We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge to your Saves list
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   399 Lover's Lane, Soldotna, AK 99669   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Soldotna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
va
1 review
“Soldotna B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

June 7-13 2008
My son and myself just experince one of the most remarkable trips we have ever experienced . This was an all enclusive they took care of everything.The B&B was excellent . All of our host very personable and freindly.All of our trips where setup by the B&B and the guides were all very good and the fishing was awesome. p.s.. our favorite trip was the trout float.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    8
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
47
36
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Collierville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

Enjoyed our short stay at the this B & B right on the Kenai River. Nice and clean with a wonderful home cooked breakfast in the dining room. Wasn't there for fishing, but the host said breakfast could be ready at 5 am if you like.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MT HOLLY, NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2006

Monica and Steve are wonderful hosts and did anything to make our stay enjoyable. The room and shared bath are spotless, the food (breakfast) is always something 'special', and the assistance with our daily planning for fishing, shopping , dining, etc. was very helpful and appreciated. I wish I was a "professional" reviewer so I can say more. I'll leave it with "Soldotna B&B is tops, a real winner" . No wonder we stayed there 3 times on vacation in the past !!

  • Liked — It is clean, comfortable, and in a great location
  • Disliked — Lack of internet axcess
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask the hosts about anything and they will help.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2006

I had some free time in Alaska so I tried to book a place in Soldotna during peak tourist season. The Soldotana B&B was the only place I could find with any availability - now I know why. Overall, my stay was not enjoyable. It was way overpriced, compared to other places in the area. In addition, they want to nickel and dime you to death for everything - 5% charge to pay by credit card, $2 for a bag of ice for your catch when they have an ice machine on the property, etc. Two of the three guides I used through them were poor, unprofessional fishing guides - answering their cell phones during my trip as I am reeling in a fish, leaving early because of rain, etc. In addition, the "full breakfast" is not true because they send you out fishing at 4AM before breakfast is even ready!! Rooms were very small and well worn. They always had a vacancy sign out, now I know why. Overall, way over priced and not a good experience. Strongly recommend that you go elsewhere.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay away from Soldotna B&B
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoldotnaBBLodgeOwner, Owner at Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
Soldotna B&B Lodge and Alaska Fishing Charters is very sincere about our motto: “Fine Lodging and Quality Guiding”. At check-in, we routinely ask our guests to provide any and all feedback about our guides and services. Any feedback about our guides is always welcome and always taken into consideration. As reflected by most of the Trip Advisor reviews, the large majority of our guests rave about our guides. We are very selective and primarily employ full-time, professional guides. However, we have learned that sometimes rarely personalities between clients and guides do not match.

We strive to always provide excellent service but unfortunately sometimes we do not succeed. From those experiences, we can only learn. Most of the positive reviews will reflect the fact that we strive to provide excellent service and that normally, we do succeed. We are continually trying to improve our level of service. We invite any potential guest to contact us and then compare our amenities, services, and prices with any other river property in our area.

We serve full breakfast as early as 4:45 am until 9:00 am. The overwhelming majority of our guests are provided the opportunity to enjoy full breakfast served in our sunroom which directly overlooks the Kenai river. This guest chose (voluntarily and at his discretion) charters that required an hour drive every morning. Unfortunately, he had to leave each morning at about 4:30am. This guest did receive a deluxe continental breakfast.

We are members of the Soldotna Chamber of Commerce and the Kenai Chamber of Commerce as well as the Kenai Peninsula B&B Association and the State of Alaska B&B Association. In fact, I am also a former Vice President Of The Board of the Kenai Peninsula Tourism Marketing Council. Soldotna B&B Lodge is still an active member of all of these associations.

Soldotna B&B Lodge is listed by “Alaska Best Places”, “Alaska Travel Smart”, and “Lonely Planet” travel guides. We invite any potential guest to compare our amenities, services and prices with any other river property in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, IN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2005

We loved our stay at the Wandering Moose this past summer. Charming, sparkling clean cabins, wonderful hosts and super spot for river fishing. You can wade in and catch your fill of reds in a beautiful, quiet spot right on the Kenai. Audrey will arrange your activities and even teach you how to fish (if you don't already know how). We are going back!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2005

I recently completed a fantastic trip to Alaska and wanted to share my experience for future potential visitors to the Kenai Peninsula and specifically those considering staying at the Soldotna B&B.

I am an internet user and when traveling I like to use the internet for research and booking accommodations etc. I have successfully booked trips to many parts of the US and Europe so naturally when I decided to give my dad a Alaska fishing trip for Christmas I went to the internet to research best areas and eventually book my trip.

During my research I ran across a very unflattering review of the Soldotna B&B which led me to request more information from the owners as well as reach out to the Soldotna Chamber of Commerce prior to booking my travel. I received very good reviews from the chamber as well as additional references that Monica and Steve provided. I decided to stay at the B&B and was not disappointed. The location was wonderful, the Inn backs up to the Kenai River –You can literally fish from their back yard. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, very clean and Steve and Monica and their staff were very helpful, knowledgeable, courteous and friendly. We had a great time fishing and the guides and charters that they arranged were very professional and knowledgeable as well. I noted that a number of guests I met at the B&B were returning visitors which reinforced my positive opinion of this Bed and Breakfast.

If I decide to go back to Alaska, and my trip included the Kenai Peninsula, I would make sure that I stayed at the Soldotna B&B. It is a shame that a few visitors have had a disappointing experience, however I found the Inn very clean, comfortable and the staff and owners very professional and made sure that this trip to Alaska was very special.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2005

If you are interested in a Bed & Breakfast that caters to the customers, try Soldotna Lodge B & B. All of the help worked as a team giving Monika and Steve (owners) the support they needed to make your stay wonderful.
Never did we hear a disgruntled employee or guest.
Of the B & B’s all over the U.S. including the four in Alaska, this one is the best. The breakfast was a variety and very good at the time you wanted/needed it. The local guided fishing trips picked you up at their dock and the fish cleaning, vacuum packing, and freezing came with the trip. If you want sock-eye salmon just walk to your private fishing area for guests only. Fish and let the staff take care of your catch. I have never seen fishing like this before. You will catch Salmon if you get a line in the water. Aside from getting your limit of Salmon most any day, there are lots of places to explore close by.
Soldotna has a wealth of very good restaurants to suit many different tastes and budgets.
Sincerely,
Larry and Carol
Houston, Texas.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge

Address: 399 Lover's Lane, Soldotna, AK 99669
Location: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Soldotna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Hotel Soldotna
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna b&b Lodge
Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed And Breakfast Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaska Fishing Lodge / Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.