We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent hotel in a beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soma Palmshore Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Soma Palmshore Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Light House Road | Kovalam Beach, Kovalam 695521, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 47 hotels in Kovalam
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A decent hotel in a beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

In many ways this is just an ordinary hotel. However it is located up the hill from the lighthouse, with its own shore frontage (not on Lighthouse Beach) and fantastic views of the sea from every room, each of which has a balcony. It benefits from being out of the bustle and hassle of the beach, while still being within a short walk. Our room was spotlessly clean, large and very comfortable and the pool was clean and well maintained.
The hotel is used by quite a lot of Indian tour groups, so the restaurant and reception can get busy in the mornings. Breakfast was OK but we didn't eat any other meals in the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 411 to 415 are a terrace of thatched rooms out in the garden, with lovely, uninterrupted views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SreejithKK, Public Relations Manager at Soma Palmshore Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
We take this opportunity to express our sincere thanks for staying at Soma Palmshore and sharing your feedbacks through Trip Advisor. We are very happy to note that you have loved our location, Sea and Beach view from the room and private balcony. Also we are happy to note your appreciation on our bigger room and its cleanliness and well maintained pool. We are looking forward to serve you again and again with best hospitality of Somatheeram Ayurveda Group.
Subhash C Bose
Corp. General Manager
Somatheeram Ayurveda Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    77
    33
    5
    20
See reviews for
62
65
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel could be great with a little bit of maintenance and renovations. The hotel was very rundown, everything was old and tired looking. The staff really tried to make it better, but it wasn't enough. Every day there was a new problem that has to be fixed. Electricity can go off at any time during the day or night. Considering that it gets pitch dark after 6:30 pm, getting around the room in the dark gets quite complicating. Housekeeping was inconsistent: something was always missing: shampoo, moisturizer, hand towels, water bottle. On check in I ticked a box for English language newspaper, which I got exactly once during a week stay. The fridge was so old, all the temperature dials were broken, so all the staff you put inside was literally frozen, some fruits got wasted that way. Not all electrical sockets were working, another repair request. I get tired of having so many request just to get the very basic service! Breakfast was horrible. You get exactly two kind of fruits every day: bananas and cut watermelon or pineapple. And the juice from yesterday fruits. The porridge reminded me of school cafeteria. There were cornflakes and "muesli", which in fact another cheap sugary cereal. I don't know how they could ruin scrambled eggs, but it tasted like it was made of egg powder (maybe it was). If you wanted to try Indian food, the options were not very great, again they just had 2 varieties of curries that kept changing day to day, 2 kinds of Indian bread. They also had cheap white or "brown" bread for toasting and butter and jam. Everything didn't taste very good, too salty or watery, so I never tried eating there for lunch or dinner, there were many other options at the Lighthouse beach promenade a short walk down.
In the first room I stayed, there were no hot water, which they tried to fix unsuccessfully. In the second room hot water was there for about 3 minutes max, not enough to wash out all the oil from the hair after the ayurvedic "treatment". About the treament: heard a lot about ayurveda, but after trying it here realized it is just another belief based scam. I decided to try their massages, which are the worst kind in such humid hot weather: lots of rubbing down with heavy smelling oils. It does nothing for any back or muscle pain. In fact, I think the whole experience is not very pleasant, you are literally being smothered in oil from head to toe.
The room I booked was called sea fronting type, which is exactly what it was, because the actual sea view was obscured by the palm trees.Due to moon soon the private beach was closed, so the only other option was either using the sun lounger in front of the room (mine didn't have one for some reasons, and after making so many requests before I get tired of asking for everything) or around their small pool. The public beach wasn't very nice, with stray dogs running around, litter and Indian men gaping at women in the bikinis. And you have to pay for the sun chairs and an umbrella there. I've tried it once, but was too bothered by the constant hawking of shawls, cheap souvenirs and persistent women selling fruits.
Overall, I wouldn't recommend this hotel or Kovalam for that matter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SreejithKK, Public Relations Manager at Soma Palmshore Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
We take this opportunity to express our sincere thanks for staying at Soma Palmshore and sharing your feedbacks through Trip Advisor. We are concerned to note your comments about the overall service and facilities received during your stay with us, especially about the renovation and food. We have recently renovated all our rooms and facilities.

