We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing View of Downtown Tianjin!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tangla Hotel Tianjin

Save Saved
You added Tangla Hotel Tianjin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tangla Hotel Tianjin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9F-A, Huanmao Business Centre, No.219 Nanjing Road, Heping District, Tianjin 300051, China (Formerly Raffles Tianjin)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 949 hotels in Tianjin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing View of Downtown Tianjin!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Amazing Rooms and View of downtown Tianjin
Very clean, specially love the smell in the lobby going up to your room.
Very relaxing.
Center of everything you want to do in Tianjin.

Bath room is great, bath overlooking the city.

Would stay here again if ever i am in Tianjin.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    36
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
7
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotels has a wonderful design and the rooms are very spacious. The view from the rooms is also quite spectacular. All in all the design of the hotel is what you would expect from a (former) Raffles hotel.

However the service qaulity is absolutely not up to the standard of the hotel. Hotel staff is not greeting you and the level of english is quite poor (with some exceptions).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel on Nanjing Road is convneniently located to shopping and restaurants and great views to boot. My room on the 47th floor corner has an unimpeded view of the city and far from the traffic noise below. The room is big with a separate seating area and a bathroom that can match the size of guest rooms rooms in other hotels.. It has a free-standing bath with its own TV and separatec ubicles for shower, WC and a walk-in closet, all luxuriously furnished. One can admire the view from the bath through the full height windows without worrying with prying eye from adjacent properties. The bed is really comfortable.
The breakfast buffet has a generous spread to satisfy both western and local tastes. The wait staff are friendly and attentive. The check-in and check-out experience was a notch down as it was less warm. Overall still a good stay although the rates were a bit tiff.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room which has great views from the room and bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Yo I stayed at this place this hotel is the bomb,
it's the kinda place you wanna go which yo moms,
they got mad views of the city and the food be real tight
you can take a bath while looking out over the city lights.
The help was for real the service was stellar
The beds are temper-pedic and the pillows light as feathers.
The price was just right and easy sleepin' all night
You could go somewhere else but it wouldn't be as nice.

Tangla where it be at!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel is located at the center of Tianjin city and just across the Binjangdao street. As gustrooms are above 40 floors, its night view was worth seeing. Especially night view from bathroom was impressive. Breakfast buffet was not that bad. I think it's a little bit expensive for the quality, but I recommend this hotel if you stay less than 2 nights.

Room Tip: I stayed at grand room and its night view was impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

I recently reviewed another hotel in Tianjin and noted that, although it felt kind of dated and threadbare, it made up for it in service and effort.

So... I'm honestly surprised at the experience I had at the Raffles Tianjin hotel, which was essentially the mirror-image opposite.

If first impressions are everything, then this should be a 5-star review. The lobby is clean but inviting. The room is huge, very nicely laid out, with a separate sitting room, a huge bathroom with stand-alone tub with TV and a killer view, rainfall shower, his-n-hers sinks, walk-in closet and separate toilet. Nice Sharp Aquos flat screen tv. Large windows with a fantastic view from the bedroom. Comfy bed.

Gratis wifi throughout the hotel, with one exception (see later in this post).

In short, this should be the best hotel in town, if not one of the best in China. But for me, at least, where some other hotels are working their tails off to win your business through service, Raffles seems to be resting its laurels on its "hardware" (which is already showing signs of fatigue) and for the most part, its staff didn't seem to care much if I was there or not.

To wit:

Check-in was a relatively efficient, but pure business, affair. No "welcome" or "hello" - just a "do you have a reservation?" followed by the standard copying of my documents, signing of the paperwork, and handing over of the key. I've had bank transactions that felt more welcoming.

The first night at the hotel, turn down service never happened. Not a huge deal, but just surprising, given the cost and pedigree of the hotel. On the 2nd day, the maid didn't leave water. Called on both occasions and they sent someone after about half an hour, but again, not the standard I expected from Raffles.

Water from the shower ran at an inconsistent temperature. Would fluctuate from room-temp to scalding. Which is a bummer given the “rainshower” showerhead, with scalding water splashing down directly over your head and entire body.

