We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whale Song Cruises

Whale Song Cruises
207 N. Nordic Drive, Petersburg, AK
(907) 772-9393
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Petersburg
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
budapest
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“perfect day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Not sure why the one reviewer so negative, but good to see other positive reviews. We had a great day, and Captain Ron did his best for us on the boat. Friendly and informative, this trip on a small boat was so much better than the 'bigger' tours in other parts of Alaska. Well worth the price, and highly recommended. We went the day before to the Leconte Glacier, and that was also a great trip.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    2
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grangeville, Idaho
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Awesome Day At LeConte Glacier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

A friend and I recently booked a tour to the LeConte Glacier with Captain Ron, Owner of Whale Song Cruises in Petersburg Alaska. Even though there were only two of us booked for that day, Captain Ron made the trip. His boat was roomey, very clean, and well maintained, with comfortable inside seating with windows filling both sides, and plenty of room outside to move about a bit and take photos. The boat also had an enclosed marine toilet. Captain Ron was very friendly and conversed with us freely. He provided ample time for photographs at various desired locations. A yummy snack of hot chocolate and crackers with salmon dip was also provided. It was so good the two of us ate it all. Captain Ron handled the boat with skill and caution in amongst the ice. The price for the cruise was in line with what one would expect to pay for such an outing. We had an absolutely amazing experience on board his boat. I would very highly recommend Whale Song Cruises to anyone who is wanting to experience LeConte Glacier with an experienced guide.

Thank you Ron for a very memorable trip!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011 via mobile

I, myself as well as family members have been out with Captain Ron and have not seen a cleaner boat and felt more safe. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this glacier, whale watching tour to anyone! Well worth the experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“AMAZING! LeConte Glacier with Ron was the BEST.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

I spent less than $200 and saw, whales, harbor seals, steller seal lions, mountain goats and a black bear. That's not including the most incredible glacier ever, or the different birds. This trip is highly recommended.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not as advertised”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011 via mobile

Very unsafe operator, didn't provide the services promised, boat was filthy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whale Song Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Whale Song Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whale Song Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.