We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time and great fishing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RW's Fishing & Big Eddy Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Soldotna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RW's Fishing & Big Eddy Resort
Save
You added RW's Fishing & Big Eddy Resort to your Saves list
P.O. Box 3824, Kenai Peninsula, Soldotna, AK 99669   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Soldotna
whittier, ca
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great time and great fishing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

RW is the place you want to be to fish, he has the best set up and guides in the area. Large rooms with everything you need. Full size fridge and stove, can sleep five easy but you could go up to seven without a problem other than there is only one bathroom. You could save a lot just by cooking yourself and there are several outdoor BBQs and tables, some under a covered area. As for fishing, they take care of you here. From cleaning, packaging, freezing and shipping. He has his own dock area for the river with great guides. Keep in mind when he says half trips, that is what you are getting. Half day is fine for salmon, but you are better off paying extra to go on all day halibit boats. You can stay somewhere nicer, but not better.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same, but try for one of the original rooms if anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

This was my third time at R.W.'s place. The first time was in an August trip for Silvers and Halibut had a great time then and vowed to come back . The second trip was in July 2008 and we fished for King , Sockeye and Halibut I caught two beautiful Kings and my fishing buddy Tony caught a 55lb. King, along with a bunch of Sockeye. It was the best fishing must have caught and released hundreds of Sockeye couldn't get enough of the fun. Met some nice people on that trip that Tony and I decided to come back in 2010 . Well this time there was four of us and no disappointment to any of us . We all caught a King and I was fortunate enough to again catch two Kings, but the Sockeye fishing was again awesome. We hit super Tuesday as it is known and caught more fish than ever. I had never tried a fly rod before and this time tried it with the Sockeye . It was a blast catching 12lb Sockeye on a #7 flyrod!!! Now that's a fight!!! The halibut fishing from Homer was great on the first trip but we were blown of the water the second trip , it happens but safety first and commend the captain on his expertise! R.W. made it up to us so all were happy. I would definately recommend R.W's place to anyone the accomodations are great and clean, the river fishing on the property is awesome . The Guides are great had three different river guides and we liked them all. The fish cleaning and packing crew are a great . We are all planning to go back in 2012!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

We all would like to come home with a trophy fish, but it is serious work. It took us 18 hrs. of fishing to get our two beautiful kings, several years ago. This trip, we got skunked a few days, but still were able to catch silvers. Fishing is not a sure thing, but the guides give 100% effort on getting you your fish. The accommodations were acceptable except for trying to sleep while the sun seemed to never set – need blackout drapes.

They try their best, correcting situations - like a bad halibut trip we had, even though there was nothing they could change. Very professional but flexible enough to make sure we are enjoying ourselves.

With the BBQ’s out back and being able to almost fish from your lodging, we were able to meet the best folks. The campfires, the stories and the sharing of experiences made the trip even more enjoyable. The comradely at the resort’s sponsored dinner at the end of the week - we now know fishermen are the best storytellers!

We appreciate RW’s, Shawn’s and the other guides extra effort in making sure we had a good time in getting the fish to jump into the boat. This is where we went our honeymoon – you know for a good marriage, you also need to keep the guy happy!

We’ll be back – were getting to be part of the family!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
503fisherman, Guest Relations Manager at RW's Fishing & Big Eddy Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Thank you for your kind words, customer satisfaction is our goal. We hope you continue to visit us, and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We are at RW's Fish Camp and went out with them yesterday fishing for silvers. There were two boats that went out on the Kenai with four people fishing on each boat . . . one boat came back with 9 and ours with only 2. (The personal limit was 3 per day.) I personally felt that our guide was clueless and he chased where others were or had been.

The 2 caught on our boat were during our first hour out. Nothing after, except pink "humpies" which he said weren't keepers so we threw them back (4 for me and 3 for DH).

We like the camp area here for our 29' RV. Had full hook-ups and free WiFi (a bonus).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
503fisherman, Public Relations Manager at RW's Fishing & Big Eddy Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Our guides strive to meet your expectations, and they take their profession extremely personal. If we failed to meet your expectations we hope you would have brought this to our attention and allow us to make it right with you. Customer service is what RW's Fishing and Big Eddy Resort is all about, and we take customer service very serious.

We have a large return client base at RW's, some returning for over 20 years. We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the trip of a lifetime. We want to make your Alaskan experience one you want to repeat ....every year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

We did not stay at the Big Eddy Resort, but went out for a half-day salmon charter on the river. We had a great experience and would definitely return again.

The only reason I did not give this a 5-star is because when we originally called and set up the charter, we were told over the phone, "Just show up sometime around 8 or 9." We were sent paperwork through the mail documenting our reservation with maps, etc. but there was no mention of tour time included there either. When we showed up at RW's on our originally scheduled date around 8:30, we found that the charter had already left at 7am and we had to reschedule to another day and miss some other things we'd had planned on the peninsula.

I must admit, having started off on this foot, I was a little hesitant to return on the reschedule date, but I'm glad I did!

Our guide was very knowledgeable about the conditions of the river, bait, etc. and did all he could to try and make sure everyone caught something. Within the first 30 minutes, my fiance and I got a double catch - mine was a 15 lb silver! The rest of the day was fairly slow, but it was nice just being out on the river. I caught another large silver, and we had several hits, but weren't able to get them into the boat - through no fault of our gide, just bad luck. We had paid only for a half-day charter and received a near full-day because our guide was trying so hard to get everyone a fish - I call that above and beyond.

The processing and packaging were done wonderfully. We caught our fish on Sunday, they were sent out on Tuesday and we received them in MD in perfect condition on Thursday.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
503fisherman, Public Relations Manager at RW's Fishing & Big Eddy Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
In any relationship, personal or business communication is paramount, and sometimes there is a breakdown in communications. For that we appoligize, but we are also happy to hear that your experience with us was a good one. Tight Lines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST JORDAN
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

I would never return to RW,S again the king fishing was terrible ) all
four on board (skunked twice) RW had a chance make it right but would not
offering an alternative so never again. Also the rooms slope very bad for walking
LOCATION OK

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
503fisherman, Public Relations Manager at RW's Fishing & Big Eddy Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
We are sorry the river did not meet your expectations. The Kenai River is one of the most challanging rivers in the world, that is the reason why it has always been such a popular and rewarding fishery.

We have always worked with our customers to exceed their expectations, but the one thing that has to be kept in mind, we have no control over the fish.....we wish we did!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

We stayed in RW's condos great place to stay,the king fishing
was not very good we had one bite.the Halibut fishing was outstanding.Don't know what the other guy was talking about RW's guides were the best we ever fished with.Although the
king fishingwas not any good Rw did everything he could to make our stay a memorable one.Can't wait to get back and I hope he will still has the same guides.
Thanks RW,
Adolph,Larry,Sharon and Peggy

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RW's Fishing & Big Eddy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RW's Fishing & Big Eddy Resort

Address: P.O. Box 3824, Kenai Peninsula, Soldotna, AK 99669
Location: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Soldotna
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Rw`s Fishing & Big Eddy Hotel Soldotna
Rw`s Fishing And Big Eddy Resort
RW's Fishing & Big Eddy Resort Alaska/Soldotna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RW's Fishing & Big Eddy Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.