Tried to go to the pool on our first day. Was told the heater wasn't working and the water was freezing (tested it... it was). Went back the next day and it was marginally better, so went for a dip. We were the only ones in the pool the entire time. At one point, someone in a suit (management type... Palm tree lapel pin) came in and stood across the pool from us and just stared - for like 5 minutes. No hello. No "how's the water?" No "enjoying your stay?" Just. Stared. If it were another patron, it'd be creepy. Actually, as a hotel employee, it was still creepy, but it was also annoying. Maybe he was fascinated that we'd want to swim in his inadequately heated pool.

Inquired about taking yoga classes in the yoga room (which was very nice and well equipped, like the small gym), but was told that wasn't being offered yet (hasn't the hotel been open for over a year?).

The breakfast buffet (included in the rate I got) is anemic and has a fraction of the offering of most other 5-star hotels around town. Quality of the dishes they DO have is about the same as everywhere else, so its not like there’s a huge “quality over quantity” argument to be had. Dinner buffet ("surf and turf") is good, but not great or anything special. The Golden Jaguar, in the mall across the street, will offer the same middling quality and 100x the breadth of offerings (don’t get me wrong… I’m not endorsing the Golden Jaguar… I’m just saying that the quality of food at Raffles is no better than the “man the troughs” local buffet). Beer was consistently flat and tepid (being served from a pewter jug because, I guess, that classes up Yanjing brew), which was the most aggravating part of it all. I can tolerate mediocre food if I can at least wash it down with decent cold beer.

The bar is decent and has a fantastic view. Service was attentive and the drinks were reasonably priced (well, for cocktails at least). The advertised band was nowhere to be seen, despite it being a saturday night.

Came and went, sightseeing around town, over the weekend. Not once did a hotel employee say hi, or offer to help us get a taxi when we stood in front looking for taxis, or otherwise engage us unless we engaged them.

Another sign of lack of attention to detail is the cleanliness and upkeep of common areas. The lobby bathrooms were dirty both times we used them, with stains on the counters. A lot of common areas felt dusty, and one of the lights in the hallway on our floor was hanging out of the wall, unrepaired, the entire time.

Punchline was that after checking out, my partner had to kill an hour in the lobby while I attended a meeting. She sat in the executive lounge ("The Library") but couldn't get decent wifi (ironic, seeing as it’s the only place in the hotel we couldn't get a good signal). She went to use the terminals in the lounge but was told that as we'd just checked out, they'd charge RMB 3/minute for the pleasure.

Anyhow... 5 star hotel with 3 star service. A huge letdown.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Was there on Business Trip. They offered a Grand Room for 888rmb without the usual 15% Service Charge. Deal! When I arrived they said they´re overbooked so I will get an executive room. 60sqm, 45th floor. The view over Tianjin was really great, huge glassfront in Bathroom and Bedroom. Seperate Luggageroom/Wardrobe. The Amenities and all, just extraordinary. Would have loved to stay more than the 4 days I was there. The Bars on top make A+ Singapore SLings, the Restaurants are nice as well but nothing special. Room service, Laundry, Concierge, everything went without mistakes, extremely quick and very efficient. SUrprinsingly was still the price. ca 100€/night for such a hotel and this experience? Incredible. Whenever I come back to Tianjin, I will stay here...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTIGM, General Manager at Tangla Hotel Tianjin, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Resident,
Thank you so much for sharing your valuable feedback with regards to your stay at Raffles Tianjin and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Raffles Tianjin in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tangla Hotel Tianjin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangla Hotel Tianjin

Address: 9F-A, Huanmao Business Centre, No.219 Nanjing Road, Heping District, Tianjin 300051, China (Formerly Raffles Tianjin)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Tianjin Region > Tianjin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 949 hotels in Tianjin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tangla Hotel Tianjin 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
116 luxurious rooms including 22 elegantly appointed suites. Largest room within the City’s first Penthouse Hotel.Occupying the top 36th to 50th floors of Tianjin Centre’s West Tower. 5 distinctive restaurants & bars. 24 hours Raffles Butler Service. 24 hours business concierge available citywide. Raffles Spa, Swimming Pool and Fiteness Facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Tangla Hotel Tianjin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tangla Hotel Tianjin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.