We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alaska's Kodiak Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Larsen Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alaska's Kodiak Island Resort
Save
You added Alaska's Kodiak Island Resort to your Saves list
101 1st Street, Larsen Bay, Kodiak Island, AK 99624   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2015 Spring King Special!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larsen Bay
Katy, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Vacation ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife, son and I returned June 27th from a trip to Kodiak Island Resort. This vacation will be the standard for every vacation we will take from now forward. Allen and April Walburn are wonderful owners/hosts, and the boat captain, Joe Walburn, put us on fish every day. We also saw many whales, sea otters, sea lions, foxes, puffins and eagles. The rest of the staff, Nick, Carmen, Abby and Nell were great also. We were treated with kindness and respect and the food was wonderful as well. What more could one expect from a vacation. I hope to one day visit Kodiak Island Resort again, and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to experience Alaska in it's finest setting with the enjoyment of luxury accommodations and gracious hosts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    4
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
10
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Excellent location, great staff, attention to detail, true luxury bedding, great wildlife and delicious food. Experience rugged Kodiak and return to 5 Star accommodations! Allen, April, Joe, Nick, Carmen, Abby and Nel make the beautiful lodge and boat come to life. My wife loves nature, but is not into a normal "lodge" experience and she loved it!! I hope we are fortunate enough to return!

Room Tip: Every room is excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

There is a good reason that Kodiak Island Resort is rated #1 on the island. It's perfect. One of the few daily flights from Kodiak City lands a quarter mile from the lodge which looks brand new but is actually six or seven years old. It has huge open spaces but only six bedrooms and not all the bedrooms were taken so neither the lodge or boat was overcrowded. The lodge overlooks the marina where it is only a short walk to their catamaran. It's a perfect fishing boat powered by two 250 horsepower Yamahas so it's a perfect combination of stability and speed. One day the seas were up and we watched other Larsen bay boats bouncing around like corks. It has all the latest electronics and a crew of two that knew how to find the fish. As noted by other posters, the food was delicious and Allen and April are terrific hosts. Picking Kodiak Island Resort for your next fishing or wildlife trip is a no-brainer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

2 colleagues and myself stayed at the Kodiak Lodge Resort for 5 nights and 4 full days of fishing. It was more than a vacation, it was an experience of a lifetime. The fishing was unreal. We caught halibut, 5 different species of cod, salmon, and toad fish (better known as 'mother-in-law fish). Perhaps the most memorable part of the fishing trips was eating sashimi on the boat. Eating freshly caught fish that was prepared raw by our friendly crew. Speaking of which, we had 2 outstanding crew members (Joe and Hunter) who really knew how to take care of us, and knew where to find the fish. Both Joe and Hunter are clearly seasoned veterans of the Larsen Bay, and we were fortunate and honored to have them as our guides. We caught over 100 fish a day. It got to the point where we wanted to go somewhere else to catch less fish so we can enjoy the spectacular scenery which included whales, seals, dolphins, and an incredible view of the lush and snowy mountains. Fishing was only one of the many attractions of our experience. The food was outstanding. I've been to many fine restaurants across the world and the food was comparable to any 5 star restaurant. Now on to the staff. The staff at Kodiak Resort was exceptional. April is an angel who was very attentive and accommodating. Since I'm a rather picky eater, she packed a special lunch for me every morning which included soy sauce and wasabi so we can enjoy eating sashimi on the boat. All other staff members were just as nice and enjoyable. Allen, the owner, thought of every little detail when creating his island of paradise including high speed Internet, cable TV, comfortable beds and linens, perfectly designed and very comfortable fishing boat, etc. Overall, we couldn't be happier with our experience. This was our first time to Alaska and look forward to many more memorable trips to the Kodiak Resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

