We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best luxury hotel in City of Tianjin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.33 Taier Zhuang Road, Heping District, Tianjin 300040, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 909 hotels in Tianjin
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best luxury hotel in City of Tianjin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have stayed in almost all the luxury hotels in Tianjin and this is the only one I will stay in the future. I have stayed in this hotel many times over the past decade and over two weeks this time (two separate stays). The hotel is celebrating its 150 years anniversary, think about that! It is full of rich history, so many VIPs stayed here and so much has happened here. The celebrity photos in its museum reminds me of Hotel National in Moscow, another one of Sheraton hotel. The hardware can certainly benefit from upgrade but the staff are professional and try to help. Definitely worth a visit even if you stay in another hotel, as it is located on the financial district built over a hundred years ago, most of the buildings on the street are historical landmarks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Justin,
Thank you very much for your stay at our hotel and share your great experience with us.
Life is a collection of experiences, we are so glad to see that you enjoyed your travel in this historical hotel, thank you again for your highly appreciation of hotel’s atmosphere and service. It’s our honor having you staying and experiencing the great moment of 150th Anniversary. Hotel team was and is always delivering the best service and product for all our valued guests.
Please so kind to email me at Christian.metzner@luxurycollection.com if there is anything we can assist.
We also hope to welcome you soon at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel in a not long distant future.

Best regards!
Christian Metzner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    96
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
11
37
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel was opened in 1863 and completely restored to its original beauty in 2010. It has the first elevator in China and is the most historical hotel in town. It seamlessly combined old world charm with modern amenities and world class service.
The small pedestrian shopping area “Xiao Bai Lou” is only a five-minute walk from the hotel, and is a great place to explore historical buildings and dine at one of the many restaurants.
The conference room facilities are a bit old fashioned and may not meet the need of large scale conference.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Highlander2046,
Thank you very much for your stay at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin and conducted meeting here.
Life is a collection of experiences. We are glad to know that you enjoy your stay at our hotel with comfort conference facilities. Hotel is come to the stage of celebrating his 150 years anniversary one 19th July, 2013. It will be great if you could join us experiencing the historical moment.
Please let us know and contact me Christian.metzner@luxurycollection.com, if there is anything we can assist you.
Best Regards!
Christian Metzner
麦胜南
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel was a build on a building aged from the 18th century. Very well maintained indeed. This is the most historical hotel in town I guess.the great thing about it is it combines the old touch with modern technology with great friendly staffs. The Victoria lounge is a scenic lounge makes you feel you are not in China.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Sunderaj N,

Greeting from The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin!
Thank you very much for your stay our hotel and share your experience with us.
Life is a collection of experience; we are happy to know you like the historical heritage and enjoy the stay with friendly service.
Please feel free to contact us and email to Christian.metzner@luxurycollection.com if there is anything I can be assistant.
Best Regards!

Christian Metzner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tianjin, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

In Tianjin, the deluxe hotel which is cozy and make you feel at home, could be The Astor Hotel. Beside Haihe River, you will get convenient transportation and good restaurants to enjoy here. For travellers who come to Tianjin, strongly recommend you here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Crazy C,

Greeting from The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin!
Thank you very much for your stay at our hotel and share your experience with all the travelers.
Life is a collection of experience, we are glad to see that you enjoyed hotel restaurants and environment. Thank you again for your strong recommendation! My team and I are inspired to put more effort on serving all our valued guests with Luxury Collection personalized service.
Hope we can welcome you at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin in a not long distant future.
Best Regards!

