We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English classes, anyone?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Tianjin Binhai Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Tianjin Binhai Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Tianjin Binhai Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.50 Second Main Street, Binhai New Area, Tianjin 300457, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 910 hotels in Tianjin
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“English classes, anyone?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Great facility, excellent lounge, and very hard working staff, but over the 2 days there my only comment to the GM and senior mgmt is 'get people some language training' so they can actually communicate with the guests who are not Chinese. As a busy Platinum guest expects to have a basic conversation with the staff in the Lounge upstairs, is it too much to ask that they actually understand words like 'eggs', 'juice', 'beer' and 'beer'?
On a bright side, housekeeping was great, the gym isn't bad, and the people super friendly, and a location perfect, right next to a golf course in the middle of town.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, General Manager at Sheraton Tianjin Binhai Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I understand your difficulties with the level of English spoken by our associates; we do conduct English training and will continue to work on helping them improve their skills.

I will discuss the basic level of English in the Sheraton Club with the Managers, and have them conduct a more intensive training program. Eggs, juice, and beer should be easily understood; clearly we need to make more effort to improve.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Mark Francis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    44
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
3
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Right from check in to check out ,entire experience was pleasant. Staff,Services,House keeping and food all carry stamp of Sheraton quality. Though room service was little slow as it took 45minutes to serve simple sandwich, it's taste and hotness made up for the delay. Rooms are spacious and so are the washrooms. Well spread breakfast with highly attentive service was very handy as I was in a rush for early morning flight. Keep it up

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie L, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Tianjin Binhai Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Welcome to stay at the Sheraton Tianjin Binhai. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We will continue to make you feel a home away home. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norrway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is what you expect from a business hotel in China; clean, well equipped and with attractive rooms suited to the business traveller. I would especially point out the good food and service in the restaurants and bars as well as a reliable transport service. The room was very attractive but the internet a bit slow. Recommendable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie L, Marcom Department at Sheraton Tianjin Binhai Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your stay at our hotel and share your experience with us. we are so glad to see you enjoy each stay at Sheraton Tianjin Binhai. we will delivering the best service and destination experience to each valued guest. I hope we can welcome you back in the not long distance future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I travel a lot around China and Asia. This is a good Sheraton hotel. It's not one of the best in terms of character but its comfortable. The lunch buffet is highly recommended. They have a fantastic spread which sometimes include curry, something very hard to find in Tianjin. If you work in TEDA. This is probably the best hotel around. The others will be Holiday Inn and other local hotels. So if your company budget allows for it, take this one.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie L, Marcom at Sheraton Tianjin Binhai Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and comment, I am pleased to read your positive comments about the hotel, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karachi
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Recently I had the opportunity at staying at Sheraton Tianjin. Overall had a pretty good experience, as per my expectations. The location was nice, with a nice, small shopping mall next door. The hotel was grand with a good lobby with courteous staff. The staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful and hardly took any time to check me in. The room was good too, with a nice large bed, and all basic amenities. The bathroom, neat and clean with all toiletries that one would would expect from the Sheraton brand. Bedroom slippers, an iron and an ironing board, wifi etc, all were available. Also the breakfast served in the restaurant was nice and grand. Overall had a very comfortable stay and would recommend this hotel in case you are visiting Tianjin.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, General Manager at Sheraton Tianjin Binhai Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you, I really appreciated your down to earth review of the hotel and service you received.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Regards
Mark Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip. The hotel is generally high qaulity and the staff were friendly and helpful.

The rooms are very large and comfortable with a very good bathrom. There is a desk in the room but a shame that the WiFi is not free - only in the lobby/bar area is it free which was a bit of a pain.

Breakfast was good with a large choice. We also eat in the Italian restaurant which was OK, nothign to really complain about but a little dissapointing with the choice and quality of the food.

Doesn't quite get 5 stars due toa couple little niggles but really is a 4.5 and is pretty good. It is close to the places I was visiting and I would stay here agian if I go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, General Manager at Sheraton Tianjin Binhai Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for your review,
We are just upgrading our Wi-Fi system in the hotel which will greatly improve the quality and strength of the signal all over the hotel.

I will discuss your comments on our Bene restaurant with our Executive Chef.

Thank you
Mark Francis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montes Claros, MG
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Very nice hotel to stay. Staff is very helpful, helped me even to buy things by internet, breakfast is very good, very international. The room is comfortable, and relaxing shower. There is an italian restaurant inside the hotel, very delicious. Nothing to complain.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, General Manager at Sheraton Tianjin Binhai Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am always so pleased to read positive comments towards the young and enthusiastic team we have here in the hotel.

Thank you
Mark Francis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Tianjin Binhai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tianjin Binhai Hotel

Address: No.50 Second Main Street, Binhai New Area, Tianjin 300457, China
Location: China > Tianjin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 910 hotels in Tianjin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Tianjin Binhai Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Tianjin Binhai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Tianjin Binhai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.