We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trail Lake Lodge

Save Saved
You added Trail Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trail Lake Lodge
Mile 29.5 Seward Hwy, Moose Pass, AK 99631   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Moose Pass
Golden, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stopped here for a break on our way to Seward and ended up booking a room for the night. The rooms were nice; very cute, well appointed and comfy beds. We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and both were excellent. The staff was so friendly and nice, and the pricing was much more reasonable than we had found elsewhere. Thanks to all the staff for a great stay! An excellent value for the money. I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are bigger and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
13
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

A truly classic Alaskan experience. Situated on Trail Lake, the lodge offers spectacular views at every turn. The Alaskan RR passes four times a day and only adds to the experience of being there. The lodge itself is simply perfect. It has a great staff and a rustic bar with some friendly and rustic locals happy to engage in conversation. The owner, Dave "Steamer" Fulton is a retired Marine Colonel and is friendly and engaging and so is his chocolate lab - Bo. Great stories abound! The restaurant food is exceptional and the coffee is always hot. The rooms are comfortable and configured with "black out" curtains so you can sleep during the "midnight sun". See Alaska in a real setting with real people and enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The facility is really basic. Too many particulars made me feel sort of sad: the cramped room, the fact that the water basin was outside the bathroom and just in front of the bed, the smell inside the room, the thin windows from which any noise would pass through...
The pricing is actually correct, but at the same time I think the owner could have improved the facility a great deal, just with the same investment.

As a client, I preferred and actually loved Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, for instance, which is just a few miles South.

A plus of Trail Lake Lodge is the fact that it has a restaurant, with very friendly and efficient staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We didn't stay at the lodge but we did visit the restaurant on our way through town. We loved the food and the waitstaff were friendly and accomodating. I hope to stop by for a visit on my next trip to Alaska! The black and blue BBQ sauce is to die for and the blue cheese dressing was ah-mazing. I had chicken wings and a salmon burger. Both were dynamite! I highly recommend stopping by for a bite to eat if you are in Moose Pass.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kings mountian, nc
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We ate in the restaurant several times and stayed in the lodge upstairs. The lodge is not exactly the Ritz, but clean and all the necessities are there. Beautiful lake behind with float plane rides available. Great food in the restaurant - try the hamburger with fried egg and reindeer sausage on top. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Hubby and I stayed here last minute and it was just dandy. The bar atmosphere is brilliant - albeit a bit slow. We had a motel room which was expensive but fine - there's actually some effort put into the decor (appreciated!). There was music on and loads of young (20-something) people dancing their hearts out in the pavilion. Loads of fun even if we 30-somethings felt like old farts. It was nice to stay a bit outside of Seward one night and then one night in Seward. The lake itself is beautiful.

Room Tip: I would stay in the motel just because of noise issues. If you don't want to party with the enti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

We stop in Moose Pass every summer and see the folks at Trail Lake Lodge. Go in Hungry and get the Grub Steak Burger! My wife had. A salad that was great, fresh greens. There is a full bar and good beer selection.

I also recommend going when they have a music venue. We saw Hobo Jim there one and it was great!

While Moose Pass is small there are a number of folks that live back in the woods in the area. The community comes to the lodge for evening meals and drinks. You'll meet miners, forest service workers, bush pilots, hatchery employees.

Just a fun place to slow down, grab a beer and a burger and meet folks.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trail Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trail Lake Lodge

Address: Mile 29.5 Seward Hwy, Moose Pass, AK 99631
Location: United States > Alaska > Moose Pass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Moose Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trail Lake Lodge and the Kenai Peninsula Learning Center provides our customers with the highest quality, friendly service and comfortable atmosphere for an unforgettable lodging, dining, and recreational experience on Alaska’s Kenai Peninsula. Trail Lake Lodge and the Kenai Peninsula are famous for its location and proximity to spectacular fishing, hunting, and wildlife and scenery photography. We offer: •Many all inclusive vacation packages •Professionally guided sport fishing for trout, salmon and ocean fishing for halibut, cod and other Alaskan species. •Floatplane fishing trips to remote lakes and streams on the Kenai Peninsula •Wilderness trips for fishing, overnight backpacking expeditions, sea kayaking and canoe rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Trail Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trail Lake Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trail Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.