We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Cold coffee' and Bircher muesli” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Cafe

Swiss Cafe
Lighthouse Beach, Kovalam 695527, India
+91-98475-93239
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 42 restaurants in Kovalam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“'Cold coffee' and Bircher muesli”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We'll try anywhere without touts! It feels like you're taking a bit of a chance going up the stairs without knowing what you'll find up there. But don't worry, it's a refuge from the pushy people on the boardwalk, who will look at you in amazement as you choose somewhere to eat without assistance. If you like hands-off service, it's a nice place to nurse your sunburn over a "cold coffee" (like a milky iced coffee without the ice) and a slice of cake. We didn't go for dinner, and the lunch menu is a little limited (we wanted to order pizza but they didn't start serving that until 5), but if you want a Euro-friendly breakfast, this is the ticket.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    34
    39
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Swiss cafe is upstairs on the sea front and gives a panoramic view of Lighthouse Beach. Also, it means that, if you are on your own, as I was, you're not as self-conscious as if you are eating in front of all the passing promenaders.
The waiter was friendly and the food good. I had the Hot and Sour Soup which was delicious and full of freshly chopped vegetables. The Paneer Masala was gorgeous and, although there wasn't a wide range of Indian breads available, the chappati was fine.
On another occasion a few of us ate there and all enjoyed our meal.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent Menu and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Despite appearing father empty, my family and I ate here most evenings and the food, drinks and service were excellent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A change from a Curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I love a curry and in Kovolam there are many places to enjoy one.
If like me you like only mild curry you might get a craving for something a little cooler. Every 4 days or so I would dine at The Swiss Cafe and have a wonderful Spaghetti Carbonara. Stange to go to India for an Italian pasta dish, but it had to be done, it got me ready to go back to the curries for a while.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Ate here twice the food was really good, nice to sit out overlooking the sea. I liked the fact they they do not try to drag you inside.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swiss Cafe also viewed

 
Kovalam, Kerala
Kovalam, Kerala
 

Been to Swiss Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.