We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Paxson Lodge

Paxson Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paxson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paxson Lodge
Mile 185.5 Richardson Highway, Paxson, AK 99586   |  
Hotel amenities
Delta Junction, Alaska
2 reviews
“Horrid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I grew up visiting this lodge for everything from a cup of coffee on the go to a full meal. All in all my family has over 35+ years visiting this place. This morning was the first time with the new owners as we stopped for a breakfast bite to eat. Upon entering we heard the new owner tell us she "hates large groups and is finishing her coffee before I get you menus" When the man came to get our order it took almost ten mins for the group of 4 only to wait for 35 mins and them to forget my 5 year olds food all together. Food was nasty you could hear the woman owner complaining how we "all ordered the eggs but in different ways, couldn't they make it easier for her". The food and service was HORRID. I can assure you my families long standing relationship with this place is over.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    4
    6
    9
See reviews for
9
7
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We tried to get a bite to eat after risking a landing at the "bush" airstrip.
It was 86,degrees inside the lodge. There were a few people milling around
but no one appeared to be an employee. We sat down for a few minutes; no one helped us, so we flew to Anchorage for a Carl's Junior burger. The lodge, once run by a "Wiley," is now a repossession, run by a Chet and Karen. The restrooms are not sanitary and the trash cans were overflowing. We got a room there last winter, and at $100, we got a bad deal, since the room was over the bar; noisy until about 2 a.m. Clean restrooms are at mile #8, of the Denali Highway, with daily contract maintenance. The place may be ready for a bankruptcy takeover soon.

Room Tip: Call ahead: 822-3330. They may be closed. (no gasoline last time)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stopped here for lunch one day on our way from Glenallen to Delta Junction. There are not a lot of options in the area and we were hungry. It's a good thing we weren't expecting much or else we would have been incredibly disappointed. The young woman who seated us and took our order was quite rude - she rolled her eyes when one in our party changed her drink order and again when asked a question about the menu. The holes in the backside of her yoga pants (and the skin showing through) were lovely. A man, presumably the owner, looked as if he had been out back working on cars and hadn't washed his hands in a long time. Luckily he was not the one to deliver our food. The food was ok, although the cleanliness of the restaurant and the people left us questioning if it was really ok to eat there. I highly recommend taking a jar of peanut butter and a loaf of bread if traveling this direction so you can skip this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

As mentioned by other reviewers: this hotel seems to be under long-term renovation, and yes: our first idea was to head right out of the parking lot. However, we decided to stay, not in the least because of it's perfect location on the splendid Denali Highway. And we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms upstairs are clean, the beds are comfy. The meals prepared by 'Granny and Grandson' were reaaallly good. And nothing beats a beer and a meal on the deck. The owners really went the extra mile to fulfill our wishes.
If you like the standard-rooms of say Motel 6, this place is not for you. If you like something more adventurous you will love it at Paxson.

Room Tip: Ask for the frontside, unless you don't care about the noise of the generator. It is remote, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Unfortunately, I have to agree with the previous posters - this place is a dump. I feel bad, because the people were very nice and friendly, but I don't see how they can get this place into shape, as is their plan. It is a teardown. We only took in what we needed for the one night because we didn't want our entire suitcase to smell like a dirty fryer. You will smell like a french fry when you leave this place. I have never stayed in worse lodging. We got no sleep. The bed was like jello. There are no black out curtains for the midnight sun. If you are heading for Denali, just go up the paved portion of the road for 20 miles and stay at the Tangle River Inn. Or go elsewhere, period. One interesting thing, though - this place had the strongest wifi signal of anyplace we stayed in Alaska! Go figure. I wish them luck, because this is a good stopping place if you are on your way to Denali, but it's like something out of a Hitchcock movie.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This place is worse than a dump. Smelly, old( the Internet pixs must be 30 years old) we were to park our rv there and they pointed out back and he said take your pick from those 4 sites, all were surrounded by rusted out barrels, cars, and junk. Thislace is beyond repair, it needs to be bulldozed. When you come to this place KEEP GOING

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stay away from this place. The Paxson Lodge is not a lodge, but a roadside dump. It needs to be cleaned and maintenance is not existent. The carpets do not appear to have been cleaned in years. There is garbage everywhere. The manager told me she cleaned the room and the bathroom was clean, but when I pulled back the sheets to my bed I found hair. Drive the extra hour to Glennallen to the south or Delta Junction to the north. Do not stop here unless it is an absolute emergency.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. If you must then stay on the highway side because a generator runs 24/7 in the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paxson Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paxson Lodge

Address: Mile 185.5 Richardson Highway, Paxson, AK 99586
Location: United States > Alaska > Paxson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty lodging in Paxson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paxson Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Paxson Lodge to your Saves list