We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful modern cabins on the lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Lake Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Summit Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Summit Lake Lodge
51826 Seward hwy, Moose Pass, AK 99631   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful modern cabins on the lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The cabins were very modern. They looked like they had been built very recently, but there were still cute pictures that made it feel like a cozy cabin. Plus the beds were extra comfy!
The breakfast that comes with it was great- I got a very yummy omlet!
You can check out canoes and paddle boats for free to take out on the lake. We took the canoe out and it was a lot of fun.
There were a lot of bugs late at night, so we walked quickly from our car to the cabin. You wouldn't want to spend much time outside late at night near there.

Room Tip: The cabins are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    28
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
51
73
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed one night on July 21, 2013 in order to go fly fishing on the Kenai. The cabin was much bigger than I expected and beautifully decorated. I fished on Saturday afternoon and did not catch anything. One of the staff members felt bad and offered to make me salmon he had just caught. Then later that evening, well after they were closed, I went over to pay for another fishing guide. June, the owner, opened up for me in order to pay. When I told her I was leaving at 5 a.m. to fish for the day she made me both a breakfast and lunch to take with me (at no extra charge).

The staff is incredibly nice and the accommodations are exquisite. Stay more than one night if you can.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Summit Lake Lodge & had a wonderful time. The place is gorgeous, staff is superb, breakfast is plentiful & delicious,. . . . This was the best place we stayed in our 2 weeks in Alaska.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were delighted with our comfortable room at Summit Lake. We had booked fishing at Cooper Landing and then Kenai Fjords cruise out of Seward, so we were packed a generous breakfast basket each morning as we left before breakfast starts at 8 am. Very comfortable and accommodating staff. We were two adults travelling with our 12 year old son, so the cabins were perfect with Queen and single bed arrangement. The extra basin outside the bathroom is always great when everyone is getting ready at the same time.

Summit Lake is charming and there were kayaking and fishing options available.

There is a restaurant and also a separate pizza and ice-cream joint. The Restaurant fare was very good. Recommendations for salads and burgers. We ate here on both nights of our stay.

Summit Lake was comfortable and provided for a terrific stay. It was good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our threesome was spending a couple of days on the Kenai Peninsula after a cruise that disembarked in Seward and then traveled on to Denali. This was by far the nicest lodge that we stayed at during our entire road trip. Our cabin was roomy and comfortable. It was really nice to have a separate sink area as well as a full, roomy modern bathroom. The inclusive breakfast was enormous and delicious and the dinners that we had were also very good. Our only disappointment on our first day was that the restaurant had run out of salmon for dinner...in Alaska??? The staff was exceptional and very well trained. The setting is beautiful...mountains all around and a peaceful view of the lake. It's close to hiking trails, fishing, Seward, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked this place to be close to Seward on our way from Anchorage. It was so unexpectedly good! The check in process is a little strange since it is at a table in the middle of the room past the host stand for the restaurant. But we got our keys and went to the Moose Retreat cabin. There were 4 of us - 2 adults and 2 kids. The 2 queen beds were so comfortable. On the outside, it seems like a tiny log cabin but when you go inside, it is like a nice, spacious lake house. Separate WC, shower and 2 sinks so everyone can easily get ready simultaneously. The cabins had been renovated this year so everything was immaculately clean.

We went into the restaurant which is very rustic looking with strange rounded windows that reminded me of a Denny's. I'm expecting burgers, pizza and fish - like every other casual dining restaurant in Alaska. Nope... we had a delicious Northwest chicken salad with cranberries and blue cheese, chicken Marsala and a nice kids menu too. The servers both at dinner and breakfast were really friendly college kids who summer in Alaska and work there. Much like we found at almost every other tourist destination in Alaska.

Yes, we could faintly hear cars from the highway at night but there were like 5 cars total... You are pretty remote. And the previous review about no hair dryers has been fixed.

We wished that we had more time to rent kayaks and enjoy the beautiful lake there. It was in the middle of the Chugach National Forest and was so beautiful. A perfect spot to stay as a destination or on your way to Seward.

Room Tip: Moose retreat cabin was great for family of 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantana, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our group was traveling to Denali, and we spent one night at Summit Lake Lodge. We had reserved a motel room for two which was clean, small, but charming and comfortable. The outside deck afforded us opportunity to relax with a glass of wine and enjoy the lovely views in the evening. Three others in our group had a nearby cabin which was just lovely with modern amenities. When we arrived we were met with the most friendly service by the manager, and his cousin was not only extremely nice, but so helpful getting us settled in. We all wished that we had more time to spend here and enjoy the immediate and surrounding areas. The lodge sits beside a beautiful lake that is surrounded by hills and mountains that offer great opportunity for hiking and fishing. My hope is to return to this area of Alaska and explore and experience all that is offered. When I do, I'll definitely use Summit Lake Lodge as a home base. By the way, the breakfast was included, and it was delicious! We were able to order directly from the regular menu. We arrived too late the night before to eat dinner at the restaurant, but were able to enjoy a delicious pizza at the cafe on the premises, which also offered lovely views of the lake. Summit Lake Lodge is just awesome! Oh, I forgot to mention an added bonus...the owners fabulous dog Henry! He's a delight!

Room Tip: The motel room was small, suited for a good night's sleep, but no sitting area, TV. However, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summit Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Lake Lodge

Address: 51826 Seward hwy, Moose Pass, AK 99631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Moose Pass
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Moose Pass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Summit Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Lake Hotel Moose Pass
Moose Pass Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.