We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helicopter Ride + Dog Sledding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Group 3 Aviation

Group 3 Aviation
29979 Knik River Rd, Palmer, AK 99645
907-243-0147
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Attractions in Palmer
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ultimate Alaskan Adventure! Experience a dog sledding adventure you will never forget! Fly in your own private helicopter to a remote snow covered glacier. How about landing on a glacier? We will fly you above the Knik Glacier; an impressive 25-mile long, 6-mile wide river of ice. Your helicopter will land on a glacier, right in the middle of some of the most dramatic mountain scenery in Alaska. Step out onto ice thousands of years old. Experience the wonder and beauty that is Alaska in its glacial melt pools and stunning ice sculptures created by water, wind, and sun. We also offer kayaking, hiking and ice climbing excursions via helicopter. During summer our flights depart from our off airport base at Knik River Lodge. Located just an hour northeast of Anchorage, Knik River Lodge is ideally suited to serve as the starting point for a great Alaskan adventure.
San Marcos, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Helicopter Ride + Dog Sledding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were in Alaska visiting my husband who is up there working. What an amazing experience at Lake George, along the Knik Glacier!! I went on this trip with my daughter and had an awesome time. Was picked up at our hotel and had a wonderful drive to their base of operations. Everyone at Group 3 Aviation was very friendly and had an amazing sense of customer service. The pilot and the helicopter ride were great!! What an experience to land on a Glacier!! Learned lots about the area and the other glaciers we flew over. The crew at the base camp(with the dogs) on the glacier were wonderful. Dogs were amazing...what phenomenal athletes. Learned lots about the history of the Iditarod what it takes to run in and be a part of that amazing event. This was definitely a once in a lifetime experience!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Most Memorable Vacation Moment Ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

While visiting Alaska we wanted to take the kids to do something memorable. A helicopter ride and dog sledding was it. Although this compnay was a little more expensive, its well worth it. Who you go to the dog sledding with is who you are with the whole time. Its more of a private tour rather than a tourist tour. Just you and dog musher. The crew was on time and very friendly. They returned every call and were very helpful. From the moment we arrived at the lodge they fly out of, our pilot Gene was there to greet us. The helicopter ride to the glacier is breath taking. When we arrived at the glacier, the dogs were geared up and ready to go. There was a second sled hooked up so each of us got to "drive" the dogs ourself, even the kids. After the ride, we were able to meet all the dogs who took us around the 2 mile loop. We loved every minute of this and would reccomend this to everyone. Thanks for an amazing time and a great family memory.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Flight Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I took my wife to anchorage for our anniversary, and decided to do this flight seeing tour, and chose the knik river lodge flight seeing tour. Was the first time my wife went on a helicopter. Needless to say, she had a fantastic time! The pilots were very helpful in all things including information on what we were doing and seeing. made the trip very rememberable and enjoyable. We even got to see some local wildlife. I, myself, HIGHLY recomend Group 3 Avaition of Knik River Lodge!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Helicopter? A fantastic way to get there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I had the pleasure of flying in my very first helicopter on 6/28/2012 with Group 3 Aviation. This was the "fun" part of our planning retreat and after a long morning of being brilliant and solving the world's problems (as we like to joke), we were escorted by Group 3 Aviation Lake George, along the Knik Glacier for lunch. What an awesome experience! Being stationed at the Knik River Lodge, our meeting place, and home to some 30 beautiful cabins along a gorgeous valley in the Knik River, it was simple to just hop on board with our wonderful pilot Peter, one of the partners with Group 3. Not only will this company take you all over Alaska, they have teamed up with some partners to provide truly Alaska experiences. How about glacier dog sledding? Or a glacier landing? Amazing. While I live in Alaska and experience it's beauty on a daily basis, it's nice to get away, no cars, no people and just experience the magnificence of it. Group three is a fun and original way to get where no road belongs. In case you're in Anchorage, you can find this company at Merrill Field too for whatever you need. Full disclosure-while I work for Visit Anchorage, and Group 3 is a member this is in no way a paid endorsement.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best excursion in Alaska!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We just arrived home from our vacation to Alaska. We had a wonderful time!
We went on five excursions, and we saw many amazing sights! The best excursion,
by far, was the helicopter and dog sled ride out of Knik River Lodge. The
sights from the helicopter and the glacier were fantastic! The experience of
the dog sled camp: talking with the musher from the Iditarod, riding in the dog
sled, and the opportunity to be the musher were "out of this world". I also
loved getting to meet each of the dogs and spend time with them. This is an
experience we will never forget! Your entire operation, including the driver,
pilot, and musher, were first-rate! Our advice to anyone who is planning a trip
to Alaska is "Do not pass up this opportunity. If you can only go on one
excursion, this is the one you do not want to miss!" If we ever return to
Alaska, we will be calling you to book the same excursion. Thank you so much!
Sincerely, Pat

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Group 3 Aviation also viewed

 

Been to Group 3 Aviation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Group 3 Aviation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.