We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Hotel, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 105 Jianshe Road, Heping District, Tianjin 300042, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #35 of 949 Hotels in Tianjin
Jinan, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Old Hotel, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed on the Executive Floor, and the staff were very friendly. Though the room was a bit tired, but cleaner compared with others I stayed. Good location as well, easy access to the underground, and also plenty places to eat just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance T, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for staying at Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel! Your comments are greatly appreciated. Our hotel is located in Xiaobailou CBD, one-minute walk from the metro station. There are many featured restaurants around the hotel, and also some shopping malls. Looking forward to your next arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    157
    45
    14
    4
See reviews for
2
8
11
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 10 days, front desk staff friendly & helpful during check out and during our stay. Rooms are small and dirty, the dust and dirt on the carpet under the desk and around the room was quite gross. We called for them to vacuum and they did. The entire hotel needs new carpet, tons of stains through out make it feel dirty, stinky and old. The cleaning staff were annoying at times when they would ring door bell repeatedly when the " do not disturb" sign was on the door only to ask if we had dirty laundry for them. Elevators need repair- they dont have sensors and close on you when you go to walk in. The location is great, right next to street with several restaurants, pubs, Starbucks, subway and shopping malls close by. Breakfast in morning was mediocre, the food never changed. We attempted to get ice cream at the restauaunt once but after waiting 35 minutes and the waiter disappearing, we left.

We wouldn't stay here again, other then location, there are better options.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance T, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks for staying at Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel! We’re sorry to see that you had a challenged stay here. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We will work more on staff training. The hotel is greatly located , with easy transportation, and we hope it benefited you. Looking forward to your next arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at the Renaissance Tianjin, Downtown Hotel for only 4 nights.
While waiting for my executive apartment to be made ready (see another of my reviews)
My check in was excellent. I was met in the hotel lobby and escorted to my room, where I was checked in with a hot green tea.
All the staff I met in the hotel, new my name and were extremely pleasant and polite.
The buffet restaurant was not good, the food selection was average, services(even though polite) was very slow.
The club lounge was small and have a selection of food and beverage to match. However, the quality was very good.
It was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance T, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay at Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel! Your comments are greatly appreciated. We’re trying to improve ourselves. Looking forward to your next arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed there on a recent business trip. Hassle free check in/out. Staff are friendly. Given a room on the high floor. Room needs a revamp but still comfortable. WIFI and lan connection is fast and stable as I require this every night to work in room. I had my meals a few times at the cafe and I find that the food is very salty.
Location is good. Cinema, fast food chain, restaurants and shopping centres are conveniently located around the hotel. Take a walk up the Haihe river which is near to hotel, you will come across the different types of architectures, bridges, river fishing and Tianjin Eye.
Overall it's a good stay but the only thing I find irritating is that the toilet bowl give a loud "tud" when you flush it and the noise from the water running tab is a bit noisy. You can hear this clearly in the middle of the night when your neighbour next door comes back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance T, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel. We’re pleased to see that you liked your stay. Your comments are greatly appreciated. Looking forward to your next arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel was great but the service I found at the reception on 9 Apr 2013 was at best average. Although the staff was sufficiently polite and after some time managed to locate my reservation for one night, it appears the front desk lacks sufficient staffing, as there was a queue of individual travelers all looking fairly inpatient to have to wait more than 15 minutes simply to check in. To make matters worse there were apparently no queue line markers if indeed the intention was to have guests queuing to check in.
To make it easier for the staff doing the check in, I decided not to burden her to check for my loyalty card number for the hotel (which I joined due to the excellent service I received in Renaissance Beijing) as I had forgotten to mention the card number during my reservation. I have experienced better service at other Renaissance Hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance T, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for staying in Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We will enforce the staff training to let guests experience better service. Looking forward to your next arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stay here for one night for business and the location was great and service was good. Arrived at hotel early and was upgraded to a suite.

The good:
- Loation is great with everything within walking distance
- THe suit was large with living room and bed room
- Safe in room

The not so good:
- The hotel is on the older side but still good.


I will come back to the hotel because of the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance T, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for staying in Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel! We really appreciate your likeness of our location and rooms. Looking forward to your next arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I had the most pleasant stay ath the club floor, where the rooms are tidy and well kept. The lounge service (on 38th floor) includes breakfast, coctails, light dinner and above all pleasant and well serving staff. Club rooms are comfortable and quiet.

Only thing that was not too pleasant was the airconditioning. The heating unit in the room was only be able to blow heat into the room. The cool-setting did not work, due to winter time. I also had to keep the window open to keep the room to manageable temperature.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renaissance T, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for staying in Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel. We’re glad that you liked the club floor and the lounge service. We’re sorry about the air-conditioner which has been improved. Looking forward to your next arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel

Address: No. 105 Jianshe Road, Heping District, Tianjin 300042, China
Location: China > Tianjin Region > Tianjin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Tianjin
#53 Best Value Hotel in Tianjin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Ctrip DaoDao, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tianjin
Tianjin Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Tianjin Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.