We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can we say but “PERFECT”.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alaska's Kodiak Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Larsen Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alaska's Kodiak Island Resort
Save
You added Alaska's Kodiak Island Resort to your Saves list
101 1st Street, Larsen Bay, Kodiak Island, AK 99624   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2015 Spring King Special!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larsen Bay
Beaufort, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What can we say but “PERFECT”.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

From the fabulous 600 count sheets that help you get a great night’s sleep, to curling up on the comfy leather couch watching the pair of eagles roosting on the channel marker, Kodiak Island Resort truly provides much more than a great day of fishing. Joe and Hunter put us on fish and had the equipment and skill to make a trip great even when the weather or seas weren’t optimal. Our arms hurt from all the fish we brought to the boat each and every day. It was so hard to see that first 20 pounder go back to the sea but by the end of the day, you too, knew that even the 30 pounder wasn’t a keeper. Equally commendable was the responsible fishing ethic that Joe and Hunter demonstrated –we changed up the gear and went after something else if the boat had caught our species limit– great success on whatever they went after from salmon, ling cod and halibut to yellow-eye rock fish and gray cod.
With up to six guests on their catamaran, even lunch was a treat as we all got to search through our never ending lunch box to see what Allen, April and staff had provided – who would have expected customized lunches placed in our own color coded container on a fishing adventure that required five planes to reach from the east coast. After three fantastic and faced paced fishing days, my husband and I opted for a trip with Jack, a native guide, with delightful stories about the history of the area and skill to put us right where we needed to be for great pictures of whales, seals, porpoise and otters as well as the ability to put us on that big halibut and one of the first salmon of the season.
The magnificent meals served by a delightful staff were often fresh from our catch. Smoked salmon with corn chowder, macadamia nut encrusted halibut, and fresh crab on the best salad ever were only a few of the menu items presented during our stay - oh I forgot the crab cake and fabulous seafood pot stickers appetizers served while overlooking Larsen Bay. The only challenge may be underestimating the amount of adult beverages you may need in this “wet” community. For those who don’t know, throughout Alaska, many communities went wet, i.e. you can possess alcoholic beverages for personal consumption but no sales are allowed, to the full “dry” rule that prevents the possession or consumption of alcohol. Luckily, Allen and April make sure you know that you have to make a stop in Kodiak City before boarding your six seater deHavilland Beaver for the final leg of your trip. Even the most seasoned traveler will enjoy flying under the clouds looking up at the beautiful snowcapped mountains while peering down on the streams and lakes that make up the Emerald Isle.
We can say that Kodiak Island Resort did such a great job with our trip of a life-time that we are now looking at our calendar to see when we can go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    4
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
10
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a vacation at the Kodiak Island Resort. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed our stay. The hosts April and Allen Walburn know how to
treat their guests. The lodge they built about seven years ago is a wonderful lodge and
is decorated beautifully for Kodiak. The location is serene and you can watch bald eagles
soaring around their property. The meals were all first class including the box lunches.
Their fishing boat is very stable and the crew members are extremely knowledgeable.
They know the location for the type of fishing you want each day. We caught Halibut, Cod,
Lingcod, Yelloweye and Rockfish. We also saw lots of whales while out each day fishing.
My husband has traveled to Alaska on approximately 10 fishing trips with his buddies all
male. He and I have had several trips to Alaska over the years also, we were in the Homer
area, Kenai Peninsula, Glacier Bay, Juneau, Ketchikan and one year spent one week on Prince of Wales Island.
We both agree that this was the best trip so far of all. We enjoyed our complete stay at
Kodiak Island Resort.
If you enjoy an alcoholic beverage pay heed to your instructions from KIR before you travel
to Larsen Bay. You can purchase your choice of beverage in Kodiak before you travel over
to Larsen Bay. Also you need to pay attention to the weather at Kodaik Airport and give some
thought to arrangements if your flight from Anchorage to Kodiak, or from Kodiak to Larsen Bay
is delayed or canceled due to fog or bad weather.
All in All we had a wonderful vacation and came home with four boxes of fish that were still
frozen and packed very well. April, Allen and their entire staff do an excellent job for their guests.
Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

