We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met all my requirements” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandia House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Petersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scandia House
Save
You added Scandia House to your Saves list
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Nordic Dr., Box 689, Petersburg, AK 99833   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Petersburg
Juneau, AK
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
“Met all my requirements”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Seven work colleagues and I stayed at the Scandia House for one night in October 2011.

We were greeted in a timely manner by the van at Petersburg Airport, whereupon we were whisked to the hotel in downtown Petersburg. We got there about noon and all but one of us were able to get our room keys and dump off some gear.

I found my 3rd-floor room to be well-appointed, clean, roomy, and quiet. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was squeaky clean. Hotel wifi was peppy at a very reasonable cost of $3 per night.

I would stay here again. This is a nice place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
3
18
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Our group did not have a good experience here. The main reason I would not stay here again is because of rude management experiences. We found they would not give us the time of day when we asked: about the town, extra towels, fixing a light, and we wound up just avoiding them.
Besides this, the town of Petersburg was full of nice friendly people.

Room Tip: I would not stay here again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nolaqueen
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed here on a 10 day trip through SE Alaska. The people working were helpful. They allowed our pet and room/hotel was very clean. My only gripe would be that we were in a room facing the front of hotel and about 5am, what sounded like garbage trucks backing up with the beeping noise woke us up several times because there is no a/c so we sleep with windows open. I finally had to shut the windows.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011 via mobile

Stayed at the scandia house for business recently. The rooms was clean and the staff was GREAT! I had a few special requests (messages left, paperwork dropped off, copies made, etc.) and was ways greeted with a friendly smile. They are also quick with ride to and from the airport and the ferry terminal which convenient if you are rentinga car from thd hotel. Finally, the hotel is a quick walk from most of the resturant and other attractions. I will always stay at the scandia house on my trips to Petersburg.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Spent one night here before catching Alaska state ferry. Booked online via their website. Great rate and prompt response. Hotel is easy to find, right on main street, easy access to the ferry dock and downtown restaurants. Petersburg isn't a touristy town so there aren't alot of "sights" to see but everyone we met was pleasant. Hotel staff were efficient and very nice. Other reviewers mentionned rude service but that was definitely not our experience. Room was spacious and clean. Bed was alittle softer than I like but it was still acceptable. Linens were good. Hotel is built on a slope so 2nd floor is even with the street at the back of the bldg. Rooms at the back of the hotel overlook some pretty rundown buildings but hey, it's a working town in Alaska! Slept well, even with windows open. Quiet at night. Didn't hear neighboring early-risers as they departed for fishing trips. Hotel serves warm muffins and fresh coffee in the lobby every morning and displays local art on the walls. Also has 2 food trucks out front, one Mexican, the other harder to define (Thai-style halibut? Yum!) There's also a Java hut directly adjoining the hotel lobby. Bathroom was clean, towels good and water pressure very good.
Shuttle to ferry dock (and airport) is pretty informal. Tell the folks at the front desk when you're ready to do and they'll grab the keys and give you a ride in the hotel van. All staff were very helpful and personable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed with a group of three rooms here for a couple of days going up the coast. All of us got a load of bad attitude from the front desk. One of our group was over-charged for her room and the front desk guy screamed at her when she questioned it (and he didn't take the charge off). We asked around and locals said they have a bad reputation around town for being rude to people. Really no excuse for this at all.
Also, didn't like the coffee shop.
I'll make sure to stay somewhere else next time

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Alaska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Stayed in the Scandia house last year, while I was in Petersburg working for our boat the MV Sikumi. Needed a comfortable/clean place with good internet. The other cool thing was that it was right downtown and a 5 minute walk to the small boat harbor.

The Scandia house fit the bill for me.

Would recommend to anyone coming to Petersburg. They have some nice B & Bs but this is the place I would stay at.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scandia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandia House

Address: 110 Nordic Dr., Box 689, Petersburg, AK 99833
Location: United States > Alaska > Petersburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Scandia House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Scandia Hotel Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandia House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.