We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend in Kovalam!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kovalam Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kovalam Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kovalam Beach Hotel
2nd Beach Road | Kovalam Beach, Kovalam 695 527, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 58 Kovalam B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Weekend in Kovalam!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Nice Hotel in Great location.Clean rooms & a very affordable price and very friendly staff.Manu Sujatha at the Front desk was very friendly and extremely helpful and made our stay in Kovalam a memorable one.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    8
    5
    19
See reviews for
17
25
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

A lovely holiday spot
Truely admirable and feels heaven on earth.....
Enjoyed fishing with d fishermen n the lovely see food.
The nearby airport is trivandrum
The other places u may visit r padmnabaswamy temple n few lakes.
But the major source of attraction is the KOVALAM

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Last visited this hotel on 24 dec to 25 dec 2013.Entrance of Hotel is very narrow road on which if you are coming for big taxis become nightmare,then AC is not wrking. I complain to authorities they ask me to shift to another room,but another rooms are small and smell .Then on 25 Dec they ask us for Gala Dinner at Upstairs .Nothing atttractive there,they charge Rs 750 per person i.e Rs 2000/- addtional to my Itnaray. Nothing to entrain the children there.
Staff is aware of there responsibilities.I suggest never to checkout this.MakemyTrip and other good Travel Portals hiring this as it is cheaper.These portal making money out of our domestic holidays.I suggest plan standalone it will be cheaper rather then going with these portals.Makemytrip does not even bother to check out hotel facilities before booking.Even I meet a person who book with cox&Kings Same feedback they have.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have stayed in this hotel for two nights during the second week of December. The category of the room for us was Coral Dream View. Pls don't get fascinated with the room type. It just has a Twin Bed with lots small pieces of plywoods embedded into it so that the bed can bear weight of two. Now comes the view, it has a window which opens to the wall of some another roon so to be honest there is no view at all. The hotel has such a dark and gloomy ambience that half of your holiday mood goes for a toast just afer entring into it. Our hardship started when we just checked in our room. We saw a big mouse in our room roaming from wardrobe to the bathroom, we called at reception and after 15 minutes they came. They checked here and there and said it has gone and won't come back. As soon as they left, the mouse reappeared. we called again and again after 15 minutes they came. These time also they searched for mouse but didn't find any and hence said the same. Now again for the third time the mouse came when they were in the room and finally they agreed that there was a mouse in our room. We asked for change of room and they provided the another one. The room is now of a higher category called as sea view rooms, but trust me there was no view of sea at all. The given room did't have proper taps for hot and cold water and shower wasn't working either. We had to use bucket and mug for having bath. Now comes the dinner part. The hotel was having only one person who comes to take order, prepares the meal, and serves. You need to place an order atleast an hour before, so if your are hungry or something than pls make your own arrangements. And ya the images shown on Google for hotel are of some other prime property so pls don't get impressed by the same. And lastly I wonder how come the hotel has been rated as "Excellent" by Tripadvisor which they proudly flaunt on their website.
Overall it was very very lousy experience. Totally Worthless.....

Room Tip: Don't get impressed by category of rooms. They have just fancy names only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have stayed at Kovalam Beach Hotel for two days from 27 December to 29 December 2013 for three rooms.
The Hotel is so worst we cannot express in language-
No room service as all was on Christmas holiday.
It took 48 hours to repair our bathroom water tab and we have to wait up to night 12PM to temporary
water tab repair.
During breakfast all items were kept at kitchen- no fruits- No egg –only puri and idly two items with
Worst fruit juice. It is understood that all items kept at Kitchen and as instructed by manager to
Provide to Guest. Even my daughter got injured when extra bed fallen on leg during night time. No first Aid box. Becarefull about this hotel.
Thanks and best reagrds,

Ms S Ghosh and Ms M Ghosh

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secunderabad, India
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

first of all the hotel is located in a narrow lane and if you have your own vehicle be prepared to sleep on the road as there is no parking facility in the hotel no room service no complementary breakfast when we asked the manager said that it would be given only if 20 members are there and as it was raining it was stinking the rooms are awful better not to go for this hotel we visited on 17th and 18 th september 2013 had a very veryyyyyyyyyyy bad experience no body to take our luggage to your room no room service

Room Tip: do not visit this hotel even in your wildest dreams
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Upon arriving, we were given two rooms. N in one room there was a BIG lizard above our bed, scaring the life out of me. somehow getting over it, we decided to sleep aft our long flight. Then suddenly, there was a BLACKOUT (no electricity, cant see a thing, no lights, no air con, no nothing!) N guess wat the we were stuck in the hotel for nearly 60 mins. The receptionist guy went somewhere and we were shouting and shouting for someone to help. but no one came. There were no one in the hotel at that time. N it was 2 or 3am. We were so pissed. We called our driver. N in the Dark we had to drag our luggages dan the STAIRS!!! we only used our hp lights to get dan. Immediately, we changed hotel and left the place. PLS PLS NEVER GO THERE, ITS A WASTE AND WORST!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kovalam Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kovalam Beach Hotel

Address: 2nd Beach Road | Kovalam Beach, Kovalam 695 527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True hospitality has always been the fabric of the Kovalam Beach Hotel, a superior boutique heritage resort situated on one of the most beautiful sandy beaches in the world. The hotel’s unique location provides all the advantages- including spectacular views of God’s own country’s southern coastline. The Kovalam Beach Hotel welcomes guests to a warm and inspiring environment of aesthetic luxury and comfort. The building itself is designed and decorated as traditional architecture. The result is a contemporary resort that offers guests not only luxurious facilities and personal service, but an all-round God’s own country holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Venere so you can book your Kovalam Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kovalam Beach Hotel Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kovalam Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.