You may think this title is an oxymoron but it is the best way I can describe my recent trip to the Walburn's Kodiak Island Resort at Larsen Bay in the northwest portion of Kodiak Island, Alaska.
Take these into consideration if you are looking for a fishing/relaxing getaway. Gorgeous scenery, snowcap vistas, laid back, gourmet meals and plenty of them! Add this to fantastic fishing on a comfortable boat with a great captain and crew.
Oh, forgot to mention. When is the last time you saw more bald eagles at one time compared to the rest of your life? A tide that rises and falls by 25 feet. Watch whales while hooking the likes of halibut, cod, yellow eye and salmon. You get to do all of this while staying at, by far, the best looking, most comfortable lodge maybe in all of Alaska, but for sure on Kodiak island.
BTW, did I mention that they let you set your own trap for crabs and after pulling your trap the next day, guess what, fresh whole Alaskan crab dinner! Talk about a memory!

Hope you can see why it was probably the most relaxed adrentine rush in my lifetime - and I've traveled more than most!!!!

Minor warning - If you are NOT a teatotaler, make sure to pick up your favorites prior to flying in from Kodiak (they have a liquor store in town) and/or Anchorage. The lodge is not permited to dispense any alcohol free or for sale.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two bedroom facing north since they face the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, WA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Last Christmas I decided it was time for the bucket list fishing trip with all the Grandfathers, Fathers and Sons. I was looking for something kid friendly, good fishing and 100% Alaska. Well I can now say Allen and his crew at Larsen Bay delivered big time. I had been on one other alaska fishing trip 5 years earlier in Sitka and I can honestly say that this was so beyond superior that I can no longer imagine going anywhere else other than Kodiak Island Resort. If you are looking for pure alaska beauty but still have incredible ammenities this is your place. Allen and his wife April are top notch service from the time you step off the hopper plane in Larsen Bay. They greet you as though you are long lost family and continually try to impress by delivering old fashioned hospitality. Once we arrived at the lodge the first order of business was giving us a guided tour and showing us the impressive waterfront grounds. Next up was our first dinner and I must say I have never had such high quality and quantity of seafood themed dishes on any trip including cruises before. The menu was perfectly cooked every meal and made me realize how wrong I had been preparing seafood my whole life. Thanks so much to Stephen the Cook. Of course the real reason we all come is for the fishing. Allen starts out giving you a leg up by continuing to offer top of the line fishing gear and the nicest fishing boat around. The crew is top notch and deidicated to you catching fish. Even on days when the wind wasn't coopertive and would blow most boats off the water these guys did there homework and found places we could still fish and catch boatloads of fish. Thanks to Joe and Hunter and dog Nell. Beyond catching our limits every single day, If there has ever been an indicator as to how well the fishing was it would be a 13 year old boy who with a eye watering smile declares it " was the best day EVER!!!" and that was without ipods, wii's or gameboys. I will never forget the feeling of sharing something so positive with my boys, life is too short and you can't buy that feeling for any amount of money. I could not reccomend any place more highly than Kodiak Island Resort.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

In August I traveled with my two brothers and nephew to KIR. This was our first Alaska fishing trip and it was outstanding in every way. Allen and April Walburn are excellent host and wanted to make this a memoriable trip for us. The lodge, a two story log house, was impressive and was like staying in an upscale bed and breakfast. I don't think anyone's house could be clearner than this lodge. The food prepared daily by an onsite chef was delicious. Every meal was a treat.

Out on the boat Joe Walburn, Allen's son, put us on the fish daily without traveling more than ten miles from the lodge. We always fished in water protected by the area mountains and the water and mountians were beautiful. Rafe, the first mate, was a joy to be around assisting us in every way. We caught our limit of most species every day. If the fish were not biting at one place Joe quickly moved us to another location.

