We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Staff, Thanks.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle on The Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle on The Beach to your Saves list
Turtle on The Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   VPI/439, ITDC Road, Kovalam 695527, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Kovalam
Sunnyvale, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Staff, Thanks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed here with my wife and toddler for just a night in the middle of a hectic trip to Kerala. I keep getting asked by friends what are good hotels other than the obvious choices to stay at while at Kovalam (Trivandrum is my fathers hometown), Now I know a good place to recommend - Turtle by the Beach.
I have often found that the standout sometimes is not just the hotel but the staff which goes out of their way to make even a nights stay very pleasant. Sure, all hotels suffer thru shortage of staff and complaints from guests, but to still keep smiling and helping is where Karan and his team of Soby, Aman and other staff stand out. We were well taken care of right at late check in and though it took a bit of time to get our room, it was perfect.
A Sea facing duplex with a great view from the balcony helped setup a nice relaxed evening taking in the sunset view. The location of the hotel is perfect on Kovalam beach and the sea facing view is worth every penny.
We had the buffet for both dinner and breakfast, there were a few regional dishes and a decent spread for both north Indian and Continental Food. Room Service is always happy to customize food items for you as well.

All that I can say is that if you are going to be living at the Kovalam beach, do plan to stay at the turtle on the beach and enjoy the experience.

Room Tip: Sea Facing Views with the Duplex in case you are travelling with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, Regional General manager at Turtle on The Beach, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Roby,

We appreciate your extensive feedback on this public forum. We were really encouraged after reading your feedback.

Turtle on the Beach is a luxury resort near Kovalam Beach, a well known for the sunset and our location makes it even worthwhile. We have always strived to maintain an exquisite décor and a service standard par excellence.

Once again, thank you for the review. We hope to welcome you again at Turtle on the Beach.

Warm Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    189
    57
    31
    12
See reviews for
166
211
19
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this resort for 3 nights in a duplex room. Room is quite good and clean.. view from the room is excellent. Swimming pool is well maintained. Though the hotel has a small passage towards the beach however the same is not maintained. Staffs were helpful in nature. The housekeeping service was bit slow. Food was average. Overall we enjoyed our stay and will surely visit the hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle on The Beach, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review. A review like yours motivates our staff to go that extra mile and exceed customer expectations.

Turtle on the Beach is a luxury resort near Kovalam beach in God’s own country, Kerala, with an exemplary location with a view of Arabian Sea and pristine beaches with greenery. We pride ourselves with our service and courteous staff.

Once again, thank you for your patronage. We hope to welcome you again on your next check-in.

Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We booked a deluxe room and called to ensure it would work for or family of four including 2 toddlers. The room they gave us had a separate second room separated by a balcony with serious safety hazards for kids (my daughter could and almost did squeeze off between planters serving as a railing). At first they told me they had no other rooms, but five rooms and about five hours later and we were in an acceptable room with an amazing view. I was grateful the manager allowed us the use of our original room during this process. The beds were hard. Housekeeping was deplorable. And they turned off the hot water at night. Breakfast was limited and not maintained, and the lobby and bathrooms were a little musty/smelly. That said, it has character and a lot of artistic touches... to include a coffee table made with a sculpture of a naked man and woman embracing intimately...possibly awkward for families. The hotel is on a hill, and the easiest approach to the beach is by tuktuk for 50-100 rupees. When we went, the water was too rough for children and the beaches were littered.

Room Tip: Top floor suite has amazing views. Call the hotel to clarify room configuration and safety issues f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle on The Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Turtle on The Beach for your recent stay in Kovalam. We are happy to note that the amiable staff and pleasing views from the property were able to meet your expectations.
Although our entire team strives to give guests delightful experiences, we regret the inconvenience caused to you and your family. We have made a sincere note of your feedback regarding dinning and housekeeping and assure you of improved hospitality on your next trip.
Once again, we appreciate your elaborate feedback and hope to offer you a perfect stay on your next check in.

Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at this resort just 3 days and it was just bliss. The rooms are HUGE and the view is just to-die-for! The staff was friendly and the food was average. We spent all our time at the hotel but the beach is a short climb down but nothing to write home about. Nevertheless a relaxing holiday that was a definite pep to our moods.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle on The Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the review. We, at Turtle on The Beach, really appreciate your review on this public forum. The staff is inspired by your kind comments.
Turtle on the Beach is a 5-star resort in Kovalam, Kerala. Located on a mind-blowing location with a spectacular view of the crystal clear Arabian Sea, we take great pride in our services, and make sure that every patron is treated like a king. The resort provides for a pleasing view with the state of the art amenities and a relaxing environment.
Once again, thank you for the review. Do give us a chance to host you again, on your next visit to Kovalam.

Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Checked in and was happy with duplex room with fantastic sea view. Not so pleased with service levels, everything took way to long whether it was a drink by the pool or a meal from the menu. There was no bar and the coffee shop was not in operation. Everything in the minibar was anything up to 2 years passed its sell by date, (this was a running theme from local street vendors too). Wifi is both chargeable and totally unreliable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle on The Beach, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Shelby,

We would like to thank you for choosing Turtle on the Beach during your stay in Kovalam.

We are sorry for the inconveniences caused during your stay here. We have noted your concerns and are already investigating the matters relating to the service time and out of date mini-bar items.

We are happy that you took out time to write here so that we can serve you better when you visit us next.

Warm Regards,
Karan Bakshi
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mallikaserry
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Turtle on the Beach for a weekend. Check in was big hassle. We had to wait an hour before our room was ready and that too after we arrived one hour after the check in time. Rooms are big and clean and balcony of our Arabian Sea facing room is phenomenal. Food is very average and they are definitely under staffed which results in very long waiting periods for anything - from a spoon to an iron box to a bit of ketchup! But the place nice and quiet. We thought the ayurvedic treatments were a bit expensive but the lady at the ayurvedic centre was well informed and I am sure they do a thorough job though we didnt get any treatments.

Overall a good place but a bit expensive for what you pay.

Room Tip: Take the arabian sea facing room and definitely dont take the garden facing rooms... no privacy at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle on The Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Avira,
Thank you for choosing us and sharing your experience on this forum. We, at Turtle on the Beach, thrive on our specialty guest treatment and hospitality. Our location and spacious rooms are designed to make your stay a comfortable stay. We have been a preferred choice of leisure travelers visiting Kerala owing to the par excellence standards of hospitality that we offer.
However, we regret that you have to wait at the front desk to check in, and also at the restaurant. Incidences of delays are rare, and would be investigated properly. Thank you for bringing this to our notice, as it is review such as yours that keep us informed and help us in serving our guests better.

Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had booked the sea facing turtle duplex suite through the central reservations of the hotel chain for a stay of four days. We arrived late evening at Kovalam and had a smooth check in. The duplex suite is excellent......the view from the suite and the balcony of the suite was worth every penny..... The location of the property is a big plus, two beaches are at walkable distances. We were on MAP thus had the oppurtunity of having our b/f's and dinners at "Cataraman"(restaurant). The food was a nice lay for both the meals, the dinners always had a few regional dishes (both veg and non veg) to enjoy. Incase you are a sea food buff, do ring up room service and ask for what you want to try (the in room menu doesn't list these). We had coconut mango prawns and grilled jhinga (hats off to the chef we all loved it). On all days we had to remind house keeping to "make" the suite (we were informed that they were low on house keeping staff ....). Overall a nice and pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Book the sea facing property to enjoy your stay in kovalam
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaranBakshi, General Manager at Turtle on The Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Turtle on the Beach during your stay in Kovalam. We are happy that you took out time to review us on this public platform. The staff is inspired by your kind comments.

Turtle on the Beach is a 5-star resort in Kovalam, Kerala. Located in God’s own Country we take great pride in our services, and make sure that every customer is treated and cared like a family member. With a spell bounding location on the Arabian Sea, the resort provides for a pleasing view with the state of the art amenities.

We once again thank you for a positive review on this public forum and sharing the room tip. Do give us a chance to host you again, on your next visit to Kovalam.

Regards,
Karan Bakshi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle on The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle on The Beach

Address: VPI/439, ITDC Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#5 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Turtle on The Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By blending the finest of art with the most sophisticated luxury, Turtle on the beach brings about a new grammar in holidaying in this part of the world. You will find it unique in every way you look at it, either as a whole or in parts that make it a whole. And that makes Turtle on the beach a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Turtle on The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle On The Beach Hotel Kovalam
Turtle On The Beach Kovalam, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle on The Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.