We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option to stay in Kovalam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Leela Kovalam Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Leela Kovalam Beach to your Saves list
The Leela Kovalam Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kovalam Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
The Leela Moments
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Kovalam
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good option to stay in Kovalam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

No.of times visited : 2
When : Around September

Rooms :
Club rooms: They are on the cliff; good view of the sea and well maintained rooms.
The usual ones : Some of them on top of the hillock and few at sea level. Decently maintained rooms with good beds. The shower area is a tad bit small with a very small yet cozy bath tub.

Facilities/ Activities : The property has 2 pools; one the infinity pool on the top and the other below. Good pools and great view from the infinity pool. A decent gym with treadmills facing the sea. The spa is located 5 min from the main property though inside the boundary; definitely recommended. It has a semi open space for yoga where I personally love spending a lot of time; doing nothing. There is a tennis court (clay, if I remember well).

Food : This is one section where the property needs definite improvement. Not very happy with the taste/ choice. The experience though, sitting out in the pleasant sea breeze and having a good dinner/ drinks is worth it. There have been instances when we headed out to taste local cuisines in other restaurants.

When to visit : Onset of monsoons. Leela has a monsoon package which works out light on the pocket. But please do remember that when it rains in Kerala it RAINS. The beach is closed and one can not do much if the rain is very heavy. I enjoy rains and the season works for me.

Activities outside the property : Visit Padmanabhaswamy temple for sure. Take a stroll, walk around, enjoy the fresh air.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    427
    182
    68
    61
See reviews for
392
647
45
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

"I have just come back from our two day stay at Leela Kovalam resort and I thought of sharing my experience with all the Tripadvisor members. We reached the hotel by 0830hrs which was well before the normal check-in time of 1400hrs; but the hotel staff made all efforts to ensure we had a early checkin & we were in our rooms by 0930 hrs. To my surprise, i got the same room which I had got during my stay 2 years back... what a coincidence.
The room had all the amenities which you expect from a 5 star resort...all bathroom amenities, LCD TV etc.
The food at both, TERRACE & TIDES restaurant's was awesome. The guests have the luxury to choose from a variety of options... the spread at breakfast and buffet is wide catering to all tastes.
The infinity pool at the hotel catches your eye as soon as you are at the reception... you can have a great view of the arabian sea.

I would recommend to anyone who just want to relax and enjoi at a resort in Kovalam.. this is the place to be...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011 via mobile

Its a five star property, hence the basics in terms of good upkeep,location,facilities are well in place. However, the team needs to work on improving their customer service standards (an iron board request was accepted and not serviced even after multiple reminders). The restuarant managers are definitely not the most polite people in the team there. The spa is excellent with a great team running it

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Leela Kovalam lives upto the status of 5 star hotels. The service was flawless and prompt. We had booked a superior sea view room and the room was spacious and provided an excellent view of the sea. Food was good and they have a kid's menu which is good for family with kids. Loads of activities to do in the resort.
Word of advice for travelers with kids or toddlers. Book the superior sea view room instead of club rooms. Club rooms might have more personalized services but the rooms are smaller than sea view rooms. The room also has concrete/marble slabs with sharp edges on which the side tables are kept. We found the room to be bit dangerous for our kid. The balcony here has a better view of the sea but the balcony is much smaller than the sea view room's balcony. Overall we felt that the sea view rooms is much better for kids/toddlers than the club room

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

This is an amazing property, just because of its location. We tried it only for its spectacular views of the coast, the beach and the sea. The property is divided in to two halves. The standard side and the club side. The club has uninterrupted views of the sea with club amenities such as a separate swimming pool, cafe and lounges. The standard side is like any other hotel.

The property is old and needs constant refurbishment as it is subjected to the corrosive salty sea mist. The interiors even though of 5 star quality, they are old just because of the age of the hotel.

Check in:

We had a seamless check in with the standard Leela welcome of a traditional Indian tilak and a garland made of shells.

Rooms:

I would have expected the club room to be bigger than what it was. It was about 250 sqft which was as much as the other rooms. The bathroom did not have a tub where one could soak oneself after a tiresome day of meetings. That was something I would have expected in the club rooms. The interiors even though modern when compared to the other side, were yet old and needed to be retouched in some places.

House Keeping:

The house keeping staff seemed to be a bit off on both the days when I was there. The first time they cleaned my room, they forgot to replenish the bath toiletries. I then had to call them and demand. Despite telling them that I am out of everything, they just got me a shampoo and bath gel, forgetting conveniently to bring out the lotion, the soap and the conditioner. This is not done as a 5 star. There were no candies/fruits or chocolates in the room as a part of the welcome or turn down service for the club room guests.

