We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.33 Taier Zhuang Road, Heping District, Tianjin 300040, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 1,011 Hotels in Tianjin
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Astor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very boutique, historic hotel in the former financial street of Tianjin.Rooms are large with extreme large and nice bathroom with TV. Service is good. Have a very historical bar, skylight garden serving afternoon tea. President Hoover lived here for 5 years and had the wedding here.

Room Tip: room are large, those with window to the river may be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Landschaft2005,

Thank you very much for your stay at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel and share your experience with us!
Life is a collection of experience, I am so glad to see that you like the hotel historical theme, large room, high-end level facilities, good service and environment. My team will put more effort for maintaining the historical heritage and keep elevating hotel service.
Please so kind to let us know if there is anything we can be assistance by enail me at Christian.metzner@luxurycollection.com, I will make sure you are well taken care.

Best Regards!
Christian Metzner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    105
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
13
44
18
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Its that good for a reason, everything is beautiful, the exterior, interior, rooms. Nothing left to spare, make sure you get a room done up in the "old" style.

Bed was a little creaky, I think thats just because it was that old and authentic.

The food was excellent, located right on the river, at night the building looks spectacular.

The Museum is interesting as well, having the oldest elevator in China.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear 1world1eye,
Thank you very much for your staying at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin. We are so horned to have you here sharing your excellent with all the travelers.
Life is a collection of experiences, we are so gald to see that you enjoyed in a historical theme hotel & museum and enjoy the food. We will look after the bed and try to fix it in the condition of not affect its historical feature.
We hope we can welcome you back at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin in a not long distant future.
Best Regards!
Christian Metzner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
170 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

On arrival, we requested to look at both types of rooms in the new wing and the old wing and we decided to take up the room in the new wing with the river view. Room is well designed with two queen size beds and a large bathroom with a television screen in front of the bathtub. Victoria Lounge is well decorated as the hotel is celebrating its 150th anniversay this year. Guests are given complimentary tickets to the museum in the hotel and there was much to see and learnt about the history of Hotel Astor and Tianjin. Earlier on in the morning we went to the famous Five Avenues and had the good fortune to hire a taxi for RMB 80 which included a guided tour. Having learnt so much from the driver, it made our visit to the museum more interesting.
After the museum visit, we also walked around the old wing and saw the original old entrance and lobby area.
Across the Astor Hotel is the pedestrian walk along the Haihe river which can lead all the way to the ferris wheel ( about 45 mins to an hour walk). The railway station is about 20 mins walk away. it is also possible to reach the famous shopping pedestrian mall at Heping Road where there are Parkson and Walmart. Taxi ride from here back to hotel is about RMB 13. It is very convenient to get around by taxi here as the flag down rate is RMB 8 unlike in Beijing which costs RMB 13.

The surrounding areas of Hotel Astor definitely shows much western influence. One could even imagine that you are on the streets in Europe as the streets are wide and tree-lined.

Service during breakfast however lag behind those shown in Crowne Plaza Lijiang where the staff are so proactive and friendly. Front desk staff are generally friendly and helpful except for one more mature staff.
I would strongly recommmend a stay in Hotel Astor while in Tianjin for its history, lovely rooms and location. Its cost is reasonable considering that this is an iconic hotel in Tianjin. I booked with travelchinaguide which includes its name and direction to get there in Mandarin in its hotel voucher.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Kim025Singapore,
Thank you very much for your stay at our hotel and share with us your great experience!
Life is a collection of experiences; I am so glad to see you enjoyed your stay and trip in Tianjin city. Thank you very much for your highly appreciation toward the hotel historical feature and contemporary facilities.
We are sorry regarding the not so positive service during breakfast and front office experience. We reemphasis to all assocates especially the restaurant and front office team for getting inline with Luxury Collection personalized service. We belive we can deliver you the perfect experience in a not long distant future upon your next stay.
Please feel free to let me know if there is anything I can assit and email to me christian.metzner@luxurycollection.com, I will reply to you back as soon as I can.
Best Regards!
Christian Metzner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I booked two rooms in this hotel, one for my parents and another for myself and my fiance. I was floored by the quality of this hotel, from the historic lobby and lounge area to the expansive rooms. This is not a cheap hotel by any means but during the cold winter low season it was very reasonably priced for the high quality level service and amenities you get.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Raymond,
Thank you very much for you and your family stay at our hotel during last witer and share your splendid experience with us.
Hotel has been established since 1863, and was redecorated in 2009 according to the original structure and placed all luxurious facilities and amenities in room and public area. It became the first Luxury Collection hotel in China. We are delivering the indigenous destination and exclusive service to all our valued guests. We are so glad to know that you and your family enjoyed the stay.
Thank you very much for your highly appreciation and recommendation. Our team will keep on deliver consistant luxury collection personalized service.
Hope we can welcome you and your family at The Astor Hotel, A Luxuxry Collection Hotel in a not long distant future.
Best Regards!

