We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“out of this world experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Leela Kovalam Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Leela Kovalam Beach to your Saves list
The Leela Kovalam Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kovalam Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
The Leela Moments
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“out of this world experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

our stay at the leela was a great experience.The staff are well trained and focused to address all the needs of their guests.The kitchen staff went out of their way to carter for vegetration food.The private beach view and the surroundings of the hotel would take your breath away.Would not hesitate to go back again....

Room Tip: pool area rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    481
    199
    77
    64
See reviews for
441
707
51
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Srinagar, Jammu And Kashmir, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Went there with friends. The place itself is worth seeing. Beautiful interiors and has five star written all over. The food and booze are crazily expensive. Pool beside the restaurant looks fantastic during night. We took a seat outside the lounge with sea view. It was amazing. The staff are not very caring, at least by the high standards they claim. That's where the hotel should improve. The valet took almost 15 mins to bring our car back, later own we found out that the car had a dent on top which they hid from us. Baring these few blemishes which might be personal, the hotel is fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to know that you had a memorable stay.
We have made a note of your feedbacks in all sincerity. My deepest regret for any inconvenience it may have caused you.
We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Rooms and service throughout the hotel were subpar compared to what you'd expect from this class of hotel and given the money you're spending (maybe I've just become accustomed to the Taj treatment) but location was amazing! Great and clean (albeit small) private (ish) beach. Great shallow water snorkelling.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
It is clear that we have not been able to meet your expectations. My deepest regret for the inconvenience it may have caused you.
We have noted your feedbacks in all sincerity and necessary corrective steps will be taken.
We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again and provide the true Leela experience, the way it should be.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel leaves a lot to be desired, it is very tired and drab. The rooms need a makeover, and ours was not clean, there were dirty cotton buds in the bathroom which were not removed despite asking several times. Toiletries were not replaced when empty. There were bare wires hanging from the ceiling.
The service around the pool was terrible, and the food very expensive, and not good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Rooms: Hmm, let me start off by saying that I expected a lot more from the Leela. The "Superior" beach view rooms are small, and the view of the beach, while nice, is blocked by coconut trees. Not a bad thing, but not what you would expect. The bathroom is also quite tiny, but is neat.

Food : The food is excellent, whether the Thai and Chinese at the 'Tides' restaurant, or the buffet spread at the Terrace. I particularly enjoyed the Thai yellow vegetable curry with rice at the Tides.

General : The checkin and checkout were quick, and the service is in general, efficient. The pool is nice, and especially when lit up in the evening is quite a sight. The private beach is OK, and if you're lucky to get a sun-bed in front closer to the sea, it is quite nice to just laze around.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to know that you had a memorable stay.
We have made a note of your feedbacks in all sincerity. My deepest regret for any inconvenience it may have caused you.
We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We looked forward to staying in the Leela after our previous experience of staying in a pretty basic hotel. It was good, located on top of a cliff and had breath-taking views. Staff in the lobby were polite and courteous. We thank Sam who was excellent in dealing with the problems we faced with the AC resulting in 2 nights of poor sleep. It made a loud noise and disrupted sleep with maintainance guys all in the room at 3/4am in the morning and the next night too, the AC was not working well. We did get some discount on the room as a result.

The main thing about this place was the food. It was authentic and very tasty. We really thank all the chefs for doing such a good job. The variety of food each time was amazing. Unfortunately, we noticed most westerners eating continental food which is a shame. I think, trying out the local cuisine is the highlight of this place. Fortunately, my scottish boyfriend has a taste for Indian food and really savoured all those yummy food.

The swimming pool was very good. It was one of these infinity ones and watching the sunset whilst swimming was breath-taking. The rooms were mid-range (please see room tips). The beach was not that exciting and there were really no waves which some people may like and it was really not that private unlike some other resorts in India. We enjoyed the complimentary tennis coaching and really thank him as he was a good coach who knew how to teach.

We would stay there again for the food and general ambience.

Room Tip: We initially opted for the basic rooms but when we realised that it was located almost outside the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our food and the Tennis coaching classes.
My deepest regret due the faulty air-conditioning in the room.
We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We checked in to this hotel during peak season (Mid November). It was drizzling and it was just beautiful. The hotel helped me very much to get me room with preferred view. All rooms have something very nice that I ended up getting so confused. Finally I took a beach view and every morning while having coffee on my balcony i was smiling on my decision.
The beach is okay as you have only The Leela property as a tourist destination there but trust me it is enough.The property is beautiful and huge and it will lot of time to spend time with your loved one while having long walk.
I was there on my honeymoon and they sent a cake in room with a surprise. the staff is very helpful and always with big smile on their face.
They always have some exclusive program to keep to entertained.
Excellent is all i have to say here !!

Room Tip: Beach view room, and don't get lazy to get out of room and enjoy the beach & property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay.
We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again on your first anniversary.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Leela Kovalam Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Kovalam Beach

Address: Kovalam Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Kovalam Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Leela Kovalam Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Kovalam Beach Hotel Kovalam
The Leela Kempinski Hotel Kovalam
Hotel Leela Trivandrum
The Leela Kovalam Beach Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leela Kovalam Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.