We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than advertised or expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge to your Saves list
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   399 Lover's Lane, Soldotna, AK 99669   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Soldotna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
santa barbara
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Better than advertised or expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Steve and Monica are the most gracious, friendly hosts and the lodge is very comfortable and convenient and has a most welcoming atmosphere. Not really knowing what to expect before arrival, all was better than advertised. The rooms are clean and well maintained and you have the run of the lodge, including large living room and bright sunroom. Fishing guides were knowledgable and excellent and were just as one would hope for on the Kenai or in side streams. I would not hesitate to return to the Soldotna B & B on any return trip.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    8
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
47
36
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Our host Steve and Monica went out of their way to ensure a custom designed fishing trip. Good location, quite on the Kenai river B&B. Comfortable lodging. Great guides to help on the river. Would recommend the B&B for anyone visiting the peninsula.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

I make it a point not to give Excellent ratings unless I really mean it, and this time, I REALLY MEAN IT! Steve, Monika and their staff are most excellent hosts! And what a location! Right on the Kenai River, you can literally drop your pole in the water and within an hour be eating your freshly caught salmon for dinner - we did! Steve and Monika arranged the best of the best fishing and other day trips for my husband, dad, brother and I. They have a great dock on the water and a very easy system for cleaning and shipping the bounty of fish you will catch in the Kenai. It was great that they also had rain gear and waders. The Lodge itself was wonderful - very cozy and comfortable, with lots of different hang out rooms so you could relax to read, play cards or have a cocktail after a long day of fishing. Our bedroom was very comfortable. I felt like I was in a real bedroom, not just a hotel room. This is the perfect rustic lodge without being too rustic. If you want a great experience on the Kenai Peninsula, you owe it to yourself to stay here. Otherwise, you will miss out on a fantastic experience. We definitely will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

We spent 2 days here and enjoyed ourselves very much. The staff is absolutely delightful and go out of their way to be sure their guests' needs are met to the fullest. The food is delicious and served in a wonderful sunroom. Monica and Steve are great hosts, wiling to assist in any way possible. They arranged a fishing guide for us so we could fish for sockeye salmon on the Kenai River. I had the fishing day of my life on our second day out thanks to the efforts of our guide who helped me tweek my fishing technique needed to catch these fish. This lodge is immaculate and very comfortable. While not inexpensive, it is all inclusive should you elect to have them arrange for your fishing, and you will receive value for your dollar. Scott, Steve's dad, is a wonderful ambassador. He shows up daily to fish from the private dock that is open to guests. He's an expert at catching these fish and willing to share his technique as well as his rods, so you can catch a fish or two when you arrive at the lodge. It just doesn't get any better than this.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Our room was beautiful, clean and had a feeling of being at home. The staff members were thoughtful, attentive and friendly. The b&b is located right on the Kenai River and the view is absolutely stunning! There's not one thing we would change about our experience here. What an amazing trip! We owe it all to our wonderful hosts and their staff! We didn't have a care in the world the entire time we were there!! Wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moville, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Great location for a non-fishing wife. Easy walk to shops and restaurants. The owners Steve and Monika arranged great fishing trips with excellant guides. Joe our guide made a special effort to land my grandson a 40+ King Salmon on the Kenai River. Manns Charter Service was great for our Ocean fishing with limits of Halibut, Rockfish and Ling Cod. A very memorable trip and we hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanco, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

My husband and I chose this B&B because it offered a large variety of packages. We chose the "Everything but the Kenai Sink" because we wanted to combine fishing with sightseeing. It proved to be a fantastic combination of activites! Not only did we bring 83pounds of fish home with us, we saw some of the most beautiful scenery we could have ever imagined. Steve and Monika were great hosts, serving a delicious breakfast every morning. We would not hesitate to go back or recommend Soldotna B&B Lodge to friends or family.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge

Address: 399 Lover's Lane, Soldotna, AK 99669
Location: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Soldotna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Hotel Soldotna
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna b&b Lodge
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed And Breakfast Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.