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.