We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wall at Huangya Pass (Huangyaguan Changcheng)

Great Wall at Huangya Pass (Huangyaguan Changcheng)
Jixian County, Tianjin, China
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 276 attractions in Tianjin
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Less known to foreigners, another section of the Great Wall also has a Museum, the Beiji Temple, and Bagua City with the Bagua Labyrinth.
Tianjin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I will agree with most of the other reviews, though I will have to warn you new comers. the "city/town" is the trap!! stay away from them!! They will charge you 10 times the amount that the regular price is. Keep a Chinese guide with you at all times as this is a tourist trap! Yes, it is a beautiful and historic spot to witness, and there are some difficult steps to go on. If you are in a wheelchair, sorry, not friendly. There are many stairs both up and down, so great exersize! though if you have any condition that may hinder that experience, please let someone or family member help. And from experience, banging up and down stairs, took a toll on the family, as well as my mode of transportaion. Other than that, Have a great time at that part of the wall!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    26
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quiet section of wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I visited this section of the wall in August. It was very isolated - I probably saw no more than 3 groups when I went that after afternoon- which is a really good thing compared to the huge crowds you get at Badaling and Mutianyu. Some parts of the wall were pretty steep and precarious. The drive there from Tianjin City is pretty scenic as well. Nice!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful part of wall - restored”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

a good circuit that is just the right length. Interesting Buddhist temples and gardens and maze near the carpark

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osoyoos, BC Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Not for the elderly or infirm. Very impressive to see that they could have build this wall so many centuries ago. The tourist part has been very well kept up, most of the actual wall is coming apart. The stairs at the Huangya Pass are very uneven, some 6 inches high, others 18 inches high. Beautiful scenery, you can see the rest of the wall over the hills and valleys.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very isolated but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I went to visit this amazing part of the great wall. I was a bit lonely because it was very freezing day. Anyway, it worth the visit just to say I have been there.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Wall at Huangya Pass (Huangyaguan Changcheng) also viewed

 

Been to Great Wall at Huangya Pass (Huangyaguan Changcheng)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wall at Huangya Pass (Huangyaguan Changcheng), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Great Wall at Huangya Pass (Huangyaguan Changcheng) to your Saves list