We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somerset International, Tianjin, China” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Youyi Tianjin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset Youyi Tianjin to your Saves list
Somerset Youyi Tianjin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Building B, No.35 Youyi Road, Hexi District, Tianjin 300201, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Up To 40% Off
Ranked #5 of 996 Hotels in Tianjin
Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Somerset International, Tianjin, China”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the Somerset International, No. 75 Nanjing Rd, Heping District in Tianjin, in a one bedroom apartment for a week. Maria Zhang and the girls on reception were absolutely amazing. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they would give me directions, write it in Chinese to show the taxi driver and always with a smile. The two ladies in the breakfast room (who didn't speak a word of English) would greet me like a long lost friend at breakfast and make sure there was watermelon there for me - always with huge smiles. Lisa who cleaned the room every day was lovely and, again, nothing was too much trouble. I even got to know the mail man in the basement! When I left the girls at reception bought me a present and all came out to wave goodbye. It was a great place to stay and I would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: I don't know which rooms were best, but I stayed on the 28th floor. Great view. The beds are q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomersetTJ, Manager at Somerset Youyi Tianjin, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Debra,
Thank you for your kind words and we are happy to have you staying with us too. However, we wish to inform that you have posted this review on the page of our sister property, Somerset Youyi Tianjin instead of Somerset International Building. Lastly, you take care and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    24
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
1
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The entrance of the drive way is not easy to spot which some taxi drivers find hard to get there. Other than that it was a pleasant stay. There is a local market nearby where you can get fresh seafood and fruits/veggies if you intend to cook your own meal.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomersetTJ, Manager at Somerset Youyi Tianjin, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
It was a great pleasure having you stay at Somerset Youyi Tianjin. Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay experience through tripadvisor.

Receiving such positive feedback from our residents motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

As per your feedback of "hard to find our property", we have installed a signage "Somerset Youyi serviced apartments" with white ground and blue words at the entrance to our residence in Pingjiang road, hope that will makes it easier to find the entrance next time.

We will continue in our improvement efforts to provide excellent service and products to our residents.

Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you again at any of our serviced residences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

A great apartment. Clean, well appointed, everything you could possibly need -fully equipped kitchen, laundry, lounge everything.
Staff helpful, restaurant inexpensive -mix of Chinese and western foods. right across the road from the cultural centre and Science museums.
a delightful stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomersetTJ, Manager at Somerset Youyi Tianjin, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
It was a great pleasure having you stay at Somerset Youyi Tianjin. Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay experience through tripadvisor.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our residents motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

We will continue in our improvement efforts to provide excellent service and products to our residents.

Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you again at any of our serviced residences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have stayed at many hotels during my career and this is the first time I have felt compelled to write a review of one.
We visited Tianjin in May 2013 and selected the Somerset Youyi hotel for it price and the fact that we had 8 people in our group and wanted to keep the group together as much as possible.
We booked the 3-bedroom Executive Apartments and it seems like we were upgraded to the 3-bedroom premiere. Either way the room was great. The rooms and bedding were clean and everyone commented on how comfortable (semi firm/firm) the beds were, we were very comfortable.

Their online photos are very accurate.

Way better value than the Hilton in Anaheim, Los Angeles.

The rooms had great washing machines, tumble dryers, irons and hair dryers in fact everything they said they would.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We only saw the two rooms we booked so we cannot make any suggestion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomersetTJ, Manager at Somerset Youyi Tianjin, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
It was a great pleasure having you stay at Somerset Youyi Tianjin. Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay experience through tripadvisor.

We were delighted to learn that you and your team enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our residents motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

We will continue in our improvement efforts to provide excellent service and products to our residents.

Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you again at any of our serviced residences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This being my first visit to China, let alone Tianjin, I had no idea what to expect upon checking in at the Somerset Youyi Hotel. I was relieved to find that most previous reviews had been spot on and accommodation was spacious, clean and better equipped than many a 'Western' 4* I have had the pleasure to stay at.

First the negatives; Having requested a non-smoking room (and re-confirmed this prior to arrival), my room had definitely accommodated smokers before me. An ashtray was found in a kitchen cupboard and there was a cigarette burn in the bath. However, the smell wasn't overbearing enough to request a different room; my assumption was that the non-smoking concept perhaps doesn't exist in China. The location I chose because of proximity to the Meijiang Convention Centre, which was a 10-minute drive away, but there is nothing else of interest in walking distance that I could find.

