We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Donuts are not really that good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Slack's Sugar Shack Bakery - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Slack's Sugar Shack Bakery
340 W Evergreen Ave, Palmer, AK 99645-6953
907-745-4777
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Palmer, Alaska
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Donuts are not really that good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Some of the bakery fare is very good, but the donuts are really not that good.
They are changing hands now due to retirement, hope the new owners do well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmer, Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yummy donuts and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Slack's is a great stop for fresh donuts and coffee. Great prices and a big variety. My family loves going here on the weekends for glazed donuts. Everyone there is always friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“I love donut's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I could eat there every day if I could. Love the peanut butter bow ties and apple fritter and my kids love the sugar rings and sprinkle ones .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sweet sugary goodness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We went here for breakfast before the State Fair.
The doughnuts were soft and fresh, with a great selection.
I loved the cinnamon and sugar, my son couldn't stay away from the glazed.
Girls loved the twists.
Everything was very reasonably priced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla alaska
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best doughnuts this side of Seattle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you want a good fritter, this is the place to go. Custom cakes, and other pastries too! Support local, and go to Slacks!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slack's Sugar Shack Bakery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slack's Sugar Shack Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.