From the fabulous 600 count sheets that help you get a great night’s sleep, to curling up on the comfy leather couch watching the pair of eagles roosting on the channel marker, Kodiak Island Resort truly provides much more than a great day of fishing. Joe and Hunter put us on fish and had the equipment and skill to make a trip great even when the weather or seas weren’t optimal. Our arms hurt from all the fish we brought to the boat each and every day. It was so hard to see that first 20 pounder go back to the sea but by the end of the day, you too, knew that even the 30 pounder wasn’t a keeper. Equally commendable was the responsible fishing ethic that Joe and Hunter demonstrated –we changed up the gear and went after something else if the boat had caught our species limit– great success on whatever they went after from salmon, ling cod and halibut to yellow-eye rock fish and gray cod.
With up to six guests on their catamaran, even lunch was a treat as we all got to search through our never ending lunch box to see what Allen, April and staff had provided – who would have expected customized lunches placed in our own color coded container on a fishing adventure that required five planes to reach from the east coast. After three fantastic and faced paced fishing days, my husband and I opted for a trip with Jack, a native guide, with delightful stories about the history of the area and skill to put us right where we needed to be for great pictures of whales, seals, porpoise and otters as well as the ability to put us on that big halibut and one of the first salmon of the season.
The magnificent meals served by a delightful staff were often fresh from our catch. Smoked salmon with corn chowder, macadamia nut encrusted halibut, and fresh crab on the best salad ever were only a few of the menu items presented during our stay - oh I forgot the crab cake and fabulous seafood pot stickers appetizers served while overlooking Larsen Bay. The only challenge may be underestimating the amount of adult beverages you may need in this “wet” community. For those who don’t know, throughout Alaska, many communities went wet, i.e. you can possess alcoholic beverages for personal consumption but no sales are allowed, to the full “dry” rule that prevents the possession or consumption of alcohol. Luckily, Allen and April make sure you know that you have to make a stop in Kodiak City before boarding your six seater deHavilland Beaver for the final leg of your trip. Even the most seasoned traveler will enjoy flying under the clouds looking up at the beautiful snowcapped mountains while peering down on the streams and lakes that make up the Emerald Isle.
We can say that Kodiak Island Resort did such a great job with our trip of a life-time that we are now looking at our calendar to see when we can go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a vacation at the Kodiak Island Resort. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed our stay. The hosts April and Allen Walburn know how to
treat their guests. The lodge they built about seven years ago is a wonderful lodge and
is decorated beautifully for Kodiak. The location is serene and you can watch bald eagles
soaring around their property. The meals were all first class including the box lunches.
Their fishing boat is very stable and the crew members are extremely knowledgeable.
They know the location for the type of fishing you want each day. We caught Halibut, Cod,
Lingcod, Yelloweye and Rockfish. We also saw lots of whales while out each day fishing.
My husband has traveled to Alaska on approximately 10 fishing trips with his buddies all
male. He and I have had several trips to Alaska over the years also, we were in the Homer
area, Kenai Peninsula, Glacier Bay, Juneau, Ketchikan and one year spent one week on Prince of Wales Island.
We both agree that this was the best trip so far of all. We enjoyed our complete stay at
Kodiak Island Resort.
If you enjoy an alcoholic beverage pay heed to your instructions from KIR before you travel
to Larsen Bay. You can purchase your choice of beverage in Kodiak before you travel over
to Larsen Bay. Also you need to pay attention to the weather at Kodaik Airport and give some
thought to arrangements if your flight from Anchorage to Kodiak, or from Kodiak to Larsen Bay
is delayed or canceled due to fog or bad weather.
All in All we had a wonderful vacation and came home with four boxes of fish that were still
frozen and packed very well. April, Allen and their entire staff do an excellent job for their guests.
Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

You may think this title is an oxymoron but it is the best way I can describe my recent trip to the Walburn's Kodiak Island Resort at Larsen Bay in the northwest portion of Kodiak Island, Alaska.
Take these into consideration if you are looking for a fishing/relaxing getaway. Gorgeous scenery, snowcap vistas, laid back, gourmet meals and plenty of them! Add this to fantastic fishing on a comfortable boat with a great captain and crew.
Oh, forgot to mention. When is the last time you saw more bald eagles at one time compared to the rest of your life? A tide that rises and falls by 25 feet. Watch whales while hooking the likes of halibut, cod, yellow eye and salmon. You get to do all of this while staying at, by far, the best looking, most comfortable lodge maybe in all of Alaska, but for sure on Kodiak island.
BTW, did I mention that they let you set your own trap for crabs and after pulling your trap the next day, guess what, fresh whole Alaskan crab dinner! Talk about a memory!

Hope you can see why it was probably the most relaxed adrentine rush in my lifetime - and I've traveled more than most!!!!

Minor warning - If you are NOT a teatotaler, make sure to pick up your favorites prior to flying in from Kodiak (they have a liquor store in town) and/or Anchorage. The lodge is not permited to dispense any alcohol free or for sale.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two bedroom facing north since they face the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alaska's Kodiak Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska's Kodiak Island Resort

Address: 101 1st Street, Larsen Bay, Kodiak Island, AK 99624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Kodiak Island > Larsen Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larsen Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Fishing Lodge in the heart of the Alaskan wilderness. Situated in the village of Larsen Bay on Kodiak Island, Kodiak Island Resort is quite simply the most luxurious wilderness fishing lodge on Kodiak. Designed for absolute comfort. Positioned to capture spectacular views of the landscape. We provide first class meals, lodging and fishing adventures. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alaska`s Kodiak Island Hotel Larsen Bay
Alaska's Kodiak Island Resort Larsen Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaska's Kodiak Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.