Customer satisfaction is top priority for Somatheeram Ayurveda Group. Comments of this nature are rare, as our staff is continuously trained to provide excellent customer service in all areas. Our choice of B/fast is wide with two kind of fresh fruits with choice of Pineapple, Pappaya, Water Melon and Banana, Two verity of flakes, Porridge, Two kind of Bread, Two kind of Fresh Juice, One Egg dish, One English B/fast dish, One North Indian dish and one South India dish. Ayurveda treatments are well appreciated by the whole world. You have to take Ayurveda treatment continuously as per Doctors instruction to get a cure. Ayurveda Oils are medicated and selected as per cure and body texture, it is not selected as per aromatic odor and colour. Ayurveda treatments are based on science and holistic medicine for cure; we are practicing Ayurveda authentically at way at our place. Vegetable and Fruits we bring daily directly from Palghat Tribal Farming Society (part of our Social responsibility programme) together for all our Resorts in Kerala.

We are looking forward to serve you again and again with best hospitality of Somatheeram Ayurveda Group.

Subhash C Bose
Corp. General Manager
Somatheeram Ayurveda Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I could not quite believe what I saw when I arrived here. The ocean was so close to the little cottage/ room that I had as part of about 5, in lush tropical gardens. The room was immaculate, comfortable bed and crisp white bedding. Plenty of good quality towels and T.V. And A/C, which was not necessary in August. Small sitting area outside as well as a wicker sun bed. Clean towels were also at hand for the sun beds by the pool free of charge.
The staff were attentive and courteous at all times and could not help you enough. I chose the hot Indian breakfast option as I think it was better quality that other dishes on offer.
On a slightly negative note, I think the coffeé was a little 'stewed' at times as it was stored in a thermos. Evening meals were a little expensive and could be better quality. The vegetables were always the same and were either a bit tired or frozen. The treatments offered were also good. Overall, I enjoyed my stay very much. Accomodation, service and location could not have pleased me more. If there is a next time, I would eat out at night.
Iona Evans Holywell UK

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SreejithKK, Public Relations Manager at Soma Palmshore Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
We take this opportunity to express our sincere thanks for staying at Soma Palmshore and sharing your feedbacks through Trip Advisor. We are very happy to note that our location, accommodation, Ayurveda Treatment and service are more than your expectation and could not have pleased you more. We are much concerned to note your comments about the food and beverage served. We will pay much more attention to reach the same also to your expectations. Comments of this nature are rare, as we are using always fresh natural vegetable and fruits in all our resorts and we bring daily directly from Palghat Tribal Farming Society (part of our Social responsibility programme) together for all our Resorts in Kerala. We are looking forward to serve you again and again with best hospitality of Somatheeram Ayurveda Group.
Subhash C Bose
Corp. General Manager
Somatheeram Ayurveda Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Recently renovated, great room. Staff couldn't be more helpful. We were catching a train at 7pm so they gave us a room free of charge to stay in once we had checked out. Nice pool and excellent views and location. Got lots of sun too when most of southern india is in monsoon. .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SreejithKK, Public Relations Manager at Soma Palmshore Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
At the outset we would like to express our sincere thanks for staying at Soma Palmsore and it was our great pleasure to serve and accommodate. We are very happy to note that you are very happy with our renovated accommodation and felicities. Also happy to note that our Swimming pool and location is excellent and attracted you a lot. We feel very proud about our exceptional staff; they are the one who makes Soma palmshore so special to all our guests. Your best compliments motivate our team to reach more excellence in service. We are looking forward to serve you again and again with best hospitality of Somatheeram Ayurveda Group.

Subhash C Bose
Corp. General Manager
Somatheeram Ayurveda Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My 3 friends and I stayed at the Soma Palmsore in March 2013 and had a lovely stay. The staff were very helpful (espeically when my bag got lost in Mumbai), and they sorted the bag to be delivered to the hotel the next day for me. Yoga in the rooftop the first morning we were there was AMAZING, hearing the sound of the waves! It was in a perfect location to explore Kovalam as well.