Our fish were bled on the boat, cleaned immediatley upon return to the marina and packed away for us for to bring home 100 pounds each of delicious fish. I appreciated the care with which this was done.

The flight from Anchorage to Kodiak and on to Larsen Bay was amazing. The views out the plane window were the most beautiful and inspiring I have ever seen. Kodiak truely is the emerald island. The lodge is set in a remote location in Larsen Bay. Daily we walked up to a stream about a mile from the lodge and saw Kodiak bear feasting on salmon.

All of us agreed we would go back again. It was a memorable trip in everyway.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same and each one is attractive, clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

If you want a memorable fishing experience on a top notch boat while staying in a really high end resort, look no further than the Kodiak Island Resort. I spent a few days there with my 16 year old son this August, and we are still shocked about how great an experience this was. We fished four consecutive days, catching our limit on at least one species, often two, every day. Kodiak's fishing crew was top notch, putting us on the fish continuously, and working non-stop to keep us baited, and pulling in fish. Their all metal boat was great too, and with its catamaran design and roomy sides, it made fishing easy even on windy days or where the crew needed to get past us to help someone land a big one!

The resort, run by Allen and April, is beautiful and you feel more like you are staying at an upscale bed and breakfast with a fishing theme, then at a typical lodge. It is newly built, really well decorated, and the guests have a decent run of the place. It is unbelievably close to the boat marina, making the two minute walk a pleasure instead of racing to prevent missing valuable fishing time. The fishing grounds are close as well, minimizing travel time even further.

Meals were consistently top notch, with a real chef on site notwithstanding the small group of clients that the resort hosts at any one time. Every meal was great, and the service top notch. The crabs were so good that they might make the trip worthwhile even if you didn't fish (and that was four flights in each direction for us).

The vacation is expensive, although I believe its competitive with its peers, and for the money you are spending you get an experience that will hold up well against any vacation. And the location is really out there, at the end of things for many of us, but that only adds to the charm of it all. Because of the location, you can be lucky enough to see Brown Bears, Eagles, Otters, porpoises, puffins, not to mention the salmon swimming upstream. We were lucky enough to see all of these, plus more. Because of its remoteness, you can expect to find the internet coverage sporadic as well, but that can be a good thing!

Net, net, we loved the trip, hope to go back, and would absolutely recommend it for those fishermen looking for that unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

After having fished at several top end fishing lodges in Alaska in recent years,our group's view is that Kodiak Island Resort far exceeds the standards of any other lodge we've stayed at.

There are several points of differentiation at KIR. Their 38' catamaran hull boat is the best designed and most stable boat I have fished on in Alaska. The boat crew (Joe and Rafe) and very knowledgable and work very hard to put you on fish. They take exceptionally good care of your catch, bleeding the fish immediately, storing on ice in the hold, and cleaning and packing immediately at day end. The protected waters of Larsen Bay allow you to fish in relatively calm seas despite wind conditions. The lodge is new construction, the bedrooms and individual bathrooms spacious and furnished with high quality furniture, and the family room provides a very comfortable and intimate gathering in the evening. The Walburns provide a high service environment and go out of their way to make you feel at home, with typically no more than 6-8 individuals in camp at any one time.

This was our second consecutive year of staying at KIR and we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alaska's Kodiak Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska's Kodiak Island Resort

Address: 101 1st Street, Larsen Bay, Kodiak Island, AK 99624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Kodiak Island > Larsen Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larsen Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Fishing Lodge in the heart of the Alaskan wilderness. Situated in the village of Larsen Bay on Kodiak Island, Kodiak Island Resort is quite simply the most luxurious wilderness fishing lodge on Kodiak. Designed for absolute comfort. Positioned to capture spectacular views of the landscape. We provide first class meals, lodging and fishing adventures. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alaska`s Kodiak Island Hotel Larsen Bay
Alaska's Kodiak Island Resort Larsen Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaska's Kodiak Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.