We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good view & top class room with ordinary food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Samudra KTDC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Samudra KTDC to your Saves list
Hotel Samudra KTDC
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   GV Raja Road, Kovalam 695527, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tirunelveli, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good view & top class room with ordinary food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

kovalam very good palace... v stayed here 3 times... v love this place beautiful view from room balcony nice swimming pool... very calm place ... in swimming pool with life guard .. very good palace for couple & friends& families.. food is above average only....

Room Tip: choose first floor rooms... good view and private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    135
    39
    12
    9
See reviews for
149
94
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here last year..
Resort is beautiful, but little far from airport.
Rooms are clean and beautiful. Ask for sea facing rooms, they are beautiful.
Swimming is also good for spend lovely moment.
Resort have personal beach, which is clean and beautiful.
I like food, its so good. But room service is very slow.
Its resort, so outside from city.
You can enjoy Ayurveda massage here, they are expert in this.
Totally its beautiful resort.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is operated by the Kerala state government and it shows. It is in a superb location and the rooms are clean and very comfortable. Unfortunately, the management is brain-dead and customer service is obviously unknown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KOLKATA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel is very well maintained and in a perfect location, the lawn is perfect,rooms are very good but got disapointed with the behaviour at the reception. We checked on 26 th october afternoon. The room given to us at first was the worst possible one .When we first requested the lady at the reception , she just very rudely answered that no other room is available. Her behaviour angered us very much and when we demanded to see the manager ,suddenly she remembered that there is another room available ,which was perfect. Is the treatment is due to the fact that we had booked the hotel with pre-payment and thus trapped? This attitude must change. Also got disapointed due to the non-availability of swimming pool due to maintenance

Room Tip: Please please please avoid room nos 509 and 510. all other rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Good beach view. But not beach resort (not a private beach).
Food is not worth for the money.
Furnitures and dust bins needs to be changed.
Front office staffs are not much friendly.
Pool was under renovation.

Room Tip: All rooms are beach view. If you want privacy choose first floor, otherwise ground floor is better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, Gujarat, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The location of the hotel is amazing. One can enjoy the natural scenic beauty throughout the stay from room and lush green lawns. Hotel staff is very courteous and helpful. Cleanliness and housekeeping is excellent. Buffet breakfast was excellent. Lunch and dinner was little problem as they did not serve on la-carta but offered only buffet due to some group bookings. Restaurant has live music every evening with different themes. Overall a very nice hotel to stay and very much safe place for family.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have sea view so selection of location is not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Friends & I stayed at Hotel Samudra KTDC for 2 nights in Sept 2012. This Hotel is owned by the Govt of Kerala.

Location:
The Hotel is located right next to Samudra Beach. The views from our room on Ground Level were good but the best views of the Beach are on Level 1. The beach was 2 mins walk from our room, it was a quiet beach with not too many people and good for swimming. There is a guard that lets you in & out of the gate. The guard advised not to walk on the beach too late in the evening as there are wild dogs that roam the area. To get to Lighthouse Beach, where all the good restaurants are, you can either walk or drive around. It would be at least 20-30 min walk & we didn't attempt it, we drove there in about 8 mins.

Service & Value:
The Service from Reception was poor as only a few staff spoke decent english, & I found only one staff member who could understand me properly. The air conditioning unit in one of our 2 rooms was leaking & water was dripping onto the floor, this room had a terrible odour of rotting wood. After trying to expain this to Reception staff, they were reluctant to move us to another room as they didn't believe me that the room was that bad. After much persuasion they finally agreed to see the room and admitted that it was really bad and then agreed to move us to another room.

Rooms:
We were told when we initially checked in that we were given rooms in the new block.Our rooms smelt old and stale, the furniture was out dated and the bathroom was due for a renovation. The rooms were clean, but do not leave any food on your room table as there are lots of ants.

Restaurant & Food:
The restaurant was basic & a bit tired looking, also in need of renovation. Breakfast buffet was included in tariff had a limited choice of South Indian & Continental. Continental breakfast included white bread (which was unpleasant) & jam, cereals and a fruit selection. We chose from a limited menu for dinner, we managed to ask for take away and we had it back at our room. I found the service & general communication of the Restaurant staff better than reception and we also managed to order Masala omelettes.

The Swimming Pool was closed for maintenance when we were there.

Overall the property has nice views of the beach & lovely manicured grounds (the only maintained part of the property) & there were hammocks to rest in.

Would I stay here again...my answer would be NO. I would splash out a bit more money to stay at a nicer Hotel with better service, more modern rooms & better food.

Room Tip: Choose Level 1 room for better sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Samudra KTDC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samudra KTDC

Address: GV Raja Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#5 Family Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Samudra KTDC 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name of this beach resort itself means "the ocean" and it is an ideal place to enjoy the fullness of the beauty of Kovalam, the enchanting beach destination. Set in inspiring environs, every room of the hotel overlooks the sea and the sprawling lawn stretches up to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Samudra KTDC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Samudra KTDC Kovalam, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Samudra KTDC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.