We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, quite, beautiful retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kadaltheeram Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kovalam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kadaltheeram Beach Resort
Save
You added Kadaltheeram Beach Resort to your Saves list
Nellikunnu, Kovalam 695521, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 66 Kovalam B&B and Inns
Herefordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A wonderful, quite, beautiful retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

We stayed for 10 days at the end of November and found the hotel and area idyllic, situated in a traditional Indian village which was very endearing with local Indian people going about their business, we especially enjoyed meeting the little milk man on his bicycle with two great big milk churns hanging from him, we were able to get fresh milk from him regularly. The food in the newly opened restaurant was very good and Babu was able to cater for our little girl who doesn't like spicy foods.

We very much enjoyed our stay in the hotel with amazing views of the sea and Ambi and his family were very helpful during our stay.

We can't wait to go back to India and hopefully will book again in a year or so.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
22
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

We had booked to stay here direct with the owner in the UK because the reviews on this site were very good and the hotel website is excellent. However this was the only accommodation, and we stayed at a diverse range of hotels, in our three week trip that we paid in advance for and I wish we hadn't. For a start we were charged the high season rate, at beginning of November, when every other hotel in Kovalam/Varkala don't start charging high season rates until 1st December. We paid £28 for a twin room when we had a similar one in Kovalam for £7 and Varkala for £8, and that hotel had a fantastic pool, (I have reviewed both Preeth in Varkala and Coco Land in Kovalam).
The room was ok but the electricity supply was terrible with the consequence that anything left in the fridge was warm and we never ever got hot water. We stayed for 3 nights and our towels were only changed once and our room cleaned only once - not something you expect at £28 per night! .Beware of getting any laundry done - I had to throw away a very nice bra/knicker set that had started off a lovely shade of pink but came back a horrid grey colour and the rest of the clothes were too damp to wear - had to dry them out at next hotel. The place is fairly isolated and the sea is not safe to swim in as it is very rough and there are no lifeguards, and no one else swimming there. The restaurant is very overpriced when compared to similar and much busier restaurants elsewhere, although Babu is a good cook and he's obviously trying his best. Ambi the co-owner is reasonably helpful but his English isn't so good that he understands all your requirements. We wanted some ayuverdic treatments and were taken to a backstreet place in Kovalam after a lot of effort, where there's a male 'doctor' to do female massages - a complete no no ayuverdic wise. The English owner's mum, Jackie, was staying and watched over us whilst using the internet - like we were going to access porn or something! she tried to be helpful but really wasn't!. When my travelling companion fell over and sprained her ankle, we were greeted with Jackie saying 'I fall over all the time' and yet every subsequent hotel we stayed at offered us medical assistance. This might be the place to stay if you're on your honeymoon and don't want any interaction with anyone else other than the pineapple sellers on the beach, but even if this is what you want you can probably get much better value elsewhere and I certainly wouldn't be paying up front. Maybe things are better when English owner Philip is in situ, he's certainly friendly enough on the phone, although prior to leaving for India he did tell me that I had to make a decision quickly about booking the room as other people were interested in our room - yeah right! We only saw one other couple resident during our stay. This is the first negative review that I've ever left and it doesn't make me feel good but then neither does being made to pay more for something than its worth.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

We stayed for 4 nights and as it was the first time in Kerala and also the very 1st place we stayed at arriving off the plane, we didn't have anything to compare it with. We loved our time here, it was quiet and peaceful in a beautiful setting. Ambi could not do enough for us and took us by taxi wherever we wanted to visit. He was a really nice man. Also we were lucky in the fact that they had just built and opened a restaurant which was excellent. We loved everything Babu cooked for us. In fact we can honesly say travelling through the rest of Kerala, the best food we had was here.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

A small, cozy and reasonably priced place by a beautiful beach. The location is peaceful and quiet, yet close the “town” with fruit and food stalls. You can take a swim in the ocean though the sea might be a bit rough. Or, you could walk by the beach to the next village or take the local bus to visit Thiruvananthapuram. We stayed in the cottage below the main building. The cottage has two nice and clean rooms, both equipped with a toaster, water boiler, small fridge, and cutlery for making breakfast and snacks. For proper meals, the best restaurants nearby is Hari's place (= Sunset Restaurant). Others might be really disappointing, so be sure to ask for directions to Hari's! Both Ambi and Philip are very friendly, attentive and helpful, and have truly created a special place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

