We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge to your Saves list
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   399 Lover's Lane, Soldotna, AK 99669   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Soldotna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Riverton, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

My husband stayed for one night at Soldotna B&B Lodge in Sept. Our room was with a shared bath which caused us no problem. Everything was clean and neat. The location was lovely overlooking the river. Very nice people....nice breakfast.

  • Liked — Lovely room with view of river...friendly owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    8
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
47
36
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

We stayed two nights at this lodge (we would have left after one night if the reservation allowed it). It is a worn-out property that appears to have not been redecorated or updated in at least 15 years, and the accommodations are way overpriced ($200/night for a small very tired room). The owners are selling, and were not to be seen.

The exhaust fan in the kitchen was not working, so the place was full of strong cooking smells from dinner that permeated the rooms and made it hard to sleep, and then again at 5:00 am when the first breakfast was started. The breakfast was minimal. The resident manager is hospitable, and the on-river location is good. At half the price, guests could tolerate the facility's shortcomings.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — poor value
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, May 5, 2010
Soldotna B&B Lodge and Alaska Fishing Charters is very sincere about our motto: “Fine Lodging and Quality Guiding”. We strive to always provide excellent service but unfortunately sometimes we do not succeed. From those experiences, we can only learn. Most of the positive reviews will reflect the fact that we strive to provide excellent service and that normally, we do succeed. We are continually trying to improve our level of service. We invite any potential guest to contact us and then compare our amenities, services, and prices with any other river property in our area.

We have the policy that if a guest is unhappy with their room for any reason, we will attempt to move them to one of our rooms that better meets their needs. Otherwise, we offer them alternative, comparable lodging at one of our partner riverside B&Bs to better meet their needs. Or they may cancel their lodging and move on. This of course presumes that the guest informs us during their stay that they are unsatisfied with their room. Otherwise how would we know? We do not allow guests to change their plans at the last moment for convenience sake. This violates our cancellation policy, which they are informed of at the time the reservation is made.

Given that we are a Bed and Breakfast, most guests understand that there will be at certain times of the day smells of breakfast cooking. It is also a home, so there may be at certain times of the day smells of dinner cooking. This is typically part of the Bed and Breakfast experience. By the majority of our guests, our breakfasts are a highlight, which we personally serve. In any case, they are also “all-you-can-eat” with many guests asking for seconds because they like it so much. That not withstanding, our ventilation fan was broken for around one month during the busiest time of the entire year. Unfortunately, it proved very difficult to find replacement parts because it is a custom installation. It is also much more difficult to find things in Alaska than most states. Albeit with a since repaired exhaust fan, there is definitely less of an impact than without.

As the proprietors of Soldotna B&B Lodge, either my wife (Monika) or I (Steve) are on-site normally 7 days per week from around 4:30 am till around 8-10 pm. However, there clearly are RARE days where we are fortunate enough to break-away. We have had the same on-site helper for 7 of the last 8 years and he (Bill) is by most guests considered fantastic as is pointed out by the reviewer “The resident manager is hospitable”. Yes, Soldotna B&B Lodge is for sale. However, this does not affect the level of our service nor our commitment, we have continued to upgrade aspects of our property every year and still invest innumerable hours on the property serving our guests.

We are members of the Soldotna Chamber of Commerce and the Kenai Chamber of Commerce as well as the Kenai Peninsula B&B Association and the State of Alaska B&B Association. In fact, I (Steve) am also a former Vice President Of The Board of the Kenai Peninsula Tourism Marketing Council. Soldotna B&B Lodge is still an active member of all of these associations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

Stayed at the Soldotna B&B last Spring for 3 nights.
Hosts were very friendly and helpful in setting up the best fishing experience of my life. The guides were very knowledgible and seemed like old school friends. Lots of fun and had a fantastic time. Will definitely be back. Thanks Steve and Monika.

