We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but watch your bill” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tianjin Lakeview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Tianjin Lakeview Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Tianjin Lakeview Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.16 Binshui Road, Hexi District, Tianjin 300061 , China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #15 of 1,006 Hotels in Tianjin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Guilford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice, but watch your bill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights in September. Traffic is wicked in Tianjin, so get a hotel as close to your intended business location as possible for easier access. We were mostly at the convention center which was about a 10 to 15 minute cab ride away. The hotel is just three years old and the property isn't worn yet, regardless of the quality of the construction. The floor plan surrounds a dramatic soaring open lobby topped by glass. They had performers in the lobby that echoed through all the rooms until they shut down. The rooms were large and the bed and pillows very comfortable. My smoke free room was completely smoke free. The gym was excellent; lots of cardio, free weights and weight machines. The buffet breakfast was vast, and delicious but expensive if not in the room rate. My only complaint is that upon check out, I noticed a "service charge" that they were hard pressed to explain but eventually stated it was a "surcharge" for a "lake view." Given that most of the rooms have a view of a modest lake next to the property, I was surprised by this, and never asked or was aware of it. They refused to take it off the bill. It was not a lot of money (about $20 per night) and I didn't have time to argue. And while I have had similar experiences in other Chinese hotels, it was a sneaky approach that I would not expect of a branded American hotel. If you are traveling between Beijing and Tianjin, take the train; very fast and very convenient.

Room Tip: The "lake view" is no big deal. The smog is so bad, the views don't matter much anyho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa Z, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Tianjin Lakeview Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
As a part of Marriott international we strongly believe in creating memorable guest experiences. With this in mind we guide our staff to be professional in their behavior and to focus on our guest’s needs. In this sense we appreciate and strongly value your perception of our hotel as a symbol of Tianjin’s legendary hospitality. Nevertheless we would like to apologize for the cold reception you may have encountered on behalf of a person in charge. We would greatly welcome the opportunity to further discuss the situation in order to ensure everyone’s satisfaction. Please contact Marcomm Team by 022 5822 3909 for further assistance. Thank you again for your feedback and we wish you a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    29
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
4
1
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Hotel is pretty new with clean and very big room. Best of all, it doesn't have the smell of smoke on the non smoking floor as that's what i found when i stayed at Renaissance TEDA earlier.

Buffet breakfast was good and choices were very unusual with a soyabean station and Korean rice option. They have a great fresh fruit selection and a made to order juicer! Servers at the restaurant can be more efficient and attentive but bearable experience.

Bathroom Amenities were good but surprised to find that they dont provide cotton pads and buds which is rare

Very good experience and just hope the standard can be kept consistently.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa Z, Public Relations Manager at Renaissance Tianjin Lakeview Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing Renaissance Tianjin Lakeview Hotel and for sharing your experience in our hotel. If you have plans to visit Tianjin again, we hope we are always your first choice. We are looking forward to your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torreon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in May 2013 on a trip in China, it is a great hotel, a Little expensive, but nice... Three times I arrived late to the restaurant and they were very friendly and served me after hours, buffet at breakfast was great, with many options, room as well ok, ... I will definitely come back to this hotel on my next visit to Tianjin....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Nice hotel. We stayed only one night on a business trip. Clean, quiet and convenient. Hallway was very hot but room stayed cool enough. Concierge drinks and breakfast were good. If I come back to Tianjin I will stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My room was very nice, with great bathroom and good work space. But the public spaces set this hotel apart. THE BEST BREAKFAST EVER. Seriously. Worth it. And a gym I would be happy to join at home. Huge lobby with drinks and food service at comfortable chairs and sofas. It'd be a great hotel for anyone, but particularly good for groups or families. Good staff, helpful concierge and manager. Fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed now already in 4 different hotels in Tianjin but this is by far the best in Tianjin and as well compared around whole China!!
If in Tianjin and have the budget to stay here do it it is definitely the best hotel in town. All huge all massive all really nice and comfortable. Excecutive floor also huge and food variaty big in the evening. A must in Tianjin city

Room Tip: room with view to lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Absolutely first-rate hotel on all levels. Our American theatre troupe stayed here for three days and never wanted to leave the comfortable confines of the Renaissance. Best breakfast buffet in China! Fantastic rooms, comfortable and quiet. Front desk service always available and extremely helpful. Thanks to Aaron Zhang (catering sales executive) and Doo-Hyun Shim (director of marketing) and the excellent staff! HIGHLY RECCOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Tianjin Lakeview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tianjin Lakeview Hotel

Address: No.16 Binshui Road, Hexi District, Tianjin 300061 , China
Location: China > Tianjin Region > Tianjin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,006 Hotels in Tianjin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Tianjin Lakeview Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Tianjin Lakeview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Tianjin Lakeview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.