We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingfisher

Kingfisher
Lighthouse Beach | THIRUVANANTHAPURAM, Kovalam, India
9249986554
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 50 Restaurants in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We only ate here for lunch but found the food and service good, if I was staying in the lighthouse beach area I would have returned.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    40
    15
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not bad but wouldn't revisit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This strip feels a bit like Feungirola without the nightclubs or Puerto Banus without the sports cars. Full of Europeans, which is okay, but avoid the dishes which have no prices or state "daily market price" (generally the fish / seafood options) as these tend to cost the same as you would pay in the UK and are pretty average.

There's not much of a breeze, so can be over-warm, and the service was a little bit hit-and-miss.

Nothing to specifically complain about but, by the same token, nothing to really entice us back either.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good place to eat & chill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had pakoras & they were delicious but mostly we just sat, soaked up the view & drank refreshing lime soda & beer. Most of the customers seemed known to the staff, who were friendly & helpful. It seemed like a place that people returned to a lot: we went four times in 3 days! And a huge bonus the toilets were clean & cared for.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Snapper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We ate here on our last evening after having read the reviews. Service was OK, we chose a fresh snapper (fish) from their iced display and had it simply grilled with some garlic and butter. It was great, spanking fresh and tasty.

Lobster is available but at £30 per Kg we gave it a miss.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Super restaurant...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Used this place a couple of times. Great food, great value and super staff, in particular Johnson, really nice guy. Lovely clean toilets and a great atmosphere in the restaurant. Do give it a try, I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfisher also viewed

 
Kovalam, Kerala
Kovalam, Kerala
 

Been to Kingfisher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingfisher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.