We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting, neat experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Musk Ox Farm

Musk Ox Farm
12850 E Archie Rd, Palmer, AK 99645
+1 907-745-4151
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Palmer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From September 21st-Mothers Day we will be open only by reservations. During our winter season we have limited staff for tours. We offer tours Monday-Friday.
Mosinee, WI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting, neat experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our family of five adults chose this attraction because of the unique experience of seeing a musk ox up close. We really enjoyed being able to feed the yearlings grass thru the fence, and seeing musk ox all the way from little ones born this year to the older full grown bulls. Our tour guide was very experienced, and she gave a lengthy educational tour that we all enjoyed. Her stories of the musk ox escapades were funny. The farm is very clean and the views are very pretty with the mountains in the background. There is a red barn that has educatonal displays which takes about a half hour to see. We saw part before our tour, and finished after our tour.

Visited July 2012
Thank Herhims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Getting Up Close and Personal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This place is well worth a visit. How often do you get to see real muskox so closely, from babies to yearlings to massive bulls? The guided tour was comprehensive and thoroughly interesting, and there are displays inside the building to further your knowledge. The qiviot wool products they sell there are pricey but the wool is so delightfully soft and each piece is a distinctive native handcraft; a great souvenir the proceeds of which help the farm look after the muskox. I am really glad we detoured out of our way to Denali to stop there; it was not an arduous journey and well worth it.

Visited September 2012
1 Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great location & great experience for the whole family. Kid under 5 yrs. of age maybe for a short time. The animals are very interesting. The talk given by the guide is very good & educational.
This a non-profit operation. They currently have around 80 animals from 4 months to the big guys. They lead you out into enclose pasture areas to see the different age groups.
They have a great exhibits & pictures inside the red barn.

Visited August 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What a cool place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My son & I were supposed to take a ferry ride across Prince William Sound to Valdez before heading north to Paxson, but the ferry had mechanical problems so we had to drive around, which meant crossing the Glenn Highway. We pulled out our guidebooks to find something fun to do and decided to try the Musk Ox Farm when we made it to Palmer, where we were going to spend the night. It took us a bit longer to get there than anticipated, and it was nearing closing time when we arrived. We raced inside and were sent out the back door to catch up with a tour group, with instructions to pay when we came back in - wow, what a surprise that was!! We raced out to catch the group of about 8-10 and a guide and joined them just before they reached the baby pen - what luck! There were a dozen or so Musk Ox calves to "meet" - all baby animals are cute and Musk Oxen are certainly no exception! This was in July (2012) and the babies were all born in April and May, so they were just a couple of months old. After spending time with the babies, we went on to see the yearlings, the two-three year-olds, then some bulls, then back by the babies, before heading back to the barn. I have no idea how long we were outside and I don't even remember our guide's name, but she was full of information, clearly loves the Musk Oxen, and was funny. We were able to get a lot of photos and to straggle behind as much as we wanted, to get photos and see the babies one more time, which was great. We then visited exhibits and gift shop inside, paid for our tour and souvenirs, and headed out. The exhibits were almost anti-climactic after seeing the live animals, but that's not to say they're not nice and informative. It was nice to learn that the farm is not-for-profit and that you can "adopt" the animals - even online! The gift shop doesn't have a lot, but the gifts are nice and reasonably priced. We were only there about an hour, but I felt that we got our money's worth - this is not something you can do anywhere else, after all!

Visited July 2012
Thank lisab99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, FL
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Descent of Ice Age”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Palmer, Alaska is in between Talkteena and Anchorage. It is well worth the trip to visit this non-profit Musk Ox Farm to see how they are re-introducing this descent of the ice age back into Alaska. This animal is not an ox and has no musk glands. Its DNA suggest it is related to the mountain goat. Ask about its teeth as this is unique! There is a small fee for admission to see the farm.

Visited July 2012
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musk Ox Farm also viewed


Been to Musk Ox Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing