We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, below 5 stars standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nikko Tianjin

Save Saved
You added Hotel Nikko Tianjin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Tianjin
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.189 Nanjing Road, Heping District, Tianjin 300051, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 909 hotels in Tianjin
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Average, below 5 stars standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Location might be convenient, but access from taxi is not easy, since the main entrance is not located on Nanking road but in a back lane.
Rooms are barely clean, I found waste candy papers on the night table, disapointing !
All day dining buffet on the evening is so so, and I found it quite expensive; I had to wait at the sashimi counter which was not attended to, and was served without much attention and care.
Overall a quite disapointing experience, and definitely below a 5 star hotel standard.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier R, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Tianjin, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Cher Dominique L,

"Merci" for taking the time to share your comments. Your concerns are well noted and I do apologize for our shortcomings and for not meeting your expectations. Cleanliness is usually not an issue at our property and according to other reviewers on this site, moreover I will definitely look into it to ensure it continues to be a key focus point. As you have stayed with us on mutliple occurences recently, I will contact you by separate e-mail in order to get more details from you about the specific room in question.
The comments you made on attentiveness and caring have been shared with my team as they clearly are essential ingredients for consistancy in our successful service delivery.
Thank you once again for your feedback and for your frequent stays with us. I look forward to the opportunity to meet you in person on your next visit.
Salutations distinguées,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    155
    27
    3
    8
See reviews for
6
13
28
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Nikko Tianjin is located over a mall and from the sixth floor i could just walk across to the next building and take an elevator up to my office. For me it could not get more convenient. It is also located close to the railway station, so if you have to hop on to one of the super fast trains to beijing this is a good hotel to be in. I had no issues with the food, the service and the comfort in the rooms. A good place to stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier R, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Tianjin, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear sak015,

Thank you for your comments, it is good to know that hotel Nikko Tianjin is convenient for you and that you are a satisfied guest.
On behalf of our team, I appreciate you choosing to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Nikko is perfectly located at the main intersection of the subway lines in Tianjin, just over a nice shopping mall and next to the main european churc. Rooms are very big and the views spectacular. The price is also interesting!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier R, General Manager at Hotel Nikko Tianjin, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear quattromonti,

Thank you for your review. Yes indeed, our location in the central business district is both convenient and spectacular. I appreciate you pointing it out and for sharing your overall satisfaction. We look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie anywhere ...
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We came to Tianjin to visit family, friends, and have dental treatment at the dental hospital one stop away (door to door only 8 min). We chose this hotel because of the easy access from the subway - third stop from main railway station. It’s an easy walk to many attractions like the '5 great avenues', central city, major shopping street (both new & old), and night market.

We stayed here twice recently in different room types, over several days. We were very happy with room size, facilities, and comfort. We found all the staff friendly and helpful. Even though the area is very busy, the rooms on both sides of the hotel were quiet. The new construction mentioned in another review is almost complete. We always found taxis waiting at the nearby corner when we need them. There is a supermarket in the Isetan department store basement diagonally opposite, plus several convenience stores nearby.

Watch out for the unreasonable internet cost if not included in your room rate. It worked pretty well, via the LAN as we used it. We did not use any of the hotel restaurants or other hotel facilities.

A note on subway access: Directions to the hotel are not clear, and trip advisor & google maps do not show the hotel position accurately. Exit B3 was easiest, coming in to the basement food court of the mall. Up the escalators and across passing the department store service desk, turn left and a side door into the hotel lobby. C1 also came into the food level, but was more convoluted coming from subway line 3.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I don't think there's anything outstanding about this hotel but it seems to cater fairly well for guests and benefits from being attached to a mall with shopping and eating facilities as well as the subway station that links to the main railway station. I'm another one of those fortunate customers who've been up on the executive floors and so haven't had to pay extra for Internet access. However, this is not very clearly explained and I have to say I'd feel put out if I had to stay in a room without free access in a hotel of this standing.
I've used the pool a couple of times and although it's not terribly big it is adequate providing there's no more than half a dozen people in it. I found it pleasant enough and was impressed by the sauna and jacuzzi area adjacent to the changing rooms simply because everything was working and up to the appropriate temperatures. I actually found the pool a tad cool by comparison.
The rooms I've had have been fine and the inclusion of real coffee and a coffee-maker is a nice touch, even if the product itself is nothing special. Breakfast on the 7th floor is fine, a reasonably good selection of western and Asian fayre, and check-in/out has been quite smooth. Overall, above average but not extraordinary.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hard to beat the location of the Nikko in Tianjin, but spent a lot of time at the Westin down the road and would go there on returning to Tianjin. The rooms are fine but I found the restaurants to be mediocre, particularly the breakfast. Oftentimes it was hard to flag down a taxi as well, which was surprising considering how central the hotel is. All the staff were professional and friendly, with English widely spoken, and that was the best part of the hotel. There is nothing wrong with this hotel, just nothing amazing about it either.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

By some stroke of luck, I managed to get a room on the "executive" floors (21 and 22). It has its own lounge that does a limited breakfast, canapes and drinks and has a lovely reading area. It was really relaxing up there. Level 7 has a bigger breakfast spread though (you can go to both).

The room was wonderfully large with a really spacious bathroom including tub and shower. The bed was really comfortable and soft. The room had a safe, ironing board and iron, desk with office supplies (a nice touch!), in-room wifi, minibar with fridge. LCD panels for the lights were pretty awesome too! Lovely bathrobes and silk robes to lounge around in too. :)

I had great wifi access and speed on my floor, other colleagues said they had to pay extra, so it may be worth it to upgrade if you need it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Nikko Tianjin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Tianjin

Address: No.189 Nanjing Road, Heping District, Tianjin 300051, China
Location: China > Tianjin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Tianjin
#14 Business Hotel in Tianjin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Tianjin
#52 Best Value Hotel in Tianjin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Nikko Tianjin 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Nikko Tianjin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Hotel Tianjin
Tianjin Nikko Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nikko Tianjin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.