We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 3rd Rock, the 1st choice !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 3rd Rock

3rd Rock
G.V. Raja Road | Samudra Beach Kovalam, Kovalam 695527, India
+91 81118 33025
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 50 Restaurants in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The 3rd Rock, the 1st choice !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The 3rd Rock is our favourite restaurant in Kovalam. It is set in a perfect location, with your tables overlooking the Arabian Sea.

This is our 4th holiday to Kovalam and we have never had a poor meal here. The choice of food is good and you know that everything is freshly cooked to order.

The waiters, JJ, Saj and Jay, always offer excellent service and cannot do enough to help you.

Looking forward to visiting again and having another Mali Kofter !

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    33
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“fresh food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We visited this restaurant several times over the holiday and always had freshly made food. We loved the pakora as a tasty lunchtime snack but also the sagwallah was one of the tastiest ever. A couple of times we tried various fish and chicken tikka dishes and again they were so fresh and tasty. Sitting outside on the jetty watching the sea come in was a lovely experience during the day or in the evening. A real gem of a restaurant in a lovely part of India.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You have to try this restaurant...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

3rd Rock restaurant is a must if you are in the Sumudra Beach area of Kovalam. We recently stayed at the Vivant by Taj hotel nearby and we found that this restaurant offered food and alcohol of equal standard to the hotel, but at a fraction of the price!!
If you want a nice quiet area that is both romantic and full of charm, this restaurant is a must and Lighthouse beach is best avoided, unless you like the Costa del Sol atmosphere!!
The restaurant is very clean and the food is excellent - the team will strengthen/weaken the spice levels as per your wish and the selection is good - curries and seafood. The team here are super friendly and will spend time chatting with you and give local advice if required - ask for Jai or Saj, they are a great team!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Mad as a box of frogs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

This restaurant is next door to the Uday Samudra Hotel. Located on the beach just behind the sea-wall. My brother and I visited it in 2006, and as we were walking past this year, one of the staff (JJ) greeted us by name, saying he'd not seen us for a long time.
You can sit at tables on the sea-wall to eat, just feet from the waves. The food is good and inexpensive. The service is friendly and efficient. The restaurant itself and the toilets are spotless.
There always seems to be an excuse for fireworks at Third Rock, a customer's birthday, a member of staff's birthday, it's Tuesday .... JJ seems to be in charge of the fireworks, which he sets off from either the beach in front of the restaurant or from the sea-wall. He has absolutely no regard for the Firework Code, often returning to fireworks that have failed to ignite in order to set them off while he is holding them. How he still has all his fingers is a mystery. It's very entertaining though and well worth a visit.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Poor.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Friendly staff, but no substitute for incredibly slow service. Incorrect order when food managed to arrive. There are much better places around.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 3rd Rock also viewed

 
Kovalam, Kerala
Kovalam, Kerala
 

Been to 3rd Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3rd Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.