We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place, i'd go back. free orange!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orange Hotel (Tianjin Beianqiao)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Orange Hotel (Tianjin Beianqiao) to your Saves list
Orange Hotel (Tianjin Beianqiao)
No.7 Xing'an Road, Nankai District, Tianjin 300090, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 998 Hotels in Tianjin
Boulder, Colorado, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“nice place, i'd go back. free orange!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

overall, a very good value.
stayed here one night at the front end of a business + tourism trip.
welcoming staff, with a fruit and a reusable shopping bag (which i kept, since it looked kind of snazzy, even though i already have more than i could ever shop enough to justify).
limited english ability.
chic, slick decor and architecture.
location was OK but not great - more central to downtown would be better.
they loaned us an umbrella when it was raining.
the wi-fi signal was really weak in our room.
we got a view of the river, as advertised, but it wasn't a particularly awe-inspiring view.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    244
    34
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
8
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Title says it all. The entrance to the hotel is abut obscure and not very prepossessing but te once inside the hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff very pleasant even if their english is limited. A small gripe is that I did not seem to be able to get wifi in my room but could do so in the foyer. Ask for a room on a high floor with a view of the river.

Room Tip: High floor and view of river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel was lovely! the room and bathroom were very spacious,modern clean and well kept. It is conveniently located, close to the river and touristic places, however surrounding area was not so great and I had difficulties with finding a place to eat (other than restaurant downstairs), which quite weird in China. It was really funny to have Andrew with us in the room - great idea! and a bag with fruits was also a very nice touch - however I still do not understand why we got 2 peaches and not oranges? I take one rating point off because our room, which should have a river view, actually did not have it (yes, we were able to see a small part of the river, but I would not call it a "river view").

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tianjin, China
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The rooms are big, clean, and they all come with a fish and fruit. This particular hotel is very near the river (literally 25 feet). If you cross the bridge you'll be heading into Tianjin's older districts including Little Italian Style Town. Great location for individuals staying for a short time in Tianjin.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the river its suggested you ask for those particular rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Dropped by Tianjin for 2 days during my recent trip to Beijing. Had great experience with Orange hotel in Beijing, decided to give this a try. The room is big and clean like any other Orange hotel you visit but this property is relatively older. I find the staffs very helpful and attentive.

Hotel is well located, walking distance to one of the famous tourist spot i.e. Italian Town. Not a bad place to visit for a short walk but this is not Italy. It is far from any cities I visited in Italy but okay place to visit (15 min walk)

You can technically take a cab to almost all tourist spots e.g. Food street you want within CNY 9 to 15. It is also within walking distance to the shopping mall area (Lotte Shopping Mall). It is a recently renovated mall with a lot of choices for food. There are other malls around that area as well.

On the other side, you have Packson (hypermarket) and Wallmart.

Mind you - the water pressure and heater don't work well ... pretty much all the rooms are the same ... you have to bear with it ... but overall, with the price you pay and where it is located - i have to give it a 3.5 star :)

Room Tip: Pay for the "sea"view room ... Very nice at nice ... especially if you are going with your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Malaysia chinese family of 4 stayed a night on transit to KL. Nice stay, clean rooms and helpful staff. Ask for river view room, fantastic sight at night. 15 - 20 minutes walk to Cultural street, Drum Tower or Food Street. Some roadwork going on, so use map carefully. Taxi to Tianjin airport only RMB 48.00, called by hotel staff. Should go for river boat ride at night (missed it), ask staff for info. Road and surrounding area a bit shabby but place strategically located.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Alright, so first things first: the room was nice, modern and clean. The bed was comfortable (not like the hard lumpy beds at the Ibis), and the pillows were big and soft. Not a whole lot of storage space for clothes. Nice desk, bedside table, and chairs. The bathroom was big, but lighting wasn't the greatest... The window to the room kind of weirds me out, but... I just close the shades. (my window faced toward an office building.) The water pressure wasn't all that superb, but it got better the hotter you made the shower go... which was scalding by the time the pressure was perfect. But that's alright, I got by. It wasn't the worst I've experienced that's for sure.

Breakfast. .... 10 yuan for some tasteless congee, a weird sandwich, a hardboiled egg, a banana, and choice of juice or warm milk. The free breakfast at Ibis was SO MUCH BETTER. Oh well.

Laundry service: Super expensive, especially when taking into account that I was staying here for over a month. And it took about 3 days to get back to me...

Cool/fun things: the fish in the room! It's a nice little companion~ Every day the cleaning ladies leave two peaches. (I wish the left bottled water like the ibis...) There's a Rubik's Cube on the desk and if you figure out three sides of it then you get a free coffee. Not that I drink coffee, but... still cool :)

TV: the channels pretty much suck. There's news on channel 9. Sometimes English stuff on 25 and 35 and 45 ( i think). No movie channels like in Ibis Beijing. So that's sad and boring.

The hotel is a quick walk to three different malls (or more..), Walmart, Carrefour, McDonald's, Subway, KFC, etc; three movie theaters, and right across the river from Italian Style Town which has amazing food!

There is WiFi in the room! Something the Ibis only had in the lobby. So that was happy :) There was also a connection cord for a laptop. I didn't notice anything slow or choppy with it.

The alleyway to get to the hotel is a bit creepy at night and most of the time smelly... :b The hotel is right next to a karaoke building so you can hear tonedeaf people bellowing sometimes through the walls in the lobby. But in the rooms (at least where I was on the 8th floor) you can't hear it.

The staff doesn't speak spectacular English, but usually you can get your point across.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Orange Hotel (Tianjin Beianqiao)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Hotel (Tianjin Beianqiao)

Address: No.7 Xing'an Road, Nankai District, Tianjin 300090, China
Location: China > Tianjin Region > Tianjin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 998 Hotels in Tianjin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orange Hotel (Tianjin Beianqiao) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orange Hotel (Tianjin Beianqiao), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.