The rooms were very spacious, although needed a little TLC, but was lovely to have a balcony. The breakfast wasn't bad, with a selection of juices and some western food (but mainly curry).

We paid £60 per room, per night which I thought was slightly overpriced as the hotel is looking a little tired, but the friendly staff and lovely location made up for it.

Oh and the pool was clean, and there was enough room to sunbathe and relax in the lush gardens, surrounded by palm trees! A highlight!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SreejithKK, Public Relations Manager at Soma Palmshore Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Claire,

Warm Greetings from Team Soma Plamshore,

With pleasure we take this opportunity to thank you for your stay with us at
Soma Plamshore Ayurveda Beach Resort & the time taken to write your valuable
feedbacks about your stay. We are very happy to hear that our location is
perfect to explore Kovalam,Sea and Beach view from our room and balcony is
lovely, Roof top Yoga is amazing hearing the sound of the Waves, Very clean
pool with relaxing area and Help full staff. We Somatheeram Ayurveda Group
look forward to serve you again and again with better service and
facilitates.

With warm regards
Manager Soma palm shore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

A very good resort indeed. The staffs, the ambiance, the food everything were good. The swimming pool was good to refresh yourself. The rooms were spacious and well cleaned. The back ground of the hotel is very nice scenic. There is small beach at the back ground of the hotel and you can enjoy there but condition is you should be there in non-monsoon season, otherwise in monsoon the beach remains closed. You can take your lunch-dinner by sitting in the nice green garden. The ambiance I must say is awesome to relax yourself. Also to mention the hotel has its own car-parking area so no need to worry about your vehicle, just drive from any place like we did from Bangalore and enjoy..
Overall a very good resort and I will stay again if I visit Kovalam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SreejithKK, Public Relations Manager at Soma Palmshore Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Arindam,

Warm Greetings from Team Soma Plamshore,

With pleasure we take this opportunity to thank you for your stay with us at
Soma Plamshore Ayurveda Beach Resort & the time taken to write your valuable
feedbacks about your stay. We are very happy to hear that Our staffs are
amazing, the ambiance, the food everything were good, The swimming pool was
good to refresh, The rooms were spacious and well cleaned, The back ground
of the hotel is very nice scenic with the exclusive beach at the back ground
of the hotel . Hotel has its own car-parking area so no need to worry about
your vehicle We are look forward to serve you again and again with assured
service standard of Somatheeram Ayurveda Group.

With warm regards

Manager Soma palm shore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

all good.. had a wonderful time.. good worth of money.. food, stuffs, hygine, all goood.. my wife and me was there for two days, and we had a very good time.. pool was very clean.. food was very tasty, enough privacy, and stuffs are very humble and kind and open for feedback..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SreejithKK, Public Relations Manager at Soma Palmshore Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Anupam,

Warm Greetings from Team Soma Plamshore,

With pleasure we take this opportunity to thank you for your stay with us at
Soma Plamshore Ayurveda Beach Resort & the time taken to write your valuable
feedbacks about your stay. We are very happy to hear that Our staffs are
very humble and kind, the food was very tasty, everything were good, The
swimming pool was very clean, enough privacy.We are look forward to serve
you again and again with assured service standard of Somatheeram Ayurveda
Group.

With warm regards

Manager Soma palm shore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Soma Palmshore Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soma Palmshore Beach Resort

Address: Light House Road | Kovalam Beach, Kovalam 695521, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Soma Palmshore Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic holiday resort by the beach, Soma Palmshore has everything you need to take a break from the mundane – to relax, to refresh and to relive every moment.Located at the Kovalam Light House Beach in Kerala, which is popular world-over for its palm fringed beach, the sun, the sand and the surf, Soma Palmshore offers you much more than just a beach vacation. A comfortable stay, a delightful cuisine, the rejuvenating experience of Ayurveda, the soothing effect of Yoga, an experience of the local tradition and culture…and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Soma Palmshore Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soma Palmshore Beach Hotel Kovalam
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort Kovalam, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soma Palmshore Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.