We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting, neat experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Musk Ox Farm

Musk Ox Farm
12850 E Archie Rd, Palmer, AK 99645
907 745 4151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 Attractions in Palmer
Type: Farms
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The home to numerous musk oxes, this farm offers guided tours.
Mosinee, WI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Interesting, neat experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our family of five adults chose this attraction because of the unique experience of seeing a musk ox up close. We really enjoyed being able to feed the yearlings grass thru the fence, and seeing musk ox all the way from little ones born this year to the older full grown bulls. Our tour guide was very experienced, and she gave a lengthy educational tour that we all enjoyed. Her stories of the musk ox escapades were funny. The farm is very clean and the views are very pretty with the mountains in the background. There is a red barn that has educatonal displays which takes about a half hour to see. We saw part before our tour, and finished after our tour.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    32
    18
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Getting Up Close and Personal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This place is well worth a visit. How often do you get to see real muskox so closely, from babies to yearlings to massive bulls? The guided tour was comprehensive and thoroughly interesting, and there are displays inside the building to further your knowledge. The qiviot wool products they sell there are pricey but the wool is so delightfully soft and each piece is a distinctive native handcraft; a great souvenir the proceeds of which help the farm look after the muskox. I am really glad we detoured out of our way to Denali to stop there; it was not an arduous journey and well worth it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great location & great experience for the whole family. Kid under 5 yrs. of age maybe for a short time. The animals are very interesting. The talk given by the guide is very good & educational.
This a non-profit operation. They currently have around 80 animals from 4 months to the big guys. They lead you out into enclose pasture areas to see the different age groups.
They have a great exhibits & pictures inside the red barn.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What a cool place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My son & I were supposed to take a ferry ride across Prince William Sound to Valdez before heading north to Paxson, but the ferry had mechanical problems so we had to drive around, which meant crossing the Glenn Highway. We pulled out our guidebooks to find something fun to do and decided to try the Musk Ox Farm when we made it to Palmer, where we were going to spend the night. It took us a bit longer to get there than anticipated, and it was nearing closing time when we arrived. We raced inside and were sent out the back door to catch up with a tour group, with instructions to pay when we came back in - wow, what a surprise that was!! We raced out to catch the group of about 8-10 and a guide and joined them just before they reached the baby pen - what luck! There were a dozen or so Musk Ox calves to "meet" - all baby animals are cute and Musk Oxen are certainly no exception! This was in July (2012) and the babies were all born in April and May, so they were just a couple of months old. After spending time with the babies, we went on to see the yearlings, the two-three year-olds, then some bulls, then back by the babies, before heading back to the barn. I have no idea how long we were outside and I don't even remember our guide's name, but she was full of information, clearly loves the Musk Oxen, and was funny. We were able to get a lot of photos and to straggle behind as much as we wanted, to get photos and see the babies one more time, which was great. We then visited exhibits and gift shop inside, paid for our tour and souvenirs, and headed out. The exhibits were almost anti-climactic after seeing the live animals, but that's not to say they're not nice and informative. It was nice to learn that the farm is not-for-profit and that you can "adopt" the animals - even online! The gift shop doesn't have a lot, but the gifts are nice and reasonably priced. We were only there about an hour, but I felt that we got our money's worth - this is not something you can do anywhere else, after all!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Descent of Ice Age”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Palmer, Alaska is in between Talkteena and Anchorage. It is well worth the trip to visit this non-profit Musk Ox Farm to see how they are re-introducing this descent of the ice age back into Alaska. This animal is not an ox and has no musk glands. Its DNA suggest it is related to the mountain goat. Ask about its teeth as this is unique! There is a small fee for admission to see the farm.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musk Ox Farm also viewed

 

Been to Musk Ox Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musk Ox Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.