We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is Auwsome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle on The Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle on The Beach to your Saves list
Turtle on The Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   VPI/439, ITDC Road, Kovalam 695527, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Kovalam
Guwahati, India
2 reviews
“Hotel is Auwsome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in last week of july 2012 which i made the booking from xpedia.com and i found i satisfactory. The enploys of the hotel were very soft talking and were very friendly. I wish them a very good & all the best for their future. Thanks.

Room Tip: Everything is good in this hotel. There is nothing demerrit in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, Regional General Manager at Turtle on The Beach, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Saurav,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased to know that you took back memories of a comfortable stay. Turtle on the Beach is a boutique resort located on picturesque Kovalam beach and bounded by the Arabian Sea. Our staff has been trained to be patient towards our guests, and carry out requests to the best of their abilities. They are delighted to receive your feedback.

Once again thank you for the review, and we hope to welcome you again.

Warm Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    189
    57
    31
    12
See reviews for
166
211
19
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were booked into Tom's Inn Premium, which is the budget wing of Turtle on the Beach Hotel. We had to walk a short way down the road from the main building. However we had access to all the hotel's facilites, which were excellent, including an infinity pool and very good dining room.

Room Tip: We booked a budget room (called Tom's), which was a separate building to the hotel and our taxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, Regional General Manager at Turtle on The Beach, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Joan,

Thank you for choosing us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the facilities at Turtle on the Beach. We provide state of the art amenities and avant-garde dining avenues to our guests. However, we did notice that your booking experience with Agoda was not up to the mark. We regret the inconvenience caused and would assure you that any difficulty when you are booking our property via an Online Travel Agent is a rare incident.

Thank you for your custom and hope to welcome you again at our hotel.

Warm Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I booked the "Arabian sea view room" here as a surprise honeymoon vacation for my wife. And all I can say is: AMAZING. We had a really wonderful time at turtle on the beach. The room was beautiful. And surprisingly, it was exactly as it is shown in the picture gallery of the hotel's website. The resort has a vintage feel about it, with a healthy serving of contemporary panache. The view from the balcony was definitely worth it. The complimentary breakfast was really good. Room service was friendly and efficient. In terms of activities, we didn't do much except to laze at the beach. We did however visit the in-house ayurveda massage place - its slightly expensive, but is worth it. Both my wife and I enjoyed the massage. All in all - it was a really good experience. I highly recommend turtle on the beach.

Room Tip: The arabian seaview is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, Regional General Manager at Turtle on The Beach, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Sathya,

Thank you for choosing Turtle on the Beach to give a surprise honeymoon vacation to your better half. We are glad that your stay experience with us was amazing and are delighted to have received your acknowledgment about the same.

Turtle on the beach serves the purpose right with its offering of excellent services and exemplifies as the best five star beach resorts in Kovalam. Among many factors that work in favor of resort are unique ‘enchanting’ location, multiple dining options, dedicated Ayurveda Vaidyashala, spacious rooms that offer scenic views and most importantly professional yet helpful staff. We would like to inform you that our resort has a wide range of facilities to enhance your stay in our luxury beach resort including excursion trips to popular tourist locales, shopping expeditions and other in-resort facilities such as health club, recreation area and modern spa.

With years of experience on their hands, the team is always ready to serve patrons round the clock. It’s nice to know that you enjoyed your stay thoroughly from beginning to the end. We thank you for this valuable feedback and look forward to serving you again.

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bareilly, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The day we checked in, we arrived a little early before their usual check-in Time of 12:00 noon. It was a big mistake! They didn't even welcome us properly. No proper reception (welcome drink, welcome greetings, etc. were totally non-existent - may be cause of the poor service standards in all the departments of the Hotel).

Can't believe that even the people at Reception were struggling to speak in English (forget about Hindi). The Breakfast we had the 1st Morning was Pathetic by 4-5 Star Hotels' Standards.

My wife got sick while we went for Back-waters Trip in Poovar. When we called the reception to ask for the address of any doctor nearby, they clearly told us that they didn't know any doctor or chemist nearby. Whereas, in their guest handbook they have clearly mentioned the service of "doctor on call" and assistance in procuring required medicines from the chemist.

Have gone to Travencore Heritage Hotel in Poovar for Lunch on the same day, and the sort of reception, Reception, hospitality & food we had through our couple of hours stay there, made us feel more cheated as well - for we have paid Double more than the Deluxe range of Rooms of Travencore Heritage in Turtle on the Beach.
So will never recommend it to nybody.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, Regional General Manager at Turtle on The Beach, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us on you recent trip to Kovalam. We have noted your concern and I have thoroughly investigated the matter. Though you had checked in at 9:30 am and your room was allocated to you by 10:30 which is much before our standard check-in time of 12:00 pm, my team should have given you a better welcome on arrival. While you waited for the room, we were more than glad to extend complimentary breakfast service which is generally given only on the next morning. We have noted your feedback on the breakfast and will make necessary corrections.

As for the medical emergency at the time, we do have a Dr. on call and he is 5 min away from the hotel, but your request for a Gynecologist was only responded to with a negative answer as we are unable to provide specialist doctors to call on at our hotel. On providing you the contact details of the doctor, we should have also pursued this matter further to see if you were able to get the assistance from the General Physician.

We do take your comments positively and will ensure that we handle such situation in a better manner. I assure of better service in the future and hope to see you again.

