We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Cafe

Swiss Cafe
Lighthouse Beach, Kovalam 695527, India
+91-98475-93239
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 45 Restaurants in Kovalam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Visited Kovalam twice in 9 days and both times ate at this restaurant. Menu was extensive, both Indian and Western dishes. Service was quick, polite and waiters were very attentive. Added bonus ...the beer was cold !
Would recommend

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    43
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“It just beats the German Bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our favourite place for breakfast. Great views and lovely food. Excellent value for money. Just gets the edge over the German Bakeery

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and watch the world go by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This restuarant was recommended to us by some fellow hotel guests as we were sitting watching a fantastic sunset with gin and tonic in hand! We took up their recommendation and found this to be a great place for a meal. The waiting staff (one in particular who, unfortunately, we didn't get his name) was so friendly and welcoming and recommending food from the menu. The menu itself is extensive with something to suit all tastes - I really enjoyed the cubed chicken schnitzel in a mushroom and cream sauce, served with a delicious potato rosti - a very tasty change after all the spicy Indian food consumed recently. They even serve a reasonable cup of esspresso coffee which is rare in Kerala. Hopefully we'll get there to eat again before our holiday is over this year, but if not, we'll certainly visit again when next in Kovalam.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Pleasant place for breakfast and watch the sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We ended up in this cafe by accident. Just me and my husband liked rasolozhenie cafe on the second floor, and passing people will not look at our plates.
Always went there for dinner, to sitting at the table watching the sunset.
Tried to choose not spicy dish. Good selection of omelets for breakfast, a lot of different offers and for every taste.
Great selection of fresh juices, fresh produce, delicious seafood on the grill. Loved masala chai.
  Good value for money.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Only restaurant staff that welcome with smile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Having visited number of restaurants on lighthouse beach, this is my personal favourite because out of 5-7 odd restaurants I have visited on this beach and around Kovalam; only staff of this restaurant welcomed us with a smile. We were attended the moment we stepped on to the 1st floor which is otherwise rare.

Service was also very quick. We ordered a mix of North Indian Food (black Dal and paneer) & Italian (Veg Pasta) along with their most favourite Lemon & Chocolate cake and must say that the food was really good.

The ambience was also good. Though this restaurant is a bit expensive than others in the vicinity but I personally recommend this for taste and service

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swiss Cafe also viewed

Kovalam, Kerala
 

Been to Swiss Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.