We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Crystal Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crystal Palace Hotel
No.28 Youyi Road, Hexi District, Tianjin 300061, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 949 hotels in Tianjin
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel by the Lake. Central at the high end District of Tianjin. Convenient n nearby major shopping mall. Rate very reasonable. Room very clean n serve very good breakfast. Value for money. Room has a very nice Lake view. I particularly like the chandelier. Hugh n made of crystals. Nice hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    102
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
5
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
GLoucester
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as it was where our son and daughter in law had their wedding reception. The hotel is on the side of a lake and makes for a very picturesque location.

The accomodation was very comfortable as was the bed. The food for breakfast was good and the food we had at the reception was excellent. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a venue for a special occassion.

There is a large indoor swimming pool and hot baths, but NOTE TO MANAGEMENT get rid of the mold on the swimming pool ceiling, its not healthy and spoils what would otherwise be a great facility.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I agree there are better place to stay in tianjin. i guess this place caters all your needs and its a Value for money. nice ambience only i thing i hate was the lockers are not that good i kept my wallet and it actually didn't opened after entering right combination. Finally it worked i was really scared. Overall it was nice experience

Room Tip: Higher rooms for Better View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I read the reviews here before staying, I was booked into there by my client so decided to stay so they dont lose face. For the things that have got better from other previous reviews, the breakfast coffee is now great. For the good things that stay the same, the hotel is clean and the room service meal was great and the hotel price was good. For the things that you should be aware of, don't expect any fanfare when you arrive at check in, the receptionists are a very sullen looking lot, definitely no western training on reception skills. And the bell boys and their taxi hailing, make sure you allow a lot of time if you want them to hail a taxi, because at first they will try to offer the 'hotel taxis' at 3X the price, then when you refuse they dont try too hard to get anythng else. Hence my post today. Oh and yes, traditional Chinese hard beds

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Que
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Nice room, clean ad quiet. Breakfast is vast although had to look for the eggs! The one issue as the WiFi was coming and going. Seemed to shift from one server to another, sometimes absent altoghether. But overall, for 450RmB, definitely a deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Was staying here on a Businesstrip since I was working 5min walk away. Service is so-so, always issues with english, doorboy wont open the door, taximan wont find a taxi, concierge doesnt know anything, coffee at breakfast tasts like instant, in the room is a no-smoking-sign next to the ashtray, well...all the typical things you always have in local hotels. The rooms were clean and quite though. It was not all bad but I wont go there again...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The hotel is fine, it is comparable to a three star in the United States. It's not especially clean, but you are in China. Perhaps it's improved. The restaurants are really quite good although the prices are high. Go for the Hyatt or the St. Regis downtown. Lots and lots and lots of Japanese businessmen with their Chinese "girlfriends", if you know what I mean. They do a wonderful decoration for Christmas. Remember that this review is from 2004 and believe me, once I left this hotel for my Chinese apartment, I never returned. Not once.

Room Tip: If you take a waterfront room during Chinese New Year or Christmas, you will get a wonderful treat o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Palace Hotel

Address: No.28 Youyi Road, Hexi District, Tianjin 300061, China
Location: China > Tianjin Region > Tianjin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in Tianjin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip DaoDao, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Crystal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Palace Tianjin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.