We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional, good value hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Tianjin City Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Tianjin City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Tianjin City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.288 Zhongshan Road, Hebei District, Tianjin 300141, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 876 hotels in Tianjin
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Functional, good value hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A well located hotel for all the main sights in Tianjin. The staff are friendly with a good enough level of English. Rooms are clean, comfortable and a decent size. We found the bar/restaurant disappointing however, as it was barely ever open and the breakfast options were poor. Overall, I'd say this hotel is fine for a couple of nights but wouldn't recommend staying any longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    36
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
5
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Hotel is centrally located. Near to most of the main attraction. You got to tell the taxi the exact location as there’s another Holiday Inn express Riverside nearby. For non-Chinese speaking tourist, I would suggest you to write the Chinese name of the hotel on a paper to show to the driver as most of them doesn’t know the hotel’s English name.

The room is big and cozy. Nicely designed room. The bed has 2 diff type of pillow: soft and firm! Everything is so good until we had their breakfast the next day! To be honest, that was the most horrible breakfast I ever had in a hotel. Very LIMITED choice and all of them are tasteless. Only thing eatable is the bread. Drinks are all tasteless too. And totally no meat at all. Will come back to this hotel again, but will never take their breakfast again. Many restaurants round the corner of the hotel. Walk out abit to get some better food. There’s a street market round the corner of the hotel with a lot of stalls selling cheap clothing.

It sure worth the price that you paid!

Room Tip: Higher floor has better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel during my company's annuel party 2012, the hotel is newly builded and mostly very comfortable.
The Room is not big, but quite clean. The location is not the best but can also reach other places easily.
The only thing which is not good is breakfast, not many choices.
Anyway, the hotel is very nice for budget travellers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Hotel is located very centrally, minutes away from the Tianjin Eye and Anicent Culture street, and most other tourist attractions are less than 10 minutes away by taxi. West Railway station (for high speed train) is pretty close as well.

Room is slightly bigger than most Holiday Inn Express in China that I have been to. Decoration is overall the same as other Holiday Inn Express but interestingly retained some dark wood decor which I guess was from original older decoration. Beds in IHG group are always good and this is no difference, sleep quality is nice.

One gripe I have with them is the fact the aircon is so hot and suffocating that it makes me sweat like a pig at night; this is quite common for Holiday Inn/Express I have been to, they do not turn on cold air until April or so (I can understand for this particular time as Tianjin was fluctuating from 8c to 25c during my stay, but at least give me the option of just fan instead of 28c hot air).

There was also an incident when the hiusekeeping forgot to clean my room after I stayed in the a bit too late one day (2pm), I got back at 11pm to discover that I was out of bottle water and towels, the reception did reacted promptly (first saying housekeeping was off already but then was self initiated enough to take some from another room and delivered it to me within 10 mins) and the case was handled professionally and politely.

For the price it is a very nice little hotel worth considering if you are in Tianjin

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

The highlight of this hotel is definitely the staff. The staffs are SO helpful in recommending places of attractions and always doing it with a big smile. It seemed that I have a 'staff' that followed through all my inquiries, from check in to providing answers. The amazing staff is named Sunny. She really does live up to her name =)

I do appreciate the difference in the pillows, tagged soft and firm. Love the wide variety of international channels in our tv box, SOFT beds (super rare in China) and appreciated it that they are environmentally conscious as well! On top of that, we think it is really cool to see a iphone radio charger in the room! Wifi works great in our room too.

We had a peaceful night rest with the thick curtains that really prevented the sun rays from entering our room.

Location wise, it is very near the train station and we didn't walk to any of the attractions though it's very near. We took the mini vehicles outside the hotels and on the road as it was too sunny! It is really affordable and easy to get around.

Hotel breakfast was okay. Not exactly fantastic but you get a wide spread of variety enough to fill your stomach.

Would definitely recommend this hotel if you are staying in Tianjin!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Check in was not the smoothest. They took a while to find out my reservation details in spite of me booking through Priority Club website. Room was typically Holiday Inn Express, small but pretty neat and clean.

Location of the hotel is very good. It's just 3 mins walk to the river and another 5 mins to the Tianjin Ferris Wheel. The hotel is pretty close to the Railway Station where the high speed trains operate.

The staff where quite friendly specially at the breakfast where there was very little sitting space. B'fast is just adequate. Over all its a good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We splurged and opted for a "hotel" instead of a hostel for a weekend trip to tianjin. We live in China so perhaps my expectations are lower than most Americans. I thought this hotel was lovely! Close to the ancient cultural street, easy to grab a cab to most anyplace else. Room was beautiful and we (my 10 year old and I) thought the breakfast was great (coffee!!!!! not used to getting that in China). Only gripe was the pool and gym were both closed (even though the official hotel website did say gym was available) and since the labels for pool and gym were removed from elevator, I suspect this has been going on for a while. Staff had "reasonable" English (this is where hostels excel....most staff at hostels have superb English skills).

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tianjin City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tianjin City Center

Address: No.288 Zhongshan Road, Hebei District, Tianjin 300141, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Tianjin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 876 hotels in Tianjin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Express Tianjin City Center 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ctrip DaoDao, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tianjin City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Tianjin City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.