We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum! We enjoyed marvelous breakfasts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alaska Garden Gate B & B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Alaska Garden Gate B & B to your Saves list
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   950 S Trunk Rd, Palmer, AK 99645   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 13 Palmer B&B and Inns
Wadsworth, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yum! We enjoyed marvelous breakfasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

Our favorite part was the delicious breakfasts. We stayed 9 days and never had the same thing twice - waffles with whipped cream and strawberries from her garden, elegant souffles, gourmet oatmeal, layered yogurt parfaits, lots of fresh fruit. My favorite was sourdough pancakes, homemade highbush syrup Karen made, and local reindeer sausage. Karen told us where we could get it so we brought some home, too. Can you tell I like to eat?! The B&B was very nice. A couple evenings we sat with an Alaska Pale Ale and watched the sun on the glacier and mountains out the huge windows. We had great hikes all around - Karen told us about different trails and how to find the trailheads. I hiked on a glacier - what an awesome experience!

  • Liked — delicious breakfasts
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    21
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
57
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2007

We came to see as much as we could in a week, and we spent long days out in the great wild country doing everything—we took a full-day ATV tour to a glacier, we took a flightseeing trip around Mt. McKinley, we panned for gold at Hatcher Pass, and guides took us hiking on a glacier and ice-climbing. That was all so awesome and we loved the adventures and seeing moose and eagles. We came back so jazzed but so tired, too, and this B&B was a great place to rest and refuel for the next day!

Our room was the budget one and we thought we were getting a steal of a deal to have everything else that the other people in more expensive rooms had too—fantastic views, great breakfasts, really nice place.

We don’t mind sharing a bathroom, so we felt like we were getting away with murder to stay there for $79/night and get to sit and look out at a glacier and huge mountains right outside the view.

This was absolutely the right place for us—central to everything we wanted to go do.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

You will be asked to stay away from the B & B between the hours of 11 AM and 4 PM ( the owner operator wants privacy during those hours ) so don't think you can hang out and read a book. Dog hair covering the cloth covered sofa ( Little Girl (Huskey claims this sofa as her own ) - the leather sofa doesn't show the hair. You are not permitted to wear shoes inside anywhere and so must walk thru dog hair etc . Breakfast is OK but the breads are not made from scratch - cake mixes are used. Blueberries are lovely addition to breads etc but they are picked at Hatcher Pass competeing with the natural habitat bears who depend on them for end of summer fattening up for winter hibernation. You better not stay anywhere but your room after 10 PM or you will be told that the living room is closed. Remember in the summer it is still very much day light at that time. In general the description given in the literature of this B & B is very much overstated.

  • Liked — Close to Palmer
  • Disliked — Dog hair all over, breakfasts uninspired, stairs to bathroom
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardengatebnb, Owner at Alaska Garden Gate B & B, responded to this review, October 16, 2007
I owe these guests an apology--there was dog fur all over because the kids/family staying for the week had played with my husky that night after I had vacuumed earlier in the day.

Much of what she says is true in this review. I feel bad because I had just lost a very good summer helper (she got recalled to the military of all things) and it was a struggle to keep up excellence. However, my fruit breads are not out of a box and the bears are not underfed because I gathered a 5-gallon pail of wild blueberries. The eggs were simple due to a request from the older couple who stayed the same night and asked for something gentle to their constitutions.

I do defend my policy to keep the house quiet between 10 p.m. and 7 a.m. It can be hard to sleep during the "midnight sun" and get your body to quiet down, even without people having a fun time conversing and laughing in the living room. I know these guests just wanted to use the computer quietly, but if they were in the living room, it invites others to come chat. There is wireless internet in each room, as well as TVs/movies in all but the two budget rooms. Everyone comes here from a different time zone and we recognize that your body might be wide awake at midnight or 4 a.m. but it helps others sleep if guests can keep themselves busy and quiet in their rooms until 7 a.m. so everyone gets a fair chance at quiet sleep.

Thanks to all who have taken the time to put in a review. I appreciate each review and always seek to improve. Because of the first review we got on TripAdvisor, we installed a new door so that B&B room now has a door to the bathroom and you don't need to go out into the hall to the bathroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battlefield, MO USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2006

My wife and I enjoyed our stay so very much, and Susan Harris, the owner is a great hostess. The B&B is in a newer home, and has a genuine "home" feel.

Hans and Little Girl, the huskies, are gentle and loving, and "mooch" a little if you let them.

The rooms are comfy, and well appointed. Several have whirlpool tubs, microwave and small refridgerators. Some have phones, and nearly all have small television/VCR

Our room, although small, was comfortable and neat. The only complaint is that the bathroom is not "within" the room, but in a small hallway just outside the room's door. It could easily be changed by moving the room door to just beyond the bathroom and enclosing the hallway, thus making the bathroom a part of the room itself. Other rooms have bathroom "ensuite".

Breakfasts are to die for! Belgian waffles, soufle's, home-made preserves, hot and thick oatmeal with fresh berries among other items were delicious and nicely prepared.

The grounds are lovely and offer great views of the mountains.

There are a multitude of books on local history and culture, both in the living room and in the rooms, and a computer with internet access is available for guest use.

Ms Harris is a wealth of information on the locality and can recommend any number of activities and sights for your enjoyment. She is also a delight to just sit and talk with.

Thumbs up for the Garden Gate!

Don and Sally Smith
Battlefield, MO

  • Liked — Views, grat hospitality by the owner, lovely setting
  • Disliked — Location of the bathroom for our room
  • Tips/Secrets — Call for directions, it is a little hard to find
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alaska Garden Gate B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Garden Gate B & B

Address: 950 S Trunk Rd, Palmer, AK 99645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Palmer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Palmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alaska Garden Gate B & B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Alaska Garden Gate B&B and Cottages, between Palmer and Wasilla, Alaska, just 35 minutes north of Anchorage. Take in the breathtaking views of glaciers and mountains while relaxing in the comfortable setting of your private apartment. At Alaska Garden Gate, we offer seven cottages and five guest houses to accommodate the needs of everyone, from corporate travelers or international tourists. We feature Queen and King beds, fireplaces, Jacuzzis, full kitchens and living rooms, cable TV and free wireless internet. Additionally, a generous breakfast buffet is provided 7:30-9:30 a.M. Make our B&B your home away from home while you explore on day-trips in all directions. From everyone at Alaska Garden Gate B&B and Cottages, we look forward to sharing our love of Alaska with you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Alaska Garden Gate B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaska Garden Gate B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.