We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset International Building Tianjin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Somerset International Building Tianjin to your Saves list
Somerset International Building Tianjin
4.5 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   No.75 Nanjing Road, Heping District, Tianjin 300050, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 949 Hotels in Tianjin
Shenzhen, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel was more than I expected, having booked online I was more than pleasantly surprised at the fornt desk staff, room, locatin and services,excellent thanks for great stay, excellent experience in Tianjin, I'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomersetTJ, Manager at Somerset International Building Tianjin, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Sara, thank you for your time and compliments. This will further motivate us to provide quality services to our guests. We hope to see you again soon. A big thank you from all of us here in Somerset International Building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
2
Solo
0
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Somerset for 7 nights and had a great time.
The location of this building is great. It’s about a 15min walk to the shopping district. The building is right on one of the busiest streets in Tianjin, so expect to hear some traffic noise.
We stayed in the one bedroom suite located on the 33rd floor. The view of the city from our room was absolutely fantastic.
There is a convinience store and a Starbucks right inside the Somerset building. Easy access to Starbucks made our jetlagged mornings a lot more tolerable.

Our room was spacious and fairly new looking, with plenty of built in storage space and closets. The bathroom was a good size. The deep soaking tub was a nice bonus after our 14hr flight. The full size kitchen comes with appliances, cookware, and utensils. They came in handy when we got tired of eating out during our stay.
The breakfast buffet had both western and Asian style food to choose from, but you do have to show up a bit early to take advantage of the better ones before they run out.

Some of the downsides:
Constant traffic noise from 7am to 11pm.
The hotel would not turn on the air conditioner before May 1st during our stay. It got fairly hot near the end of April, and we didn't want to open the windows on days where the air quality was poor.
As it is a Serviced Apartment, they did not have some of the typical hotel amenities such as spa, restaurant, or pool.

Overall, the hotel is excellent for its value, especially if you are looking for a "home away from home" experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomersetTJ, Manager at Somerset International Building Tianjin, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Maria, thank you for taking time to do this review. We are glad to have you staying with us. We sincerely apologise for the disturbances caused by the trafiic and the air conditioner, we have already commenced checking our windows to ensure they can be close tightly and also looking into ways to improve the air conditioner service in prepartions for the next spring. Once again, thank you for staying us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel is located very near to great shopping district along nanjin road. Very convenient. The metro station is about 5 minutes walk away. For first time visitors like us, we appreciate the advice and assistance from the reception staff. They are very helpful and professional indeed. The room is clean and spacious, and equipped with full kitchen equipments, even a large refrigerator and washer and ovens. The cleaners are also courteous thus making our stay very comfortable. The air quality was bad on one day, the staff are kind and attentive to inform us to bring mask and guiding us where to buy one.
Overall is a very good stay experience in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomersetTJ, Manager at Somerset International Building Tianjin, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your time in providing this review. It is our pleasure to have you staying with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

i have been staying somerset whenever i travel, and the last trip i had was in Tianjin.
the stay was beyong my expectations as the room is clean, the personnels are professional and friendly.
i enjoyed my stay very much especially when I met the GM at the lobby and he came forward to introduce himself to me and recommended some places of interest during my CNY holidays.

i would thank all the staff in Tianjin Somerset for making my stay a memorable one, especially the front desk ladies.

P.S. i notice most of Somerset i stayed before has security, however, Tianjin Somerset does not have one. i would like to suggest security as i am not sure of the safety in china.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We moved here after a brief stay at another Somerset property. We really enjoyed this apartment: Modern and well designed. Fantastic views. Good location. While I am not a big fan of Somerset's corporate office, the local management was quite good. I especially found the cleaning manager to be extremely professional and her staff did a nice job keeping the place up.Housekeeping was also very responsive to getting me the things that I needed, like a rice cooker, for my family's two month stay.

There was a nice children's playroom next to the workout area. Starbucks in the building lobby and a grocery and wine shop in the basement. Some good restaurants in the area. Very close to nice walks in the old British Concession.

It's a bit pricey, but I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomersetTJ, Manager at Somerset International Building Tianjin, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. Receiving your comments has made us very happy and proud. We will also reward the relevant staff for their good work. We constantly do our best to make our customers feel home in our 3 Somerset properties in Tianjin. We hope we can be at your service again in the near future. Thank you for your time and support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset International Building Tianjin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset International Building Tianjin

Address: No.75 Nanjing Road, Heping District, Tianjin 300050, China
Location: China > Tianjin Region > Tianjin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 949 Hotels in Tianjin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset International Building Tianjin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset International Building Tianjin is located in a mixed development comprising offices and retail complexes along the main commercial street in Tianjin’s Central Business District. The residence is easily accessible – just a 10-minute drive from Tianjin Railway Station and 25 minutes from Tianjin Binhai International Airport. A metro station is also within walking distance from the residence. With a variety of dining and entertainment options right at its doorstep, Somerset International Building Tianjin is the ideal place for those looking for the comfort and convenience of living in a modern residence. A perfect home for utives and their families, each residence is furnished in a warm, elegant style and features a spacious living and dining area, a fully-equipped kitchen and comes with high speed broadband access. A 24-hour security system also ensures a safe living environment for you and your family. Every apartment also boasts spectacular, unblocked views of Tianjins beautiful city skyline so you can rest and unwind in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Somerset International Building Tianjin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset International Building Tianjin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.