  • Liked — Friendly and Homey
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

My husband and I spent one night at the Soldotna B & B while on a trip through AK. It was a last minute reservation while on the road without researching on TripAdvisor (which I normally do), and we were VERY disappointed. The facility is nicely decorated, including our large room with a small balcony and lovely view of the river.
However, we didn't realize until we got there that the rooms are European style with bathrooms and showers down the hall. You get a sink in the room. For $200 (AAA discount price) per night, we would NEVER have stayed there if we'd known, even with the high Alaska summer lodging prices. There are other hotels in town.
Due to the restrooms and showers in the hall, you could hear folks coming and going, closing bathroom doors, slamming shower doors, and running water all night long. Then we were waked up by boats zooming by at the break of dawn. This was particularly an issue because our stay was during fishing season. Although the bed was comfortable, it was very difficult to sleep with so much noise. If we'd had an AC or bathroom fan we would have run it for white noise.
The staff were friendly, and breakfast was good, served in an airy room with windows looking out on the river.
We would stay somewhere else if ever in Soldotna again.

  • Liked — Location/View of River and decor
  • Disliked — Noisy, overpriced, no bathroom in room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, May 5, 2010
Soldotna B&B Lodge and Alaska Fishing Charters is very sincere about our motto: “Fine Lodging and Quality Guiding”. We strive to always provide excellent service but unfortunately sometimes we do not succeed. From those experiences, we can only learn. Most of the positive reviews will reflect the fact that we strive to provide excellent service and that normally, we do succeed. We are continually trying to improve our level of service. We invite any potential guest to contact us and then compare our amenities, services, and prices with any other river property in our area.

Although we do have rooms with shared baths and private baths, this guest did not request a room with private bath. We recommend to all potential guests that if they require or prefer a room with private bath that they request it. We also have the policy that if a guest is unhappy with their room for any reason, we will either move them to one of our rooms that better meets their needs or we will offer/provide them alternative, comparable lodging at another property on the river. This of course presumes that the guest informs us during their stay that they are unsatisfied with their room. Otherwise how would we know?

Soldotna B&B Lodge and Alaska Fishing Charters is also an Alaska Fishing Lodge. With this in mind, guests do sometimes have to leave the lodge at around 5am to go on charters. This can cause more noise early in the morning than at a typical hotel or B&B. If this is a concern to a potential guest, we recommend you discuss it with us during your inquiry.

Soldotna B&B Lodge is a member of the Soldotna Chamber of Commerce and the Kenai Chamber of Commerce as well as the Kenai Peninsula B&B Association and the State of Alaska B&B Association. In fact, I (Steve) am also a former Vice President Of The Board of the Kenai Peninsula Tourism Marketing Council. Soldotna B&B Lodge is still an active member of all of these associations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsburg, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

My wife and I went to Alaska for the month of June, while there we wanted to go fishing. We contacted through the internet a place in Soldotna, Alaska. It is called the Soldotna B&B Lodge. I t is owned by Monica and Steve, the caretaker is Bill and the cook's name is Dagmar. The service was fantastic, the meals were also very good. The fishing was even better, Steve also has guides that pick you up right at the B&B dock, we fishid the Kisiloff and the Kenai rivers. Steve also set us up with a charter out of Homer where we caught out limit of Halibut and rock cod. Out of our month in Alaska we enjoyed the stay at the Soldotna B&B Lodge among the best in Alaska!!!

  • Liked — Clean and friendly
  • Disliked — Supper not served
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

June 7-13 2008
My son and myself just experince one of the most remarkable trips we have ever experienced . This was an all enclusive they took care of everything.The B&B was excellent . All of our host very personable and freindly.All of our trips where setup by the B&B and the guides were all very good and the fishing was awesome. p.s.. our favorite trip was the trout float.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

Enjoyed our short stay at the this B & B right on the Kenai River. Nice and clean with a wonderful home cooked breakfast in the dining room. Wasn't there for fishing, but the host said breakfast could be ready at 5 am if you like.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge

Address: 399 Lover's Lane, Soldotna, AK 99669
Location: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Soldotna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Hotel Soldotna
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna b&b Lodge
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed And Breakfast Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.