We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not take a room towards the road” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.314 Jiefang South Road, Hexi District, Tianjin 300202, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 950 Hotels in Tianjin
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Do not take a room towards the road”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

As I often travel to Beijing for a weekend, I wanted to try this new hotel.

As it is new it is not easy to find by taxi driver, better prepare a printed map. It is a bit further away from main attractions and the city center. The neighbourhood is nothing special and not worth walking around.

The hotel itself consist of 9 buildings in old style which makes a nice atmosphere. As it is only opened since 6 months everything is clean and working. The service was very good and friendly. It also has a pool which is worthwhile relaxing at. We did not try the bar but it looked nice and had live music with two guitar players.

The room had the movie style and as it was deluxe it was nice and big. But now the downside which spoiled the entire stay. The room was towards the main road. We came back late at night to experience that there were heavy trucks driving all night in front of our room. It took us a longtime to get asleep. We heard the heavy trucks drive currently all night as there is a construction site nearby. As we checked out we got the usual, next time we will give You a different room.... But my expectation to Indigo is different, get it right the first time! If You know that every night night there will be heavy trucks driving currently, just do not sell the room. No customer will be nhappy if there is no rom available but customer will certainly be unhappy if they do not have a good rest.

Room Tip: Take a room to the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoTJ, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Xiao P, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding
your recent stay with us at Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe.
Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience caused. Your comments about the heavy trucks driving all night in front of your room has been documented and will certainly be looked into, ensuring that we provide all our guests with an excellent experience.
We hope this would not deter you from choosing hotel indigo tianjin haihe again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
2
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights early June, a nice hotel but make no mistake is not the Indigo Shanghai!

The hotel is unique separated Villas but all connected from the basement/underground floor. design of public areas and rooms is nice very chic modern w. Chinese elements incorporated, both guest rooms and public areas (not enough desk light , however difficult using it for work) room amenities are very good and of high standard , shower, body lotion etc. so far so good.

It's different if it comes to the soft ware, service in the restaurants is very , very slow, English level is below hospitality standard of China which is already low, now you imagine !, they try hard and want to be helpful it's just the training is missing. Breakfast buffet , is not worth the money , likely it was included in our room package, its very poor even for Chinese standards , the sausage served to my wife were not even cooked. So lots of work needed to bring the f&b quality up to standard , also variety of breakfast items is very limited. They have a so called German Pub , which is nice 2 floors & outside terrace, nice concept rather quiet not may guest, guess this place it's to early for Tianjin, could have better music!

I didn't use the spa but did use the gym, which is very poorly equipped 3 cardiovascular machines , a few medicine balls , and free weights for kids (up to 4 kg) use only, no other machines at all ?? for a new lifestyle hotel it's do bad to be true.

Would I use the hotel again , no not really , main reason not to chose this hotel would be the failure to deliver a good gym. I can forgive the service /poor English level & rather poor f&b normally never eat at hotels where I stay .

Tianjin is after all not Shanghai which is still the bench mark in China !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoTJ, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear ShanghaiCityman,
Thank you for sharing the experience of your stay at Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe.
Feedback like yours is very valuable to us and enables us to monitor our standards, which on this occasion regretfully has failed to meet your expectations. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience our service may have caused you. Your comments about the service standard, breakfast buffet and hotel facilities has been documented and will certainly be looked into. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. by the way we are

We would like to respond to you personally, could you please send us your email address and telephone details to indigo.tianjin@ihg.com? We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again.Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

If you dont have the budget for the renaissance lakeview hotel stay here as it is really the 2nd best option in Tianjin I found so far. All new, rooms are beautiful huge and have a great design. Japanese Toilet style with heated seats good fun. All more family like hotel very cosy and super modern style. loved it too

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoTJ, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear bumsii,
Thank you for selecting to stay with Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe and many thanks for your valuable review. We are glad to hear that you like our spacious guest room and fresh design. Our guestrooms started at a generous 45 sqm and are designed in three distinctive styles: Old Cinema, Maritime Riverfront and European Flair. Some of the rooms feature balconies or bay windows overlooking the private courtyard gardens. We are expecting your next visit in the near future to explore more about indigo! Be Well and Good Luck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This property is amazing and one of the best hotel i ever stayed. With the unique architecture and design, this hotel charms everyone of us. The service and facilities were great, bed was super comfy, clean and the room size is huge, bathroom is excellent. My friends and i had tea time in the Albert's and it was nice, relaxing and the food was delicious. At night we got the bar for our self with the acoustic performance. After my stays the sales manager texted me and thank us for the visits. This hotel sets some unbeatable standard andI could not say much more but recommend this hotel !

