We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise experience !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Grove

Coconut Grove
Light House Beach, Vizhinjam, Near Jeevan Resort, Kovalam, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 45 Restaurants in Kovalam
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Kerala
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Surprise experience !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

It was a gathering with my colleagues for a dinner. We were like people with different taste and preferences. It was as normal, A la Carte order and it took some time as we didn't fix anything prior to our arrival with the restaurant. When we show up as a group, the staffs were immediately arranged the tables for us. We were like 10 adults and they took all their efforts to make us comfortable.

The first impression was with its location. Amazing!!! Looking towards the Arabian Sea... Witnessed the sun set from the restaurant. They also had a display of different variety of raw fish as they mention it as Day's Catch...

We started with some snacks - a mix of veg and non-veg starters especially the sea food - with juice and when they served it, by the time we have gone through the menu. You can also order for beer and you have to keep the bottles under your tables ! Maybe they don’t have the license to serve liquor in their restaurant. Some items in the menu were not available as the Waiter say's, which was bit disappointing for our group members but when they served the food, we all liked the food. Especially the seafood – A big grilled fish. Some liked the Kashmiri Pulav and some the Fish Mollie in Kerala Style.

Over all food experience was nice for our group. We felt lack of enough staff to attend the clients. Only few people were running around the tables to attend all its visitors. If you ask, then only you will get the cutleries. No music in the back ground to enhance the experience and lighting also was low. But over all we liked the place and food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    25
    10
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brierley Hill
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We ate here a few times & enjoyed each visit. The staff are friendly & efficient and the food is great.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood with perfect view of Light hous beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were staying right by the restaurant so we ate several meals here. The Indian dishes are lovely but the highlight is the seafood in the evening. We walked by in the afternoon to verbally reserved the place and when we came back in the evening the table is ready for us. I was happy just looking at the candle lit table overlooking the sea. The food was quite quick, considering there were a lot of customers and the seafood was very fresh. The staff also nice and helpful, we really enjoy our meals there. Also if you need wifi - it's not free but you can buy the wifi access from the shop nearby at the rate of 30rs per access.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Oakley
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Be alert of the price you are quoted”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We visited this restaurant because the fish looked so fresh . Bright eyes , red gills and resilient to touch, all the good signs of fresh fish . There were lots of people in the restaurant which is always another good sign, as the fish gets turned over quick .But it was us that got turned over, when we went to pay the bill ! Service and the meal was very good , couldn't fault.
When the bill came we had a surprise in store , as we were charged more than we were quoted on entering. We ordered king fish and was quoted 500 rupees for the one steak . I asked for it to be cut in half as it was too big for one portion .When the bill came we were charged 500 each for the two halfs ! Fresh wild prawns , quoted 1000 rupees kilo or 800rupees for the smaller ones .We asked for half a kilo , about six or seven prawns of the larger ones .When the bill came it was 1800 rupees that was charged .I asked to see the chap who did the deal when we entered and he said I had made a mistake , I said it was him , not me .He just said "Oh well pay me what you want " We paid up and left ,but it left a nasty taste in our mouths . Just be aware of this mustachioed chap with the portly frame or you could be next for the scam .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I am surprised to see some of the previous negative comments. We have been coming to Kovalam for the part four years and always head here. The fish and the prawns are fresh and superb. It has a great location by the beach and the staff are all extremely helpful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Grove also viewed

 

Been to Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.