We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely homely feel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vedic Heritage Boutique Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kovalam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vedic Heritage Boutique Hotel
Save
You added Vedic Heritage Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Kovalam Lighthouse Beach | Lighthouse Rd, Kovalam 695521, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 63 Kovalam B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely homely feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Vedic Heritage is a great place to stay in Kovalem. The rooms are furnished beautifully with four poster beds which were very comfortable and are very clean and spacious. Charles the host is a lovely guy and keen to assist wherever possible. We were made to feel very welcome, and really enjoyed our stay here. Great value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
19
17
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I stayed at Vedic Heritage for three weeks in the end of December last year and no doubt that I would love to come back. Charles the owner was a really great host and he makes you feel at home and take good care of you. The rooms are big, airy, lovely beds, every room has a private balcony, you can drink the water straight from the tap, they recycle garbage and you have your towels changed and the room cleaned on request. The house is built in the authentic Kerala style and the atmosphere is unique. If you ask there is a thought behind every detail e.g. I had a Neem tree in front of my balcony - which in the Ayurvedic medicine is used in the treatment of a wide range of afflictions. The place is quite and still you are very close to the beach, restaurants, good yogaplaces, shops ect. I give this small hotel my very best recommendations.

Room Tip: They do not served breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We spent five nights at the Vedic Heritage Hotel in early December and it was great.

It is certainly the best place we stayed in Kerala on our two week trip and probably one of the nicest places I have stayed in India.

The rooms are spotless, large and have balconies overlooking a nice garden area - you don't feel you are in a touristy beach resort due to the lush greenery and cooing birds. The bathrooms are also very clean and well-maintained, lots of hot water. The house has been designed using an Indian version of Feng shui, Vasthu Sastra (hope I have that right!), meaning the communal spaces are large and airy - Charles the owner is correct when he says there is a great energy in the building - there is, its very calm and welcoming. The other great thing about the house is the drinkable tap water. I was a little skeptical at first but it tasted great and was incredibly convenient.

Charles was a fantastic host, sorting our laundry, arranging personal yoga lessons and generally offering helpful suggestions as to how to fill our days.

The location of the house is another plus point, a two minute walk down a backstreet (you might need a torch at night) will take you directly onto the beach where you can find numerous restaurants, shops etc.

The house is not inexpensive, but it is understated luxury and therefore worth every penny.

Quick note on the area - the beach is perfectly nice (although in my opinion, there are nicer beaches in Goa), the restaurants on the beachfront all have identical Indian/Western menus so maybe try further afield, people very friendly and helpful. Overall its a nice place to relax and re-charge batteries for a couple of days.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We have spent two special weeks at the Vedic Heritage Boutique Hotel - this litte hotel is a very special place to stay.
A great location in Kovalam -set In a peaceful location but just a few minutes stroll to the beach and many restaurants. The Vedic is immaculately clean, the rooms are fresh and airy, lovely linen and lots of hot water - a real delight to return to each day.
The owner Charles is a gracious gentleman and a font of knowledge on the area and Kerala - he gave us priceless information and guidance that made our visit to Kerala so enjoyable.
If you are looking for unique sparkling clean accommodation, personal, professional and very friendly service the Vedic Heritage is the perfect choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leutershausen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was the first hotel we stayed at during our family trip through Kerala. We felt very appreciated. Arvind, the caretaker, was very supportive and cooked us a very good dinner. The rooms are aerial and convenient. We would love to come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed for two weeks in Kovalam at the Vedic Heritage, we rented two spacious and extremely clean , I mean really spotless, ground floor double rooms. Beds and linens were perfect, clean and comfortable. Lots of hot water in the bathrooms, the hotel manager Aravind is very friendly and always helpful.
They have some restrictions regarding electricity, they use a generator and therefore electricity is not available 24/7 , but you can always tell Aravind to turn it on if you shoul need some extra energy time . Electricity can be a little problem in Kovalam, but nothing dramatic.
Make sure you take a pair of comfy shoes to Kovalam, you'll need to walk quite a lot.
Enjoy your stay at the Vedic Heritage, definitely a place to consider when planning a trip to Kovalam!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Vedic Heritage is a real gem. I stayed for more than 4 weeks and felt so much at home. The rooms are elegant, yet simple and very clean. Nothing is too much trouble for Aravind, the manager of the property. There is a very special feel to this place and I cannot recommend it enough!
Sumiya

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vedic Heritage Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedic Heritage Boutique Hotel

Address: Kovalam Lighthouse Beach | Lighthouse Rd, Kovalam 695521, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vedic Heritage Boutique Hotel is a speciality beach hotel with a difference. We are situated in the quite lush green coconut grove just behind the main busy beach front. You can see the sea from the balcony of your room through the palm tops. The architecture of the hotel was carefully designed with Vaastu Shastra ( the vedic principles of architecture in a tropical climate) to facilitate natural lighting and free movement of air circulation inside the building to avoid the use of air conditioning in the rooms. The hotel has a natural cooling and a pleasant inner climate. Our guests dont need to buy (dead) water in plastic bottles and contribute to the enviornmental catatrophe from plastic bottles in India. We have our own 260 ft. deep borewell that gives us pure mineral water. The guests can brush their teeth and wash their mouths safely from the water tap in their rooms. In order to balance and smoothen the mineral content in the water for drinking purpose we have a UV water purifier that guarantees 100% bacteria free water of medical hygiene quality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vedic Heritage Boutique Hotel Kovalam, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vedic Heritage Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.