We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best hotel I have stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tianjin TEDA Convention Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Tianjin TEDA Convention Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Tianjin TEDA Convention Centre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.29 Second Avenue, Economic and Technology Development Zone, Binhai New Area, Tianjin 300457, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #17 of 1,010 Hotels in Tianjin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Probably the best hotel I have stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I am not the most travelled of people, so i cannot say that this is the best hotel in the world, but for me it was without equal, at least of all those I have stayed in.

Situated in the Tianjin Economic Development Area (TEDA), and part of a larger convention complex, this is part of the large Marriott Chain.

I spent some four night here, and thoroughly enjoyed every minute, from the moment we stepped out of the taxi from the airport, until we were ushered back into another of the city's exciting taxis.

we were welcomed at the desk, tired after some 18 hours travelling, with a glass of green tea, and the book in process could not have been simpler.

The room was very well appointed, the largest bed I have ever seen was the main point, but the room also had a very large desk, an ethernet cable, a large TV and a large bathroom with splendid shower, which was very welcome after our long journey.

The hotel features a good restaurant, in which we breakfasted each day, and ate in most evenings. The food was a good mix of western and oriental food, with breakfast having something for people from all corners of the world. We would the food to be of a high standard, and for dinner always chose the buffet option, which was mainly oriental in nature, but excellent.

We did meet the hotel manager, who made sure all was fine with us, assuring us of the attention to detail that had been put into the hotel recently. Mr Emery spoke to all guests as far as I could see, and remembered my party when encountered on another day, asking if our trip had been a success.

The only downside was that service at the bar was a little slow at times, but enabled us to enjoy the decor and people watch.

It is worth noting that although the hotel is in Tianjin, it is a half hour taxi ride to downtown Tianjin, and getting a taxi to come back the other way can be problematic. TEDA is mainly a business and industrial area, and that many of the tourist attractions nearby can be reached via a taxi ride, which is reasonable and the hotel staff can organise. TEDA itself is not pretty to be honest, and much of TEDA can be obscured by poor air quality at times.

All in all, a wonderful hotel in which to relax after the journey or a day of business.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas E, General Manager at Renaissance Tianjin TEDA Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your gracious comments! I try to set the example for our team and spend as much time with guests as possible. However, we continue to build our team so that everyone can provide the same level of welcome. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    136
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
3
10
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I just had one night at this hotel so I didn't get a chance to experience anything except for the room. But it was very nice, clean and comfortable. Also, the service was excellent. I had a good view of the city and I would definitely stay there again if I ever go back toTEDA.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas E, General Manager at Renaissance Tianjin TEDA Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
I really appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Feedback is always very useful and helps motivate our team and also for us to continue to improve. Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stay here regularly. In 2008 it was reasonably new and pretty well perfect. But with the passage of time, it still looks glitzy when you enter, and the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, but the rooms have not aged so well. The furniture is showing wear and tear and the air conditioning control is just there for effect, I'm sure because the temp stays the same, normally too hot, no matter the setting. But I keep going back because the bed is wonderfully comfortable, the staff, everyone of them from the woman who services your room to the general manager genuinely aims to make you feel like a special and welcome guest. If only they would be more assertive with the smokers in the non-smoking places.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas E, General Manager at Renaissance Tianjin TEDA Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thanks very much fo taking the time to let me have your comments. I apologise for thre lateness of my reply due to leave from the hotel. We also appreciate when a guest lets us have comments that can heo motiviate us as well as "teach us" something, and please be sure I will fully share your information with the team. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I would stay at this hotel again and again.
Reception staff speak excellent English
Room was spotless
Everything in the room was in great condition and worked
Bed was great
Wifi was very strong
Great location

Room Tip: Any room is a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, IL
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed here right after being at the fabulous Northeast Marriott Hotel in Beijing so this was a bit of a letdown. The hotel is comfortable with a decent room, but very plain.

The executive lounge is self service with just a few options for food and beverages.

Location is good since it's close to the businesses at TEDA. Did not try the restaurant since my collegues took us to the Sheraton for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Very good!! There are many things to do there and The hotel is very beautiful. The place is near a good restaurants, supermarket ans mall. The people there is very smart. The bedroom is very big and confortable

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas E, General Manager at Renaissance Tianjin TEDA Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you very for your kind comments. While we always look to improve and move our standards forward, it is great to receive positive feedback and your personal impressions.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed here for a week long business trip. Hotel and rooms are good. The gym is typical for a hotel, but the indoor lap pool is great. It also features a great locker room with sauna and steam room. Several good restaurants near by and close to the train to downtown (about an hour ride).

The lounge has great food and happy hour (5:30PM). There is also a conference room you can use which we took advantage of.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas E, General Manager at Renaissance Tianjin TEDA Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments about our hotel. The team will be very pleased. While we always aim for top scores, we appreciate your time in letting us know how you felt about your visit and hope you will be back with us again soon.

Best regards and thanks again, Nicholas Emery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Tianjin TEDA Convention Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tianjin TEDA Convention Centre Hotel

Address: No.29 Second Avenue, Economic and Technology Development Zone, Binhai New Area, Tianjin 300457, China
Location: China > Tianjin Region > Tianjin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Tianjin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Tianjin
#59 Best Value Hotel in Tianjin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tianjin TEDA Convention Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 543
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Marriott so you can book your Renaissance Tianjin TEDA Convention Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tianjin
China Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Tianjin TEDA Convention Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.