Room Tip: Choose the one facing the plaza. There are some rooms with the bath tube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoTJ, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Daniel Vince G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our service and facilities made your stay experience morememorable. We will continue to strive in delivering quality and inspired services, allowing our guests' to indulge in the best they deserve.

Once again, we look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I come to Tianjin frequently and i had the chance to stay at the Hotel Indigo. I have heard of the new Intercontinental Group hotel brand and the fact it is based on a boutique style. Well this property is the top of boutique..!!! The building is an old German establishment from the previous occupation on Tianjin and completely renovaded and build up to a luxury hotel property.

From the Lobby to the inner courtyard and the rooms or restaurant/bar. It breaths character and style that is so unique it is hard to describe even. It has to be seen in person and you will catch yourself noticing new details and elements each time you walk through.

The service staff was very helpful and guide you to thr room so you dont get lost. Each building as the hotel exists out of several building, has it's own unique design. The restaurant / bar is very German and has much character as well. Too bad there are no guests inside as that would make the place come to life.

Location is not too bad but not great either. Luckily door staff is helpful on the service of getting taxies and a great detail i never seen before was the fact that during the sand storm during my trip, the staff gave face masks to all the guests as consideration of their well being. Very nice detail I must say...

Overal an unique stay and truly a stay to remember... Please try this hotel when you visit town and avoid places as know as Westin, St. Regis or Renaissance but give this hotel your choice as it truly will not dissapoint...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoTJ, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Dutchtraveller007,

Thank you very much for your feedback and we are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and you thought hotel indigo tianjin haihe is one of the most unique stays you have had. Your encouraging review will help us constantly improve our quality even further as we hope to exceed over and beyond our guest expectations. Thank you! We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Although I was staying at another property during my risent visit in Tianjin, during my last day waiting on the flight I schooped around and visited Hotel Indigo Tianjin for an quick bite.
Upon my arrival the hotel looked a bit empty but when I reached the 2nd floor at Albert's I was imidiatly supprised.
The staff welcomed me and greeted me as an old friend, relexed almost as I came home ambinace really differentiate the style of service in this hotel.
The food was great but most of all I was suppriced about their coffee service. I am working in coffee whole trade industry for many years and I never had an expririance anything like this. The staff explained me what they call a neighbourhood story about the coffee origen and where the beans come from and where their are roasted, about their impressive coffee machine and the tehnique she used to prepere my perfectly balanced dubble espresso.
Next time I have to visit Tianjin, I will stay at the property and hope to experiance as good service with overall hotel stay as they do with their Alberts cafe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoTJ, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Michel T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our coffee service and our staff's patience to explain neighbourhood story. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is a charmingly designed, architecturally interesting and quirky hotel, which has many things going for it, as well as the undoubted excellence of its leisure facilities, one of the best pools I have ever seen and a state of the art gym. The meeting and conference facilities are also top hole and complimentary Wi-Fi is provided all over the hotel.

The room which I was allotted was undoubtedly one of the largest I have ever seen in a modern hotel; it had a living area, a large bedroom, a walk in wardrobe/dressing room and an excellent and stylishly equipped bathroom. This establishment is obviously aimed at the ‘boutique’ market and is part of IHG’s effort to break into this highly profitable sector.

There is no doubt that a lot of thought and design effort has gone into this hotel and it has almost got it right; just a few teething troubles to be ironed out. As usual however, it is the management of staff and their training, which lets it down. Is it something to do with being in China? Surely, it is not too much to ask that a decent cup of tea should be served at breakfast, or that food should arrive at table hot, not freezing cold, as were my poached eggs.

Well done IHG for giving us something out of the ordinary in China. The Indigo brand is a new and viable alternative to the bog standard, characterless, universal hotel room, the same boring formula, no matter where one happens to be in the world. Please IHG, now make the quantum leap, to providing excellent managers and competent staff, who know how to serve guests from the four corners of the world and not just the various regions of China.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoTJ, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Philip B,
Neighbourhood Greetings from Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe.
Thank you for reviewing Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe on Tripadvisor. Your positive review certainly goes a long way in helping to promote our hotel to guests, both in China and around the world. Once again, thank you for selecting Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe. We look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future. Very best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe

Address: No.314 Jiefang South Road, Hexi District, Tianjin 300202, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Tianjin Region > Tianjin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 950 Hotels in Tianjin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Ctrip DaoDao, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Tianjin Haihe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.