Christian Metzner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Being a high mileage traveller, I don't enjoy enjoy business hotels as much as I did during my early travel days. These days, I much prefer B&B, home stays and special / themed lodging etc. The Astor is a special hotel, full of history and the ambience in the old wing takes you back in time. I have never seen so many guests taking pictures in a hotel -- and indeed the hotel provides some excellent settings if you are a camera buff. Our room had a canopy bed, the floor had old hardwood with just the right amount of wear and squeak sound to take us back in time. Aside from what's inside the hotel (ambience, history) the outside is equally historical with the famous bank street just behind it, where hundreds of off shore banks had set up shop during the days when the 8 western powers had made Tianjin an open City. In fact, this hotel and the bank street and the old Italian neighborhood is a reason in itself to visit Tianjin. I made a reservation for a return visit at time of departure to bring my wife over for a visit as well.

Room Tip: Insist on staying in the old wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Mirza,
Thank you very much for your stay at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin!
Life is a collection of experiences, we are glad to see that the stay at Astor Hotel is meaningful and memorable for you as a mileage traveler. We are appreciate that you treasure everywhere of the hotel.
We are as a team trying our best to deliver the best service and quality to all our values guests. Please feel free to contact me via email to Christian.metzner@luxurycollection.com for anything we can assist you!
I hope we can welcome you at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel in a not long distant future.
Best Regards!
Christian Metzner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have stayed in almost all the luxury hotels in Tianjin and this is the only one I will stay in the future. I have stayed in this hotel many times over the past decade and over two weeks this time (two separate stays). The hotel is celebrating its 150 years anniversary, think about that! It is full of rich history, so many VIPs stayed here and so much has happened here. The celebrity photos in its museum reminds me of Hotel National in Moscow, another one of Sheraton hotel. The hardware can certainly benefit from upgrade but the staff are professional and try to help. Definitely worth a visit even if you stay in another hotel, as it is located on the financial district built over a hundred years ago, most of the buildings on the street are historical landmarks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Justin,
Thank you very much for your stay at our hotel and share your great experience with us.
Life is a collection of experiences, we are so glad to see that you enjoyed your travel in this historical hotel, thank you again for your highly appreciation of hotel’s atmosphere and service. It’s our honor having you staying and experiencing the great moment of 150th Anniversary. Hotel team was and is always delivering the best service and product for all our valued guests.
Please so kind to email me at Christian.metzner@luxurycollection.com if there is anything we can assist.
We also hope to welcome you soon at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel in a not long distant future.

Best regards!
Christian Metzner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel was opened in 1863 and completely restored to its original beauty in 2010. It has the first elevator in China and is the most historical hotel in town. It seamlessly combined old world charm with modern amenities and world class service.
The small pedestrian shopping area “Xiao Bai Lou” is only a five-minute walk from the hotel, and is a great place to explore historical buildings and dine at one of the many restaurants.
The conference room facilities are a bit old fashioned and may not meet the need of large scale conference.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Highlander2046,
Thank you very much for your stay at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin and conducted meeting here.
Life is a collection of experiences. We are glad to know that you enjoy your stay at our hotel with comfort conference facilities. Hotel is come to the stage of celebrating his 150 years anniversary one 19th July, 2013. It will be great if you could join us experiencing the historical moment.
Please let us know and contact me Christian.metzner@luxurycollection.com, if there is anything we can assist you.
Best Regards!
Christian Metzner
麦胜南
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: No.33 Taier Zhuang Road, Heping District, Tianjin 300040, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Tianjin Region > Tianjin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,011 Hotels in Tianjin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astor Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin, a central feature of the regeneration of Tianjin's historic centre, the heritage gem evokes the romance of a bygone era with all the contemporary luxuries of a world-class hotel. The Hotel overlooks the Hai River in the heart of the Heping financial district. Hotel features 152 elegantly appointed rooms and suites in both classic Victorian style and more contemporary elegance. All rooms are equipped with 42-inch LCD TVs, CD/mp3 sound stations, Lavazza Capsule coffee machine and high-speed Internet access. Hotel features five exciting dining and wining venues. ShuiAn serves an authentic Cantonese and local cuisines, while Cafe Majestic is an all-day-dining restaurant with 24-hour A-la-Carte menu. For the extraordinary European cuisine, head to 1863 Bistro & Terrace which has more than one hundred year culinary tradition. The Victorian Lounge offers a wide range of beverages and British High Tea. The Award-winning British Gentleman bar - O'Hara Bar is famous for single malt whisky, selected wines, feature cocktails and live jazz show. A total of 730 sqm of conference and meeting space includes the Buckingham Ballroom with a fine domed ceiling, and the Windsor Multi-Function Rooms. Over 700 square meters of space is dedicated to the hotel's own museum, a testament to The Astor Hotel's long heritage and pivotal role in Tianjin's development. The nearby pier, which is owned by the hotel, will be used as a jump-off point for river cruises. As a Luxury Collection Hotel, The Astor Hotel Tianjin provides a range of signature services, including 'Luggage Liaison', a suite of travel services including luggage storage and unpacking/packing services upon request, and 'News Paper Direct', a print-on-demand service for over 520 newspapers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Agoda, Odigeo, Splendia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.