We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"FANTASTIC TIME- AGAIN!!!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribou Crossing Cabins

Save Saved
You added Caribou Crossing Cabins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caribou Crossing Cabins
36165 Ollie Street, Soldotna, AK 99669   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“"FANTASTIC TIME- AGAIN!!!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This is the fifth year of the last six years we had stayed at these cabibs. Would not stay anywhere else when in Alaska. Owners are great people that treat you as family from minute one. Great references for what to do & see. Can help you (or make) reservations for available activities

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Our family of four stayed very comfortably in the Grizzly Cabin for 2 nights. Dianna and Loren were wonderful hosts and the property is beautiful and quite conveniently located. If we are the in area again, we would definately go back to the Caribou Crossing Cabins.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Loren and Diana are fantastic hosts and provide the quintessential Alaskan getaway. There are 4 cabins that come with everything you need to have a fantastic time, including gas grill for cooking your days catch and campfire to roast marshmallows. They were very helpful with suggestions for fishing, wildlife viewing and restaurants and sending our halibut and salmon home. A bull moose was wondering outside our cabin the first day.

Room Tip: We loved the Grizzley cabin - sleeps 3-5
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Can not say enough good things about this place. My wife & I have stayed at Caribou Crossing four times in the last five years (one year we did not go) we have been to Alaska. Owners are some of the best people we have ever met. We have thought (BRIEFLY) about using another place as our base of residence for our Alaskan adventures, but when you find a good thing- why mess it up going somewhere unknown. If you want to have a great adventure with some of the best people around- give this place a try. You will be hooked just like we are.

Room Tip: Book early- They fill fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Amazing place with awesome caretakers. We were the only people staying there, as it was early in the season. Location is perfect, halfway between Soldotna and Kenai, and out of the beaten path. Cabins are well constructed, very comfortable, built by the owner. We had a fabulous stay. Sun, snow, and moose walking through the property. Loren was great and we had everything we needed for a relaxing, secluded stay. We're definitely going back. Can't wait to see Alaska in the summer.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed at Caribou Crossing for 5 nights and it was the most comfortable, relaxing and fun place we stayed. The cabins are beautiful and very well furnished. The host family is absolutely wonderful and very accommodating. They kept everything stocked and clean, and the nightly campfire and socializing with drinks and smores was definitely a highlight after a day of fishing and touring.

We traveled with a teenager and an 8 year old and both of them absolutely loved it here. Full kitchen amenities, access to freezer and grill, as well as laundry facilities made it just perfect. We're planning our next trip and taking friends with us this time. Perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Hi, I wanted to come on to Trip Advisor (something I dont ordinarily do) to write a review on this place that we stayed at. The reason being is because it truley is a gem! The place consists of several cabins on lovely grounds (grass/shrubs/flowers/PRIVACY/caribou right out in front field) This place has custom made hand crafted cabins BEAUTIFULLY built with all the details for a comfortable stay. The owner was friendly. He learned we were looking for a good halibut dinner and actually went through the trouble of cooking some up for us...outside, picnic style. Lots of fun and totally yummy too!!! This place is outside of Kenai and a little further from Seward. Just check mileage if youre planning to go to seward. I think its a fine travel distance, but you will need to see for yourself to be sure. There's plenty of hiking nearby and Kenai is close too. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribou Crossing Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribou Crossing Cabins

Address: 36165 Ollie Street, Soldotna, AK 99669
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Soldotna
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Specialty lodging in Soldotna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Caribou Crossing Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribou Crossing Cabins Alaska/Soldotna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribou Crossing Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.