Warm Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We decided to go on a last minute decision. Luckily we did. From the time we arrived we were given a vip treatment. We had our room upgraded at no extra charge. Thanks. The suite was great with good sea views. I had read a review of a member requiring a phd to work out the lighting system... this is true. My wife finally managed to get it right even when the hotel staff had failed. THANK GOD. The room was huge , I found the toilet seat to be very high off the ground..and i am 1.8 m tall. Someone made a boo boo when they measured it.The internet was a disaster. I had thought my mac went on the blink and i went into a panic. It was because of the slow connection that it did not work. The hotel was kind enough to give me one of their laptops but this did not help. I finally was given their pc at reception to do my onward accommodation.A reviewer complained about the litter at the bottom of the parth that leads to the beach.,This is true but i think we must look past that and admire the beauty of the beaches. The breakfast was adequate but tasteless. The masala tea was good. We did not have any other meals in the hotel because we ate at many different restaurants on the beach. God knows why they have idiotic liquor laws, The beach restaurants served it anyway in huge mugs. This was amusing.The staff went beyond their duty to make their guests feel welcome.This hotel deserves the praise it gets.Lets hope it keeps it up because i will return shortly.

Room Tip: Keep away from the pool area. Corner rooms have a side balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, Regional General Manager at Turtle on The Beach, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasurable experience to have served you on your recent trip. We are delighted to have received your acknowledgment about the same.
Turtle on the beach serves the purpose right with its offering of excellent services and exemplifies as the best five star beach resorts in Kovalam. Among many factors that work in favor of resort are unique ‘enchanting’ location, spacious rooms that offer scenic views and most importantly professional yet helpful staff. With years of experience on their hands, our team of multitalented is always ready to serve patrons round the clock. It’s nice to know that you enjoyed your stay thoroughly, except for a few minor occurrences which we have duly noted down and are making improvisations.
Once again, we thank you for this valuable feedback and look forward to serve you on yet another inspiring stay.

Warm Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Location: I hotel is located at Eve’s beach and is very beautiful beach. The beach has clean water and friendly locals.
The water is shallow for couple of meters. On right hand side you have huge rock which is also a nice place to relax.(You cannot climb the rock).
There are couple of shops for tea-coffee and snacks and looks clean.
You can have speed boat service for 500 rs per family(2 adult/2 kids).
The hotel itself is beautiful and maintained clean. I liked the contemporary look.
Kudos to the architect. It is small and cosy place.


Staff: Staff are generally friendly and helpful. I might have expected a welcome drink, wet wipes which was missing during check-in.
After a travel when you enter a hotel a wet wipe I always love.(Specially place like Kerala where you sweat a lot).
Check in was smooth.

Food: The was the worst part of the hotel. The breakfast was small spread and food was average.
Response to room service was pretty cold. Took around 45 mins to 1 hour for service.
Generally the food doesn't match standards of hotel of this price range.
The hotel doesn’t serve alcohol.(So if you want alcohol free vacation it might suit you:)).
Special request made via TG was not met.

Room Tip: There is beer parlour if you walk towards right hand side of the hotel. There are couple of local re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, Regional General Manager at Turtle on The Beach, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Manu,

At the very outset I would like to inform you that we appreciate your comments and time dedicated in reviewing our hotel. Thanks for noting and commenting about the minute and interesting details related to Eve’s Beach which is only a few steps away from our property.
Turtle on the Beach is a wonderful accommodation that attempts at bringing a unique Bohemian beach vibe to guests striding in God’s own country, Kerala. Supported by strikingly-designed infrastructure & state-of-the-art amenities, the concept behind this boutique hotel is in itself a welcoming temptation.
However, with regards to your comment on alcohol, please be informed that absence of the liquor license has brought a little delay in allowing our patrons to enjoy the best of beverages and services we have. Other issues mentioned in your feedback have been well noted. Kindly rest assured that we will take every action possible to ensure your next stay remains highly memorable.

Hoping to see you soon!

Warm Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Turtle on the beach is an excellent hotel. I made a tele booking of an Arabian Sea view room day before my arrival to kovalam and to my surprise no advance payment was asked during the time of tele booking and check-in unlike the hotel udaya samudra. The entire check-in procedure was smooth. The location of this hotel is sea facing but good passage to beach directly from hotel is missing you need to take a walk of five minutes in order to access beach.

The room was huge and clean with almost every possible facility a room can have, the balcony was spacious with a large table and chairs to enjoy your morning & evening tea. The bathroom was big with a good size bath tub. The view of the sea from the balcony of the room was very beautiful.

The quality of the food served at restaurant was good and reasonably priced; the breakfast buffet had many options and was good too. The service at the restaurant was excellent. Every staff of the hotel was courteous & helpful.

I am unable to recall the name of the staffs, Manager of the booking department, ladies at the reception and the waiter at the restaurant thank you for making my trip memorable and pleasant one.

Will definitely visit Turtle on the Beach again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, Regional General Manager at Turtle on The Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Vivek,

Thank you so much for creating a buzz around the resort with your reviving TripAdvisor review. The moral boost that your positive feedback carried to us will definitely last forever. And knowing that you enjoyed our hospitality & the Arabian Sea view room was a wink towards the fact that we were successful in providing you with a good experience!
Turtle on the Beach is a fascinating property located just steps away from the renowned Eve’s beach. This means that you can blend a rejuvenating health- walk with leisure roaming as you walk towards the beach at any time you want. With sparkling storefronts and the green garden views, we are much celebrated for providing something very unique to every traveler. Your appreciation about our associates and dining amenities are indeed inspiring.
We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit our exciting city!

Best Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle on The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle on The Beach

Address: VPI/439, ITDC Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#5 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turtle on The Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By blending the finest of art with the most sophisticated luxury, Turtle on the beach brings about a new grammar in holidaying in this part of the world. You will find it unique in every way you look at it, either as a whole or in parts that make it a whole. And that makes Turtle on the beach a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Turtle on The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle On The Beach Hotel Kovalam
Turtle On The Beach Kovalam, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle on The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.