The Terrace:

The lunch and dinner buffet were rehashed versions of the same old without any variations in either the kind of cuisine or the taste. The servers took a long time to bring us hot breads which I thought was obvious again for such a property. There was very little attention paid to the mix of guests who could be dining at the property and hence the menu was very plain and lacked jazz. The service was slow and terrible on more than one count.

Tides:

Their beach facing restaurant seemed to be good on the face but again when dug deeper, it was a total disaster. The waiter goofed up all the orders even while noting them down. We made him repeat it thrice. When we finally got our food about 45 minutes later, all the orders were not as we had wanted and just because we were hungry we ate what he was serving us. They tried to cover up by bringing in what we had originally ordered, but by then we had full stomachs. We had drinks which needed ice but that never made it to our table. The dessert took another 30 minutes to come. All this despite the choice being from a limited set menu. The staff did say sorry, but during the whole dinner, they never made an attempt to speed up their efficiency.

Sports:

We did end up using their tennis and badminton court. I thought that the only person who deserved praise was Nandhu their coach. He stayed beyond his call of duty and made sure that we had a good time playing. The normal hours were only till 7:30 pm each night but he stayed with us till almost 10 pm while we sweated it out.

Check out:

Despite being promised a late check out, I was made to leave by 1 pm from my club room. That was a bit disappointing. I asked them to look up my Global Hotel Alliance number from their system, but they said that they couldn't and I would have to go and check my own email.

Conference:

We used one of their rooms and both the days the people who were manning the door were superb when it came to being attentive. Not that we needed anything other than coffee and tea, but still knowing that they are here to help you was a lot better than the experience from the cafe.

Overall:

Some aspects were ok, but overall it lacked the service standards that are expected from a Leela property. I would not recommend it unless you are sure of the service.

Room Tip: 1501/1502 to be avoided, opposite common loos
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I stayed at the leela for a week with my mother, and we were very looking forward to visiting but i must admit we didnt get what we expected.

We upgraded to a club room, which was small, the door didnt close properly and the noise of the waves crashing against the cliff was so loud! I know that sounds like a weird complaint but the door was so badly fit that it was deafening sometimes when it was windy.

The room wasnt cleaned properly and we ran out of toilet roll and had to ask for more.
the drinks prices are appalling. The food was quite nice but the service was hit and miss, one day we sat down and waited 30 minutes, yes, THIRTY minutes for a waiter to attend our table, then we ordered our drinks and he didnt take our food order for another 30 minutes!
A few times we had a walk down the lighthouse beach where we asked for beer in bars there, they arent supposed to serve it and you must hide the bottle but the beer is very cheap there, which makes it even more ridiculous that the hotel charges so much!
The infinity pool for club residents only was nice, although it would only take some minor housekeeping to improve it a lot as some of the small tiles in pool were missing. the restaturant for club only was lovely, the service was secnd to none and the food was out of this world! especially the breakfasts!

the food and service at the beach area is very good and i was very impressed with my chinese meal.

overall, do not pay through the nose for the leela if you are unsure, try to get a good deal, and make sure you have a lot of spending money to afford the large bar bills!

the hotel is beautiful i cannot deny that.

Room Tip: Club service is worth the upgrade, but not the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

After all the build-up, we were disappointed. Kovalam beach is unclean, smelly, commercial any overrun with people. I can think of hundreds of better beach destinations. The hotel has a very tired main building with an airy and light filled lobby of grand proportions leading to dingy hallways and even worse rooms. The first room we were shown had a nice beach view but was dark, musty and filled with clumsy furniture. After we objected, we were given an upgrade to the newer club building where we had sea views and a nice but small room which was a lot better. The club restaurant was rarely open and so we ate most meals in the main building's poolside restaurant, which is a nice setting with good food. The beach restaurant was a less pleasant experience. Christmas dinner was in a huge impersonal hall, with average food and third rate entertainment. We were forced to buy the pricey tickets only to find other guests at the poolside restaurant on our return. The highlights were the sea views, the breakfast buffet and the infinity pool. The rest mediocre. We would not go back.

Room Tip: Club building a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Leela Kovalam Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Kovalam Beach

Address: Kovalam Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
#5 Family Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Kovalam Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Leela Kovalam Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Kovalam Beach Hotel Kovalam
The Leela Kempinski Hotel Kovalam
Hotel Leela Trivandrum
The Leela Kovalam Beach Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leela Kovalam Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.