It was our first trip to India. Before we even left for our holiday, we were able to contact Phillip, the owner several times to gain valuable advice about money etc. Both Phillip and Ambi were so helpful and we enjoyed our holiday so much, we are already planning a return trip. We really liked that we were able to see the "real" India and feel part of the community. Phillip took us along to a local festival, where we were fed very well at a village feast the local people were also very welcoming. He also introduced us to Hare who owns the beach restaurant where we were able to eat on the sea shore in candle light. It was truly amazing. Also, no mosquito's!! Ambi was able to provide us with transport to and from airport, trips out to an elephant sanctuary and interesting places to visit. we felt well looked after and it was a relaxed and comfortable place to stay. Thank you Phillip and Ambi!! See you soon, we hope!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

We loved our week at Kadaltheeram! We had the 'pink room' just down from the main building. Phillip and Ambi keep the resort spotless and they really go out of their way to help in any manner possible. Although there is no restaurant at this small resort, there are many restaurants within a few minutes walk - even 'candle-lit under-the-stars' dinners at Hari's. Some merchants even visit you at the beach, but you never feel pressured or bothered.

  • Liked — Quiet - only the waves.
  • Disliked — Difficult to locate: just ask Phillip for directions!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

I have only just discovered the TripAdvisor site and my trip to Kadaltheeram Beach Resort was in March of this year, 2008.
This was my third visit, the previous ones being in 2002 and 2006. What can I say? Only that I LOVE THE PLACE TO BITS!!!
It is one of only two places where I can truly relax and unwind.
The hotel suits my needs entirely - the rooms are very well equipped, cleaned regularly and bedlinen and towels changed frequently. Ceiling fans are installed which I personally prefer to air conditioning. However, there is one bedroom with AC fitted for those who consider it a must.
The Hotel is situated just above the beach in a coconut grove with its own delightfully planted garden. The view of the sea from the front veranda is beautiful, glimpsed as it is through the palm trees. All the bedrooms have a balcony which affords the same aspect - wonderful for sitting eating your breakfast in the morning observing the antics of the cheeky crows, or relaxing with a drink in the evening watching the spectacular sunsets.
The surrounding area has a number of discretely built hotels of various sizes, intermingled with houses and small shops belonging to the locals. This is not a particularly "touristy" place offering instead a chance to live in a more ethnic fashion and experience real India. The people (including the children) are charming and friendly and I have made many friends during my three visits to the area.
The climate is wonderful and temperatures on my trip ranged from 29-31 degrees F.
The Hotel's proprietors are extremely pleasant and helpful, bending over backwards to accommodate any needs you might have about things to do and places to see in the area, including arranging taxi/rickshaw services.
Whilst at the moment the hotel is self-catering, a restaurant is under construction within the grounds which I understand will offer a range of authentic South Indian, European and English dishes. Eating out locally is a delight, with lots of choice of both food and price. Lots of small restaurants offer a take-away service too.
If you really want to immerse yourself into local life, take advantage of the local bus services to get around - it's an experience not to be missed! There are also excellent train services from Trivandrum if you want to travel further afield and whilst the trains may not be quiet a comfortable as British ones, they RUN ON TIME! Again, an experience not to be missed. You have hardly got yourself seated when pleasant young men come round with urns offrering tea and coffee and equally pleasant young men offer you delicouse snackes through the open windows.
Trivandrum itself (about half an hour away using transport) is the capital city of Kerala. A thriving city definitely to be visited which has amongst it's attractions a beautiful temple and interesting museum.
If you fancy something more peaceful then the back waters trip is for you. A tranquil boat ride through glassy stretches of inland waterways, and whilst your'e slowly punted along you enjoy local life from a different aspect. A stop is made along the way enabling you to take part in local coir making (string made from coconut hair using spinning wheels).
Elephant rides are also available at various places within easy reach.
All in all, I found my visit to Kadaltheeram Beach Resort a wonderful experience and can't wait until my next trip. I would highly recommend it to anyone.
This time I travelled direct from Manchester International Airport, with Emirates, changing planes in Dubai. I have also departed from London Heathrow.
PS Your £1 goes a long, long way!!

  • Liked — Everything suited my needs perfectly
  • Disliked — Nothing springs to mind
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kadaltheeram Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kadaltheeram Beach Resort

Address: Nellikunnu, Kovalam 695521, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small Hotel in an Indian village next to the beach where you can see everyday Indian life going on around you. All rooms have sea view. 20 mins from airport,10 minutes from Kovalam. Ideal place to relax and experience India rather than just visiting it. All rooms have mini fridge,tea making facilities, en-suite, private balcony. Lower garden area onto the beach with sun beds, hammocks where you can relax under the coconut trees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kadaltheeram Beach Resort Kovalam, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kadaltheeram Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.