Christian Metzner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed in the old section of the hotel and we were truly impressed with the fact that the hotel had actually keep some real old features in the rooms not just fake old that is very much the norm in China. The floor had been kept in its original worn beauty, the rooms were huge and the furnishings spendid. The bathroom luxurious and large with a tv you could use in the bath. With breakfast included it was about $130pn. Not bad for a luxury collection!
The service was ok, not great, not bad. Getting a taxi was an issue on a rainy Saturday night, especially as the door man was more interested in chatted with the other staff than trying to get us a cab. But the reality is that trying to get to get a cab on any rainy night in Northern China is always a difficult and long process.
We ended up giving up on a cab and asked for some directions from the reception staff for somewhere within walking distance to eat. We specifically wanted to find one of the Gobuli dumpling places which were so well know in Tianjin. We were sent on our way with a restaurant name in Chinese and had we not been living in China would have given up and had room service. However we pressed on down the street to find the restaurant which matched the Chinese characters we had in hand and went in. This was not a Gobuli dumpling house, instead a very local place with no English menu and no one knowing a word of English. I really don't know what the girl on reception was thinking (perhaps not much at all - pretty standard really), however we pushed through the difficulties thanks to google translate and the local kids television host who was sitting next to us and kept showing us his dishes to which we gave a thumbs up or down to the waitress. The food was excellent once we got our order sorted and the place had a real fun family environment and by the end most of the cook staff and customers were either gathered around our table or having great looks from afar to see how we were doing. If you want to find this place turn right as you come out of the hotel, cross under the first big bridge you come to and stop where you find the chickens out the front in a cage (maybe not at the moment with the bird flu fiasco on going).
Back in the hotel the rooms were very quiet and the breakfast beautifully laid out in a sumptuous dining room. Check in check out was simple and the building is truly beautiful and nicely preserved.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the older rooms as they are huge and opulent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Helen,
Greeting from The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin!
Thank you for your stay at our hotel and share your experience via TripAdvisor. We are so glad that you like the hotel environment, room facilities and breakfast.
We are sorry for your not so smooth experience for outside dinning. We reemphasis doorman about hotel standard service for getting them well into serving our guest. At the same time, front office associates are improving to serve guest with a throughout communication and make sure our guest well understand. Hope the improvement will find you a better experience during next time.
Please so kind to let us know if there is anything we can be assistant to you by sending us email to Christian.metzner@luxurycollection.com. We are glad to offer our best to you.

Best Regards!

Christian Metzner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel really lives up to the "luxury collection" branding. Extremely spacious room, bathroom with TV in the wall near the tub, twin sinks, separate shower. Spacious dressing room. Big and comfy bed. Great advice from the concierge with regards to dining at the Italian district in Tianjin. Wish we could have spent more than one night here.
Well done Astor Hotel - thumbs up!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear CPH30,
Thank you very much for your stay at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin and once more sharing your experience with us.
Life is a collection of experience, we are so glad to know that you enjoy your stay and the dining experience in Italian Street. Thank you very much for your kindly praises. We will make sure to serve all the values guest with luxury collection personalized service and get guest enjoy every moment in Astor Hotel.
You are most welcome to visit hotel brand website www.luxurycollection.com/astor for more information.
We hope we can welcome you again at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel in a not long distant future.
Best Regards!
Christian Metzner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed here with my husband for a night in December, we are from the UK but live in Beijing, so it made for a nice break away.

What a wonderful hotel, a great piece of history, alongside the river, and everything you would expect from a luxury hotel.

Easy to get to most things from here.

Favourite bit? Having a drink in the bar at the end of the evening - being served by wonderful staff. Second favourite bit - lying in the bath watching the TV in the screen just by it!!

Very romantic break, would stay again - thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, General Manager at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Ms. HampshireGinger,
Warm greeting from The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin!
Thank you very much for you and your husband stay at our hotel for a romantic break. Life is a collection of experience, it’s happy to know you and your husband enjoy the evening moment in O’Hara Bar and relax in the bath room by watching TV.
Thank you very much for your strong recommendation and stay with us for next time. We will keep on effort to serve every valued guest the best experience of the life.
Hope we can welcome you back soon at The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tianjin.
Best Regards!
Christian Metzner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: No.33 Taier Zhuang Road, Heping District, Tianjin 300040, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Tianjin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 909 hotels in Tianjin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Astor Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.