The room(s) were enormous and the total space was almost larger than my own home. It was also spotless, while touches such as several bottles of complimentary drinking water and ample power sockets, which facilitate local or two- and three-pin plugs, are often absent from 'better' hotels. I understood that wired internet access was also included, though I was online via wifi without any trouble, which proved fast and reliable (no Twitter or Facebook in China, of course) . For business travelers, the connection also allowed access to my company's VPN, which many wifi spots don't, and was a boon. The mini-mart on the 5th floor could be better stocked -- I would suggest with some vacuum-sealed pouches of microwaveable western rice/pasta/casserole meals -- but having been warned about local cuisine in advance, I brought out my own. It is, however, well stocked with chilled drinks, snacks, etc. Another plus was the multitude of English-language cable channels, including a number of movie and sports channels, in addition to the usual news outlets. It was a notably better selection than many of the business hotel chains offer.

In summary, as a business traveller who normally eschews room service and the minibar, the Somerset Youyi suited me perfectly and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: As a stranger to Tianjin, I asked the hotel to organised a car to collect me from the airport, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomersetTJ, Manager at Somerset Youyi Tianjin, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
It was a great pleasure having you stay at Somerset Youyi Tianjin. Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay experience through tripadvisor.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our residents motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

I have noted your observations and recommendations for improvements to the non-smoking room assignment and more varieties of western food products in the minimart, like microwaveable food etc. Please be assured that I will coordinate the plans for these enhancements with the respective team members. We seek your patience and understanding as the recommendations may require time to be implemented.

We will continue in our improvement efforts to provide excellent service and products to our residents.

Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you again at any of our serviced residences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Well appointed apartments . Clean , spacious and most things are in English. Breakfast is provided for free in the dining room. Mini mart on site and good gym . Excellent heated lap pool. Staff very friendly and efficient. Cable TV has Australian TV for sports nuts and US movie channels. Small kitchen and washing machine in room ideal for the business or family travellers. Close to larger supermarkets and department stores. Taxi is cheap to any of these places.

Maggie and Eric from Guest Relations will be a great help pre visit if you email Somerset to decide on what type of apartment you need.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomersetTJ, General Manager at Somerset Youyi Tianjin, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our residents motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service. Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us at Somerset Youyi Tianjin, we look
forward to welcoming you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I had very pleasant experience with Somerset Youyi Tianjin. The staff are very friendly and offered a lot of help during my stay.The facilities are well equipped, and the bed is very comfortable! Since I'm on business trip, it's absolutely a good place for relaxing after work. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomersetTJ, Assistant Sales Manager at Somerset Youyi Tianjin, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices and taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset Youyi Tianjin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Youyi Tianjin

Address: Building B, No.35 Youyi Road, Hexi District, Tianjin 300201, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Tianjin Region > Tianjin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 996 Hotels in Tianjin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Youyi Tianjin 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset Youyi Tianjin is located in the heart of Tianjin’s downtown commercial district, putting you in close proximity to its bustling street along Youyi Road, Xiqing Economic Development Zone and its vibrant shopping and entertainment areas. The Tianjin Railway Station is a mere 20 minutes drive away, and Tianjin International Airport is within 30 minutes of the serviced residence. Nearby attractions include Ancient Culture Street, Hai River, Panshan Mountain and the Huangyaguan Great Wall. Designed to accommodate your every need, all apartments in Somerset Youyi are stylishly furnished with contemporary décor and modern fittings, including a fully-equipped kitchen, a top-quality home entertainment system and broadband internet access. Our vigilant 24-hour on-site security personnel and closed-circuit TV security system ensure a safe living environment. For a balanced and enriching lifestyle, Somerset Youyi Tianjin organises recreational residents’ programmes to allow you to meet people and network within your community. Our gym and swimming pool are conveniently located on-site for you to relax and recharge. Experience our signature Heartware service, which is our commitment to tailor our residences to your individual needs. Doing business in Somerset Youyi is easy and efficient. With broadband internet access, a well-equipped Business Centre and secretarial services, you will have complete business connectivity from the comfort of your home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Somerset Youyi Tianjin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Youyi Tianjin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.